Midnight Whispers
QAF Brian and Justin Fanfiction
Reviews For The Second Chance
Reviewer: Marny (Signed) · Date: August 06, 2021 07:49 AM · On: Chapter 30

Thank you for writing this wonderful story. Sad to see this finished.

 

* hugs *



Author's Response:

I am glad that you liked the story!

Your comment is much appreciated :)

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: August 03, 2021 07:48 AM · On: Chapter 30

All's well that ends well after everything they've been through. The family has reunited and the portraits complement those they have lost but will always be in their hearts. Thank you for this beautiful story. I am happy to read that you will continue in the Back for good universe. I hope you don't get them too mistreated. But as long as they are together and united against the others that's fine with me .See you !

Author's Response:

I am glad that you liked this story :) Your comments were much appreciated!

Yes, back to the Back for Good universe and of course there will be angst... but as always, there will also be a happy ending ;)

Stay safe! :)

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: July 26, 2021 08:57 AM · On: Chapter 29

So they weren't so discreet! It was fun. Finally everything is said, it remains only to find the house. See you on Sunday. .

Author's Response:

Nope, they weren't ;) As if Brian and Justin could ever hide their true feelings from the people that know and love them... 

Thanks for your comment. More will be up tomorrow! 

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: July 20, 2021 07:46 AM · On: Chapter 28

Hi I didn't comment on the previous chapter because I would have said it was a very good idea for Justin to give Brian his shirt and now I see that indeed this idea has been effective. Fortunately, Justin managed to get Brian to talk about his fears and his desire for a home together that the three of them would choose. I can't wait to see Gus' reaction when they tell him all about this.

Author's Response:

Gus will find out soon - I promise!

Thanks for your comment. More will be up tomorrow :)

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: July 05, 2021 07:43 AM · On: Chapter 26

It's true it was a trying chapter reading all that Brian went through. Michael and Craig are horrible and especially Craig, psychologically he knew how to reach Brian by referring to Justin and Gus. Now that Brian has been able to talk to Justin about all this I hope they will have their happy lives with Gus and that Brian will agree to see a shrink that will surely help him to fully evacuate. I can't wait to read Gus' reaction when he sees his fathers together.

Author's Response:

I fully agree - Michael and Craig are horrible people!

Hopefully, Brian and Justin can now finally move on from the last five years together!

We'll find out about Gus' reaction soon :)

As always, thanks for your comment - much appreciated! 

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: June 28, 2021 08:30 AM · On: Chapter 25

After all these difficult and stressful times it was a good time to spend with them. Thanks for that. They are on the right track.

Author's Response:

Yes, we are finally on the right track :)

Thanks for your comment. More will be up later today! 

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: June 21, 2021 07:33 AM · On: Chapter 24

Here they managed to understand each other. Hope the morning will see some good decisions. I am almost sad it feels the end.

Author's Response:

Don't worry, there are still some chapters to come ;)

But yeah, from hereon out, things will hopefully be easier for our boys!

Thanks as always for your comment :) More will be up tomorrow!

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: June 20, 2021 06:59 PM · On: Chapter 23

Thankfully Daphne can see what's happening.



Author's Response:

Yeah, thanks for Daphne! Finally someone who can read Justin and can kick his ass when needed ;)

Thanks for your comment. More will be up in a bit :) 

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: June 16, 2021 07:55 AM · On: Chapter 23

I don't understand Justin's reaction. It seems to me that Brian reached out to him in his own way and they could have talked. But there he rejects it as if it were just a trick. He says he loves her so how can he act like that and I totally agree with Daphne. We don't really know what Brian's life has been like for the past few years, what traumas he must have gone through. And Justin treating him like shit is not going to fix his already a little messed up state of mind. I hope Daphne will take matters into her own hands and sit them down so they can explain themselves. Justin is really annoying in this chapter even if we can see that he is in pain.

Author's Response:

Yes, they could have talked, but Justin was scared that Brian might not feel the same for him as he does for Brian and sometimes fear makes us do stupid things... as it did here :(

We can only hope that they can figure this out!

Thanks for your comment. More will be up in a bit :) 

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: June 11, 2021 12:35 PM · On: Chapter 22

Let's hope nothing happens to spoil this second chance.



Author's Response:

Yep, let's hope for the best *crosses fingers*

Thanks for your comment. Much appreciated as always :) More will be up tomorrow!

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: June 07, 2021 07:52 AM · On: Chapter 22

What a surprise ! I wasn't expecting this at all but it was finally a good time. Hot and sexy chapter. Thank you. I can't wait to see your update next Sunday.

Author's Response:

I am glad that I was able to surprise you with this :) And even happier that you enjoyed it!

Thanks for your comment. As always, it's much appreciated. More will be up tomorrow :)

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: May 31, 2021 07:56 AM · On: Chapter 21

Emmett knows them both well and it's good that he's pushing Brian to look to the future. In fact I have the impression that Brian is terrified that Justin might reject him. How could Justin blame him for what happened to Gilead? I'm sure he understands that things have changed. They both evolved. Now they have to really talk to each other.
I Hope Gus' party is going well. I don't know why I feel like Brian is going to have a terrible nightmare that everyone will witness and that will lead him to make some decisions. So looking forward to see your next update on Sunday. Have a good week.

Author's Response:

Emmett once again shows what a good friend he is by pushing Brian in the right direction ;)

I don't think it's that Brian thinks that Justin would blame him for anything that happened in Gilead, but sometimes people change and if they change too much and you don't recognise the person that you love anymore... well, sometimes people can change too much :/

But you're right, they have to talk! Otherwise, they'll never know!

As always, thanks for your comment. It's much appreciated and more will be up tomorrow :)

 

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: May 31, 2021 05:45 AM · On: Chapter 21

Can Brian trust that Justin won't revert to where he was when the custody battle started.  I'd be worried if he couldn't.



Author's Response:

We'll have to wait and see... 

Thanks for your comment!

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: May 31, 2021 05:35 AM · On: Chapter 20

Justin is correct about what could happen if Brian had another nightmare.  But Brian is still not allowed overnight visits with Gus at his home.  The new custody agreement isn't perfect but it is better.



Author's Response:

At least we're finally seeing some progress - it's a beginning :) 

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: May 31, 2021 05:21 AM · On: Chapter 19

It was surprising that Justin and Ethan broke up.  Will Brian take Justin back?



Author's Response:

Now that Justin knows what he wants, he's not messing around ;)

We'll have to wait and see...

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: May 30, 2021 11:44 PM · On: Chapter 18

Wow.  Justin admits he still loves Brian and he doesn't know how to deal with it.



Author's Response:

At long last we finally get an insight into Justin's thoughts and feelings.

Thanks for your comment!

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: May 30, 2021 05:36 PM · On: Chapter 17

I'm beginning to think that it is Justin who needs the help.  Ethan seems the only sane one.



Author's Response:

Well, we'll see about that ;)

Thanks for your comment. More will be up soon :)

Reviewer: ForeverLove50 (Signed) · Date: May 24, 2021 09:58 PM · On: Chapter 20

Ok I forgive Justin now but just for the record I was Prepared to Kick His Ass since he wasn’t doing right by My Brian ( me saying this as I’m taking off my Brass Knuckles and putting them away) 😁 but just so you know I’m not locking the drawer, Yet.🤨”
hehe.

Author's Response:

Wow, that was fast ;)

Well, let's see if Justin has learned his lesson or if he will give us further reason to kick his ass...

Thanks for your comment. More will be up tomorrow :) 

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: May 24, 2021 08:52 AM · On: Chapter 20

I have the impression from reading this chapter that Brian is not ready for therapy. As it is a primary desire of Justin to leave Gus the night, I can't wait to see what will finally push him to do it or what will cause Justin to let go on this issue. At the moment neither of the two is going to let go. I can't wait to read more. Good week.!

Author's Response:

Well... it's Brian, it's therapy... Will he ever be ready for it? 

Some exciting chapters are coming up next.

Thanks for your comment. More will be up tomorrow :)

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: May 17, 2021 07:40 AM · On: Chapter 19

They took a long time to get there. The suffering of Gus is a lot in these decisions I think because it is true that everyone wants his happiness. Now let's see how it all comes together.

Ethan has a really good reaction. I read in one of your responses to the comments that you didn't have anything planned for Ethan. He was such a peacemaker that he could also have had a new love, it's your story but I can't help but feel sad for him. He loses everything except Gus. At least I think Brian and Justin will let him see him. Thank you for this chapter it was full of surprises.

Author's Response:

We will hear from Ethan again in the future and yes, Gus will continue to see him. Other than that, the focus of the story will be elsewhere, so we won't find out too much about his life from hereon out. We are all free to imagine him finding a young, sexy violin player from his orchestra that he can go on tours with, practice with and discuss music with for hours. Wouldn't that be something? ;)

As for Gus, hopefully his life will improve now that Brian and Justin seem to be coming to an agreement. They would all deserve some peace and calm, that's for sure :)

Thanks for your comment. As always, it's much appreciated! More will be up tomorrow :) 

Reviewer: Rixa (Signed) · Date: May 13, 2021 03:12 AM · On: Chapter 18

I hope that Ethan’s love of his life miraculously turns up alive because he doesn’t deserve Justin cheating on him both emotionally and physically like Justin does in this chapter. Is Justin going to confess to Ethan right away about what happened or is he going to stay with Ethan (thus using him) until Brian changes his mind about Brian and Justin being together? I’m not a hater (of Ethan or any other character) so I hope for a happy ending for Ethan as well as Justin and Brian. By the way, I saw what you wrote about your feelings about Ethan on Kinnetik Dreams and I feel the same way (apart from adding that the idea of Justin being single as a third option instead of going back to Brian or staying with Ethan didn’t seem to cross the writers’ minds. I’m probably in a minority of one who wished this for him, at least temporarily, instead of him going right back to Brian).

Author's Response:

Unfortunately, I can't make promises about Ethan's love life, but there will be some action on Justin's and Ethan's relationship soon. What action? I can't tell...

I totally agree with you: Some time as single would have been really good for Justin. Immediately going back to Brian made Brian seem like Justin's emergency plan if everything else fails. It was like that after Ethan cheated, it was like that after the movie fell through in Hollywood. Justin only ever seemed to return to Brian when things didn't go his way, never because he actually WANTED to and that is something that has long bothered me about how his character has been written. But well, the writers had their vision and that's what we got ;)

I can promise you that it won't work like that in this story...

Thanks for your comment, it's much appreciated :) More will be up tomorrow!

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: May 10, 2021 09:17 AM · On: Chapter 18

I'm starting to understand what emotions Justin went through. Even though he dropped it all like a bomb on Brian because he needed to get it out, I hope they figure it out. They are both so miserable, I hope they stop flogging and really talk to each other. they need to move on and find the right solution at least for Gus. Despite their reactions it's a chapter full of hope, thank you.

Author's Response:

I am glad you see it that way :)

You're right, Justin dropped it like a bomb and it must have seemed very sudden to Brian, but the visit to the park worked like a catalyst and opened some wounds I am sure Justin would have rather not have opened. 

We can only hope that they will start figuring things out from here...

As usual, thanks very much for your comment. More will be up tomorrow :) 

Reviewer: ForeverLove50 (Signed) · Date: May 10, 2021 03:33 AM · On: Chapter 18

Really Justin, Really.

Author's Response:

Haha, I know ;)

Thanks for your comment. More will be up soon! 

Reviewer: Bgriggs (Signed) · Date: May 03, 2021 11:13 AM · On: Chapter 17

And Brian and Justin STILL aren’t together!! Beginning to think the Brian/Justin tag was a myth...



Author's Response:

Nope, not a myth...

The story also had a Justin/Ethan T** though and came with the clear description that Justin would be with Ethan.

Things will get better soon!

Thanks for your comment.

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: May 03, 2021 08:09 AM · On: Chapter 17

It was obvious that Gus would not take the situation well. He is so miserable. I don't understand why Justin is so angry when he seems to see Gus' sadness. I hope Ethan will reason with him before he does something irreparable. Is he afraid of losing Gus? Why didn't the Judge ask Gus for advice? He is 13 years old, his opinion counts by name. Why doesn't Brian want to go see a therapist knowing that's what Justin is asking him? A lot of questions. Both are stubborn and angry and Gus is in the middle. See you on Sunday and maybe some answers.Stay safe.

Author's Response:

I think you summarised the situation very well yourself: Both are stubborn and angry and Gus is the one caught in the middle :( Poor guy!

I promise that things will get better for him soon. He won't suffer like this for much longer. 

This day will be a wake up call to both Brian and Justin...

Thanks for your comment. As always, it's much appreciated :) 

Stay safe and see you for the new chapter tomorrow :)

Reviewer: ForeverLove50 (Signed) · Date: May 03, 2021 01:10 AM · On: Chapter 17

*Sigh* I don’t know.

Author's Response:

I promise that things will get better soon! It's always darkest before dawn :(

Thanks for your comment. It's much appreciated!

Reviewer: Marny (Signed) · Date: May 02, 2021 10:09 PM · On: Chapter 17

Poor Gus.



Author's Response:

I know :( 

I promise that things will get better for him soon! It's always darkest before dawn.

Thanks for your comment. It's much appreciated :)

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: April 26, 2021 08:23 AM · On: Chapter 16

This chapter was difficult because Brian was crucified by Justin even though it was for Gus' sake, besides what does he think of all this? Now he will have supervised visits so he will not be able to make the most of his time with his father, there will be someone between them. I understand Justin is feeling like shit. He used the nightmares to make Brian look unworthy. I hope Brian will have the strength to speak to a therapist so that in 3 months the Judge will grant him shared custody. I still don't like your Justin he's so full of himself! I'm waiting to see what will make him change his behavior.

Author's Response:

To be fair, Brian has known for over a year that the nightmares were the reason why Justin didn't want Gus to spend any nights with him. Did he do anything about it? No! I know that Justin was the one who presented the evidence of his nightmares in this custody trial, but if Brian had just done the one thing that Justin had asked of him, all of this could have been avoided? Right? Or maybe not... who knows? 

If Gus was my child, I am not sure if I wouldn't have acted the same way: Protecting Gus! Brian is clearly suffering from mental trauma which causes these violent nightmares and I think if my child might become a witness to that, I would do something about it as well. Maybe not in the way Justin did, but trying to protect my child from getting traumatised as well? Absolutely! Let's not forget that Justin saw Gus right after the nightmare and had to calm him down and comfort him. By the time Brian was feeling better again, Gus was already back to sleep and Brian didn't get to speak to him until the next day. Justin was the one who saw how upset Gus was that night, saw his tears, heard his fear, not Brian. That image would have stayed with him, I am sure :( 

We will hear from Gus in the next chapter. We will hear his opinion and what he thinks about this new custody agreement. 

I promise things will start moving in the right direction soon :)

Thanks for your comment. More will be up tomorrow!

 

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: April 26, 2021 01:21 AM · On: Chapter 16

Shame Justin couldn't have used Brian needing help as the reason he didn't want Gus with Brian at night.  Perhaps that might have changed things.



Author's Response:

Well, he did. Brian needs help for his nightmares and the trauma he suffered in Gilead and that's what Justin used to explain why he didn't want Gus to spend nights with Brian. Or am I misunderstanding you? If I did, I apologise!

Thanks for your comment. More will be up tomorrow! 

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: April 19, 2021 07:30 AM · On: Chapter 15

Kinnetik works well quickly and all with the help of Ethan, who would have believed it. Brian is ready for the custody battle for Gus, has he told Gus about it? This is all going to make a difference for him, but he is his father and he will be happy to live with him. I don't think Brian's going to take him away from Justin. Justin is the one who will have the sleepovers. I look forward to next Sunday and Justin's reaction.

Author's Response:

Yep, Ethan of all people was the one to give Kinnetik a good start... Who would have thought? 

We'll see how the custody battle will end and how it will all turn out. A lot of things will happen in the next few chapters. I can promise you that :)

Thanks for your comment. As always, it's much appreciated :) 

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: April 19, 2021 12:18 AM · On: Chapter 15

So many ways this could go.  Brian having the Symphony account could mean changes for Ethan.  Looking forward to seeing where we go from here.



Author's Response:

You'll find out soon :)

More will be up tomorrow and a lot will happen in the next few chapters!

Thanks for your comment. It's much appreciated :) 

Reviewer: Marny (Signed) · Date: April 18, 2021 11:05 PM · On: Chapter 15

Wow Kinnetik is born and growing fast. Good job Brian.

Hmm I don't like Justin very much at the moment. Omg hope you're still writing, because I want an update NOW. How will Justin react? Bad very bad.

* hugs *



Author's Response:

The story is already finished and will be updated with a new chapter every Sunday. I never start posting a story before it's completely finished. I would never leave readers hanging like that. So if you ever read one of my stories, you can rest assured that it is already finished and will be updated regularly :)

As for your feelings on Justin - you're not alone with those! We'll hear more from him soon. Very soon!

Thanks for your comment. It's much appreciated :) 



Author's Response:

The story is already finished and will be updated with a new chapter every Sunday. I never start posting a story before it's completely finished. I would never leave readers hanging like that. So if you ever read one of my stories, you can rest assured that it is already finished and will be updated regularly :)

As for your feelings on Justin - you're not alone with those! We'll hear more from him soon. Very soon!

Thanks for your comment. It's much appreciated :) 

Reviewer: Draccone (Signed) · Date: April 18, 2021 09:58 PM · On: Chapter 15

Ahhhhh. Please update soon.

Author's Response:

More will be up tomorrow :) 

Reviewer: ForeverLove50 (Signed) · Date: April 15, 2021 04:40 AM · On: Chapter 13

How dare Justin! I hope Brian gets custody of his Son, I know I would want my child with me. I hope Brian starts to move on with his life too WITH HIS SON ! lol

Author's Response:

We'll find out more about the custody situation soon! 

And I promise that Justin will eventually turn into a normal human being again...

Thanks for your comment! 

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: April 13, 2021 07:32 PM · On: Chapter 14

Emmett without realizing it has helped.  I don't know if you meant for Justin to be so confrontational but he comes across that way.  Now I have to wait and see where you take us.



Author's Response:

Emmett is a good friend :)

As for Justin - yes, he's very confrontational but I promise he will get his head out of his ass eventually!

Thanks for your comment. More will be up tomorrow :) 

Reviewer: Hamsterfan (Signed) · Date: April 12, 2021 02:28 PM · On: Chapter 14

 

Urgh, I'm not even sure anymore, if I want Brian and Justin to get back together. At the moment it doesn't seem that Justin is good for Brian. He appears so heartless, I could shake him. Grrr. But I'm glad that Emmett is such a good friend. Very emotional written. Can't wait for the next chapter.

 



Author's Response:

I totally understand about Justin and I hope that by the time he gets his head out of his ass, Brian (and us!) will be ready to forgive him. 

I love Emmett - he seems like such a good friend to have around!

Thanks for your comment. More will be up tomorrow :) 

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: April 12, 2021 07:55 AM · On: Chapter 14

Hi I won't say anything more about Justin I'm just waiting to see how you get him out of his bug! I really liked Emmett on the show and in your story I still love him as much. He listens, he feels things and I'm sure he will be very present for Brian and help him to move forward and to rebuild himself. Besides, Brian is already starting to think. So see you next Sunday. Have a good week.

Author's Response:

I love Emmett as well :) He seems like such a good friend! 

And I promise things will eventually get better for Brian and Justin :)

Thanks for your comment. More will be up tomorrow!

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: April 05, 2021 06:21 PM · On: Chapter 13

Brian gets to see where Gus lives.  Now all he has to do is move in.



Author's Response:

I think I can confirm by now that Brian will not do anything like that. And really, what would that achieve except cause more trouble for everyone?

Brian has already said twice that he doesn't want his money back from Justin and that Justin used the money exactly for what Brian had originally intended it: To build a future for himself and Gus.

I can promise that Brian will not move in, will not kick Justin and Ethan out or anything like that. For once, Brian will be the adult here ;)

Thanks for your comment. More will be up tomorrow :) 

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: April 05, 2021 08:09 AM · On: Chapter 13

Hi! I actually don't know what to say. Justin is always horrible to Brian. Is he afraid that Gus will choose to live with his father? This is what is likely to happen if Gus can no longer spend WE with his father. Gus was scared it's true during the nightmare but then he had a great time with his father and forgot. Ethan once again seems the voice of reason. It is true that he does not have the same vision of Brian and Justin's past together. What about Brian's money? I'm sure he can afford a good lawyer if Justin doesn't put his own. There I just want to slap him. I can't wait to be next Sunday. Have a good week.

Author's Response:

I promise that the relationship between Brian and Justin will improve. Not right away, but it will! 

As for Justin's motivations: Yes, I think that's one thing he is scared of. He and Gus have been a unit for so long, have grieved for Brian together, have been through so much together and I think on a very egoistical level Justin might just be scared to lose that relationship with Gus. Of course you are right and he is not helping in any way with his behaviour and is only pushing Gus towards his father more by trying to keep them apart :( 

Thanks for your comment. It's much appreciated :) More will be up tomorrow! 

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: April 01, 2021 02:18 PM · On: Chapter 12

It's no surprise that Brian has a tough time.  He accepted that Justin found someone else.



Author's Response:

Yeah, it's a difficult situation... The one thing that kept him going - the hope of being reunited with Justin and Gus - and now he'll have to accept that that might never happen in the way he was hoping for :( I am really sorry for putting Brian through this!

Thanks for your comment. More will be up later tonight :) 

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: April 01, 2021 02:17 PM · On: Chapter 11

Now that Brian is back the money should be used to get a place for him and Gus or he could move into the house his money paid for.



Author's Response:

I don't think Brian would ever consider kicking Justin out of the house... But yeah, the money will certainly help him get more control of his life :) 

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: April 01, 2021 02:02 PM · On: Chapter 10

Ethan is a lot nicer than I would have thought.



Author's Response:

Ethan has lost his lover as well when he fled from Gilead - I think he can understand what Justin and Brian are going through. I am sure that sometimes he's wondering what would happen if his lover would suddenly show up again and would be alive ... 

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: April 01, 2021 02:01 PM · On: Chapter 9

It's good that Emmett is there.  Learning that Michael was the betrayer is hard.  Hope you fix Michael's wagon.  Brian will always love Justin.



Author's Response:

Yes, Brian will always love Justin. But what about Justin? Will he also love Brian? Hmmm....

Emmett is a good friend, unlike Michael who's just a weasel, rat or whatever you want to call him ;) 

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: April 01, 2021 01:57 PM · On: Chapter 8

Brian is still in the dark about Ethan.



Author's Response:

Not for much longer :( 

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: April 01, 2021 01:37 PM · On: Chapter 7

Sadly many of their friend are no longer alive.  At least Gus and Daphne as well as Justin survived.  Is Justin suffering from survivers guilt?



Author's Response:

We will find out more about what Justin is feeling in later chapters. I promise! 

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: March 31, 2021 04:14 PM · On: Chapter 6

Ethan is so understanding.  Maybe too much?  Learning what happened was helpful.



Author's Response:

Is there a too much when it comes to being understanding? Hmmm, we'll see...

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: March 30, 2021 08:32 AM · On: Chapter 12

Just a little more. So far I'm very disappointed with Justin. It almost looks like he could blame Brian for being there and disrupting his quiet little life he made with Brian's money.Grrr

Author's Response:

Oh I know... After making Brian the bad guy in the Back for Good series, it looks like Justin now deserves that title... Though I will say, that Justin isn't doing any of this to be mean to Brian or because he's a bad person. We will find out more about Justin's motivations in later chapters and for now, let's just say he's absolutely overwhelmed by everything that's happened since Brian has reappeared in his life. Is that an excuse for his behaviour? No way, but... he is in an extraordinary situation :( 

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: March 29, 2021 08:12 AM · On: Chapter 12

It is such a difficult situation. Gus and Brian had a great day together and it's good that Gus called Justin when he was scared of Brian's nightmares, I hope that with Justin's help Gus can convince his dad to go to therapy, he was so scared. I'm so scared of what you'll tell us about Gilead too, but I can't wait to see your next update on Sunday. It's a pretty addictive story!

Author's Response:

Thank you, I am glad that you're still enjoying this story :) I know it's not the easiest and happiest of storylines, so thanks for giving it a chance and hanging in there!

It is a difficult situation indeed and unfortunately, it doesn't seem like they will be able to resolve it anytime soon :(

Thanks for your comment. More will be up later tonight! 

Reviewer: Predec2 (Signed) · Date: March 28, 2021 11:36 PM · On: Chapter 12

I'm glad that Brian got to spent some quality time with his son. I'm sure that Gus was terrified by his father's nightmare, but I'm glad that he called Justin, who was able to calm him down and perhaps repay Brian for doing the same thing for him years ago.

I'm still torn somewhat about Justin's anger toward Brian not seeking therapy. I imagine it would help him; but without really knowing what Brian has been through, it seems he should cast more of a sympathetic ear toward what he has endured.

There is no easy answer to this dilemma; Brian deserves to be with Gus, but Justin & Ethan have bonded with him.  Brian, though, through no fault of his own has been alienated from his son, who he has always loved.  It will be interesting to see how you resolve this eventually.

Another enjoyable and thought-provoking chapter!  Thank you. :) ~Kim



Author's Response:

I am glad that you enjoyed this chapter. 

They're not in an easy situation right now and unfortunately it doesn't seem like they will find a peaceful solution anytime soon :(

I promise that everything will get resolved, but it might take some time before we get there...

Thanks for your comment. It's much appreciated! More will be up later tonight :)

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: March 25, 2021 12:00 AM · On: Chapter 7

Brian learns what happened with their friends.  He still needs to learn about Ethan.



Author's Response:

He will find out soon :( 

Thanks for your comment! 

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: March 24, 2021 11:41 PM · On: Chapter 5

Looks like Brian finally has Gus back.



Author's Response:

And wasn't it about time?

Thanks for your comment :) 

Reviewer: Predec2 (Signed) · Date: March 22, 2021 04:27 PM · On: Chapter 11

Hello, there - still reading and enjoying this complex story. I think you wrote this dilemma the three men are having well. I have no idea how you will eventually resolve this, but I'm eager to find out. Thank you for writing and posting this on here. ~Kim



Author's Response:

Thank you! I really appreciate your comment :)

There will be some more drama coming Brian's and Justin's way, but I promise that in the end they will find a way out of it somehow ;)

More will be up tomorrow! 

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: March 22, 2021 09:15 AM · On: Chapter 11

I really have a hard time understanding Justin. He says he understands but doesn't want to act on it. Brian will not prevent him from having a relationship with Gus but he wants his son with him, it is normal now that they are reunited. Luckily Ethan is the voice of reason and Justin knows he's right but doesn't want to move on. Now that Brian has the money he can probably find another place to live with Gus and then he will have time to find a job, maybe an ad agency if possible. We'll see, I can't wait to be next Sunday.

Did you receive my email ?

Author's Response:

I think most people are kind of disappointed by the way Justin is acting. What can I say? There's a lot going on and he's overwhelmed by it all? But I agree, he could be handling this whole situation a lot better...

Brian will definitely have to start thinking about what he wants to do with his life. And he'll make some plans soon! 

Oh no, I didn't see any email from you :( Did you send it to [email protected]

Thanks for your comment. It's much appreciated :) 

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: March 15, 2021 09:56 AM · On: Chapter 10

Hey I love your Ethan! He is very reasonable and pushes Justin to make the right decisions. Justin who does not react properly to Brian. He remains locked in a guilt that shouldn't exist. Brian is sad that's normal. He lived through hell but what he said to Daphne is right; “Guilty? What for? For going on and living his life when he thought I was dead? ” . I really think Justin is selfish right now, he's thinking about what's going to change for him but he's not thinking about how happy Gus and Brian are to be together. And Gus can help Brian move forward. He needs to talk to Brian and find a solution together. I can't wait for next Sunday's chapter.

Author's Response:

Yeah, Ethan will be the voice of reason again before this story is over - who would have thought? ;)

Justin is definitely not reacting in a good way and shouldn't have ignored Brian like that. I think he's just really overwhelmed by everything that's happened and that has led him to make the wrong decisions. Very selfish decisions. 

Hopefully, he'll realise how wrong his behaviour has been so far and will change, so that everyone can move on. We'll see...

Thanks for your comment. It's much appreciated :) More will be up tomorrow! 

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: March 08, 2021 09:38 AM · On: Chapter 9

We know a bit more about what happened and I'm not at all surprised by Michael's behavior, so hopefully in your story you'll talk about Gilead's downfall and Michael's punishment. who betrayed his friends and his community. I still love Emmett so much and I think he will be a good friend and support for Brian while he waits for Justin to sort out his affair with Ethan.

Author's Response:

Yeah, Michaell... well, to me he has always been a rat, so it's only fair he gets to be a traitor in this story :/

And Emmett - I love Emmett! He's always been one of my favourite characters and I have always loved how he lets his flame shine bright and proudly :) And I think he's also a very good friend. And Brian can do with some friends on his side right now!

Thanks for your comment - more will be up tomorrow! :) 

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: March 04, 2021 08:58 AM · On: Chapter 8

Here Justin recounted what had happened since they arrived in Toronto and told Brian about Ethan. I don't know how you're going to continue the story but I think Brian will figure it out and even though it's painful he won't be angry. The Brian we know has always wanted the happiness of Justin and Gus. And even if Ethan is around, with Justin and Gus they will find a solution.I'm just sad for Brian that Justin ran away after this. They will need to talk about it.

Author's Response:

I hope that you're right and that Brian and Justin will be able to figure out a solution that will work for everyone!

I agree, Justin should have stayed and talked to Brian instead of running away, but... this isn't easy for him either.

Hopefully, they can figure this out!

Thanks for your comment. More will be up tomorrow :) 

Reviewer: Bgriggs (Signed) · Date: February 28, 2021 10:06 PM · On: Chapter 8

Ethan’s gotta go!!



Author's Response:

He will, I promise! I just can't promise that it will happen anytime soon *hides*

Thanks for your comment. More will be up tomorrow :) 

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: February 22, 2021 09:13 AM · On: Chapter 7

Difficult chapter where, despite everything, we say to ourselves that Brian was lucky to get out of it even though he was in hell. Will you also tell us what happened with Debbie, Vic and Michael? I think Justin is going to tell Brian about Ethan soon and it's going to be complicated. I don't know if Brian is ready for this..

Author's Response:

We will find out about Debbie and Michael soon. Vic would have been dead for a long time already as he was on the show :( 

Yes, things are about to take a turn for the worse very soon - unfortunately, it can't be helped as Brian needs to know the truth about Ethan.

Thanks for your comment - more will be up tomorrow :) 

 

Reviewer: JustinsMom (Signed) · Date: February 22, 2021 12:14 AM · On: Chapter 1

oh so interesting.  how did brian escape and just who told justin brian was dead. how did he know? the secret of ethan must be tearing justin apart. poor gus the dilemma of wanting to see his father but sfraid to. come on next chapter. —🥰



Author's Response:

Thanks for your comment - it's much appreciated :)

I know that there are still many questions, but I promise that all of those will be answered!

More will be up tomorrow :) 

Reviewer: Predec2 (Signed) · Date: February 16, 2021 11:53 AM · On: Chapter 6

Another intriguing chapter.  While it's painful for me to see Justin and Ethan in a relationship together, at the same time I understand it.  And it did provide Gus with a stable environment during his father's absence.  I imagine Brian is going to be either hurt and/or bitter that another man is raising his son.  Or...I don't know; he could be grateful to him, although I'm leaning toward the former.

 

Complex situation!  I will be looking forward to the next part, as well as learning more about Brian's experience and why he wound up where he did. Thank you for posting this on here. :)  ~Kim



Author's Response:

I know that many people never liked the character of Ethan, but personally I never minded him much. I thought he was important for Justin's development and really, what bothered me the most about him was how the writers ended the relationship with him cheating. They had some real potential when they presented the "back to the closet or there won't be a career" storyline. I would have liked Justin and Ethan to break up over that, not some cheap cheating at the first chance he got... 

But well, just saying for this story: Ethan won't be the bad guy. I wanted Justin to find a new love, built a stable home for Gus and that's what this Ethan represents. As for Brian's reaction - we will find out soon :/

Thanks for your comment! More will be up tomorrow and we're getting very close to Brian finding out the truth about Ethan *evil laugh*

 

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: February 15, 2021 09:58 AM · On: Chapter 6

We understand a little the trauma they all went through but I think the worst is yet to come. Ethan understands Justin and knows how to find the words to reassure him. I like this Ethan. I didn't really hate Ethan on the show. It was necessary for the evolution of Brian and Justin. I regretted the way the writers made it behave at the end. Justin should have left him when he put him in the closet choosing his career not for some stupid cheating. But it's like that !

I have a question I don't know if it's spoiler but there is an anti Michael tag, is he the one who denounced them or betrayed them in some way? I'm just curious!

Author's Response:

I agree with you on Ethan - I didn't really hate him on the show either and personally thought that being with him was a very important step in Justin growing up. Justin needed to be with someone his own age, needed to be the poor student, etc. I didn't mind their relationship and I agree with you, I was mostly bothered by how it was ended. I wish they would have gone the "putting Justin in a closet" route that they hinted at. Like Daphne said, Justin nearly died coming out of the closet, why would he go back for anyone? I would have liked to see them explore that point more rather than suddenly have Ethan cheat on Justin the first chance he gets. That felt like a cheap cop-out to me :(

So yeah, this Ethan won't be someone to hate - he will be a good partner to Justin, a good parental figure to Gus and he won't be the villain in this story ;) 

The anti-Michael T** is there for a reason and we will find out more soon. That's all I can say right now ;) 

Thanks for your comment. More will be up tomorrow :) 

 

Reviewer: Hamsterfan (Signed) · Date: February 09, 2021 03:23 PM · On: Chapter 5

Very emotional. Oh ha, I'm already curious what happens when Brian hears about Ethan... Can't wait for the next chapter.



Author's Response:

We'll find out soon - Ethan's existence won't be a secret for much longer, I am afraid :(

Thanks for your comment. More will be up soon :) 

Reviewer: Predec2 (Signed) · Date: February 08, 2021 04:27 PM · On: Chapter 5

Great chapter! I really liked how you set up the encounter with Brian, and how Justin spoke with Gus before they went in to see his father. I think you wrote their reunion very well. Intrigued by this story and by what happened during Brian's confinement, as well as how this will all eventually be resolved. Thanks for posting this story. I am really enjoying it so far. :)  ~Kim



Author's Response:

I am glad that you liked their reunion - it was long overdue!

And poor Gus - he's on a real rollercoaster of emotions right now. As they all are :( 

Thanks for your comment. More will be up tomorrow :) 

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: February 08, 2021 09:16 AM · On: Chapter 5

I took out my kleenex and cried with them. Their reunion was very moving and we understand how Brian must have been afraid without knowing if they were saved during all these years of suffering. I can't wait to read more and yet it's going to be so difficult when Ethan gets into the picture. I hope they'll wait until Brian's recovery to talk about it. See you next week !

Author's Response:

I am glad that you liked their reunion - it was long overdue :)

Unfortunately, Brian will find out about Ethan soon - it can't be helped! 

Hopefully, they will all be okay once that news has been shared and the dust has settled.

Thanks for your comment. More will be up tomorrow :) 

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: February 02, 2021 09:26 AM · On: Chapter 4

Gus is a little boy who has been through a lot. Seeing his father again will be overwhelming, but he needs it. Why was Brian pronounced dead? I can't wait to read more.

Author's Response:

And we don't even know half of what Gus has been through :( We'll find out more in upcoming chapters, but yeah... poor boy hasn't had it easy in the last few years :( 

It was mentioned in the first chapter that Justin had been told that Brian had died trying to flee Gilead four years earlier. As to who spread that wrong bit of information? Hmmm, we'll have to wait and see... 

Thanks for your comment. More will be up soon :) 

 

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: February 01, 2021 01:28 AM · On: Chapter 4

It's taking too long for Gus to see Brian.  The wait is killing me.



Author's Response:

Next chapter, I promise ;)

Thanks for your comment. More will be up tomorrow :) 

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: January 25, 2021 04:15 PM · On: Chapter 3

There are so many questions I want to know answers to.  How is Brian physically?  What will he feel when he finds out about Ethan?  How will Gus react when he gets to talk with Brian?  Great story!



Author's Response:

We will get answers to all those questions in upcoming chapters :) I promise!

Thanks for your comment - more will be up soon :) 

Reviewer: Predec2 (Signed) · Date: January 25, 2021 12:22 PM · On: Chapter 3

Hello - I have never seen The Handmaid's Tale, but I find this story very intriguing.  What a dilemma Justin (and Gus) have found themselves in.  Just as they had established a new 'family,' they discover that Brian is still alive.

I will be eagerly looking forward to seeing what Brian has gone through, and how this situation is resolved.  Interesting story! 

P.S.  Thank you for posting your stories on MW. We are delighted to have you as one of our writers. :)  ~Kim



Author's Response:

The Handmaid's Tale is definitely worth watching if you ever find yourself with too much time on your hands. It's not easy to stomach and seems way too real at times, but it's very well done!

I am glad that you gave this story a chance anyway! It's definitely not an easy situation for anyone involved :(

Thanks for your kind comment - it's much appreciated :) 

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: January 25, 2021 09:42 AM · On: Chapter 3

Brian looks very conscious and terribly afraid. I hope you don‘t describe on what Brian went throught too detailed., it would be very hard even though i know it must have been awful. And it's going to be tough for everyone when Justin's new life is mentioned..Thank you for the update

Author's Response:

We will find out what happened to Brian in Gilead, but it won't play too big a part in this story. I mean, obviously it will matter and it needs to be talked about, but this story focuses on other things rather than what Brian went through. It's more about them all finding their way through this crazy new development and each of them trying to deal with their changed circumstances as best as they can!

Thanks for your comment. More will be up soon :) 

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: January 18, 2021 09:33 AM · On: Chapter 2

It's gonna be so hard for everyone. I hope Brian will recover and talk about what happened. They all deserve to know it. It's gonna be horrible I think, totalitarian states are never an easy place to live. I can't wait to read more

Author's Response:

Yes, it will be very hard for everyone! They will try to deal with Brian's reappearance as well as they can, but it won't be easy :( 

Thanks for your comment :) More will be up soon! 

Reviewer: tiger062 (Signed) · Date: January 18, 2021 03:17 AM · On: Chapter 2

I've have watched the 1st season of Hand Maiden's Tale. It's scary how I could see that happening for real. Too many people don't learn from history. The situation with Justin and Gus finding out about Brian feels so real and heartbreaking and while I generally never liked Ethan - here he seems like a good guy - this isn't going to be easy for him either. Very much looking forward to seeing what happens next.



Author's Response:

Yes, the show is really scary. Especially the flashbacks to how the rise of Gilead started seemed so familiar and real :( I agree, it's a shame that so many people ignore the lessons that history teaches us...

Ethan won't be the bad guy in this story - for once! The bad guy here is Gilead. 

Everyone will try their best to deal with Brian's reappearance, but it won't be easy!

Thanks for your comment! More will be up soon :) 

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: January 11, 2021 02:14 PM · On: Chapter 1

Very realistic.  Maybe I should move to Canada before its too late.



Author's Response:

I have to admit that at times it was scary how realistic some elements of this story felt, especially looking at the last couple of months :( 

As a German, I had really thought that everyone would have learned their lesson from Nazi Germany and would know what signs to look out for, but apparently not... The same mistakes are being made again and again :( 

We can only hope for the best! And Canada is nice ;)

Thanks for your comment. More will be up soon!

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: January 11, 2021 09:51 AM · On: Chapter 1

Well it's a new story that starts with a difficult chapter but makes us want to know more. It's a little scary because we tell ourselves that what happened these last few days in the USA could have .... Let's stay in the fiction and I can't wait to know how Brian got there. Thank you for this new story.

Author's Response:

No, it won't be an easy story and at times it scared me how familiar some of the themes of the story felt compared to the current political climate :(

I hope you'll like the story anyway! 

We'll find out more about Brian's journey over the course of this story :)

Thanks for your comment. More will be up soon! 

You must login (register) to review.