Midnight Whispers
QAF Brian and Justin Fanfiction
Reviews For Derailed
Reviewer: Toto_too514 (Signed) · Date: April 10, 2021 01:17 AM · On: Chapter 10

Finally had a chance to get caught up... amazing as always.

Hopefully, Molly can be the steady, core strength that Lily and Brian need. Lily seemed like her old self for a while when "meeting" the boys!

Um, can Justin take over my heath insurance coverage, LOL!?

Reviewer: Crookedhalo1 (Signed) · Date: April 06, 2021 11:47 PM · On: Chapter 10

I enjoyed the read it left me wanting more I read the first part of this story a while back and couldn't remember the name, glad I found it again.

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: March 31, 2021 04:10 PM · On: Chapter 10

Molly is an unique individual.  Even Ezra's family see it.  I mean how many people can understand what a four year old is thinking.  

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: March 31, 2021 03:17 PM · On: Chapter 9

Nice to meet Ezra's family.  They are just as nice as he is.  Not like Madison.  Emmett was happy to meet Ezra then sad to learn that Duncan remembers what happened with his father.  

Reviewer: Toto_too514 (Signed) · Date: March 21, 2021 10:37 PM · On: Chapter 9

Always amazing to have an update!

So much going on here... I feel like we got to know these charcters better by looking through Justin's eyes. I can only imagine what that Christmas Eve party will be like!

I'm glad that Drew & Emmett know what Duncan remembers... I know Brian needs to know about Lily too, but I am dreading it almsot as much as Justin is.

Obviously, Mason & Ezra will be getting their own dog soon, LOL! 



Author's Response:

I'm glad you feel like you know the characters better! Christmas Eve will be wild! Drew and Emmett definitely needed to be in the know. As hard as it was to tell them, it's going to be ten times harder telling Brian. :/ 

Dogs galore! I think they will wait for a bit though. Mason's pain from giving Lucky up is probably still fresh. 

New chapter is now up! Thanks for reading and reviewing!



Author's Response:

I'm glad you feel like you know the characters better! Christmas Eve will be wild! Drew and Emmett definitely needed to be in the know. As hard as it was to tell them, it's going to be ten times harder telling Brian. :/ 

Dogs galore! I think they will wait for a bit though. Mason's pain from giving Lucky up is probably still fresh. 

New chapter is now up! Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: Predec2 (Signed) · Date: March 17, 2021 12:09 PM · On: Chapter 9

Hello, Anne - I am woefully behind in doing any reading. But I wanted you to know how much I admire your writing style. How you weave the lives of other characters so masterfully into those of who we know so well, and your ability to evoke emotions is exquisitely done.  IMO this could easily rival the quality of any published novel.  One day I hope to have the pleasure of reading this from start to finish, but for now I want to thank you for creating this 'verse and for posting it on here.  ~Kim



Author's Response:

I'm glad you are a fan of my writing style! Hopefully Yours will be turned into a novel one day. Looking forward to when you play catch up! Thanks for reviewing!

Reviewer: bksbracelet (Signed) · Date: March 17, 2021 01:45 AM · On: Chapter 9

Oh wow so much pain and so much love.

Reviewer: bksbracelet (Signed) · Date: March 17, 2021 01:45 AM · On: Chapter 9

Oh wow so much pain and so much love.

Author's Response:

<3 For sure. New chapter is now up! Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: Lorma (Signed) · Date: March 16, 2021 11:28 PM · On: Chapter 9

Very insightful!  Lots of angst.  I'm glad Justin is establishing a relationship with his brother.  



Author's Response:

I am glad too! They'll eventually get there! New chapter is now up! 

Reviewer: starbaby (Signed) · Date: March 16, 2021 04:17 PM · On: Chapter 9

I was so pleased to see this chapter put up. Thank you.



Author's Response:

So glad you are following! Chapter 10 is up now! :) 

Reviewer: starbaby (Signed) · Date: February 25, 2021 02:08 PM · On: Chapter 8

are you going to finish this?



Author's Response:

Chapter 9 is up now!

Reviewer: Toto_too514 (Signed) · Date: December 14, 2020 01:45 AM · On: Chapter 7

Are you coming? Or are you staying? A play on Brian and Justin's first meeting??? It worked perfectly in that scene.

I'm glad it was Mel who sat with Brian at the end of the funeral. And I'm valso ery glad Jennifer came - both for Justin and for Brian. So much pain. So much (misguided) guilt.

Reviewer: Toto_too514 (Signed) · Date: December 14, 2020 01:43 AM · On: Chapter 8

So, the incident with Louisa in the kitchen... yeah, she's hurting too. But a bitch is a bitch is a bitch. But in a weird way she got Brian to act like Brian - when she told her to Fuck off!

I'm glad Brian and Justin went off together, even if not much talking got done. Baby steps.

Yay for Gus and Hunter with the reporters! 

Oh, poor Lily... what did she see????



Author's Response:

Louisa is definitely being a bitch. Of course she's hurting and everyone understands that, but Brian just lost his husband and the father of his child and unborn child. It isn't her place to say something like that. 

Brian and Justin just needed to get away and breathe. They will probably talk more later. 

Lol, yes. Violence might not be the answer, but that reporter deserved to get punched.

And yes, poor Lily. :( She saw what we all hoped she wouldn't see.

Chapter 9 is now up!

Reviewer: sfscarlet (Signed) · Date: December 08, 2020 03:16 AM · On: Chapter 8

Justin was so good to get Brian out of the apartment.  Molly definitely has a way with children.  I can't imagine what it would be like to see your parent shot.  Both children need someone to talk to ( professional)



Author's Response:

Yeah, Brian definitely needed to get out of the house and breathe for a few. Molly is great with kids! Lily and Duncan are very lucky to have her, as are the future kids coming into this universe. Both definitely need to talk to someone :( Chapter 9 is now up!

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: December 07, 2020 10:00 PM · On: Chapter 8

Molly is a lifesaver.  It's so nice that Brian and Lily have made up.  Wish there was some way that Lily could have gone to the funeral if only for closure.  Times are going to be tough.  Eric's mom is not taking Lily, no way.



Author's Response:

Molly is wonderful! :) Brian and Lily were going to get there, Lily just needed time to process and figure out why she was so angry. She might not know why she is lashing out, but she knows it isn't her dad that she's mad at. It would have been nice if she could have gone :( And yeah, Louisa needs to figure that out fast and understand her place in Lily's life (which can be a good and positive one if she grows and owns up to her mistakes). Chapter 9 is up now!

Reviewer: Lorma (Signed) · Date: December 06, 2020 11:43 PM · On: Chapter 8

At least Lily was able to lift Brian's spirits.  Hunter and Gus were great with the reporter.  Brian does have a strong support system with Justin leading the pack. 



Author's Response:

Absolutely! Brian really needed that from her specifically. That reporter got what was coming to him. Brian really does have a strong and devoted support system. Chapter 9 is now up! Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: December 03, 2020 04:53 PM · On: Chapter 7

This chapter is so sad. Having to say good-bye is hard and Lily doesn't even get a chance to do that.  Gus and Emmett have the hardest part.

Reviewer: Lorma (Signed) · Date: December 02, 2020 10:09 PM · On: Chapter 7

This was very emotional and heartbreaking but written so well.  I'm glad Justin was able to comfort Gus and that Brian showed Gus affection. Brian definitely needs to let his feelings out so he can begin healing.

Reviewer: sfscarlet (Signed) · Date: December 02, 2020 03:29 AM · On: Chapter 7

I'm glad that Molly got Lily distracted.  It was a great scene between Gus and Justin.  Now that we know Lily saw things on the train, it will be easier for her to start to process it.  I hope she will be able to tell Brian that Eric wanted to come home before he called.  That will lessen the guilt that Brian feels.  Such a great story, even if it is incredibly sad at this point.  Thanks for writing and updating so quickly.

Reviewer: bksbracelet (Signed) · Date: November 29, 2020 06:30 AM · On: Chapter 6

Omg both Brian and Justin are so full of guilt because of their feelings for each other and Eric has died. Lilly is naturally acting out as she is way too young to process any of these feelings of grief. Thankfully Emmett is stepping up for Brian

Reviewer: bksbracelet (Signed) · Date: November 29, 2020 06:30 AM · On: Chapter 6

Omg both Brian and Justin are so full of guilt because of their feelings for each other and Eric has died. Lilly is naturally acting out as she is way too young to process any of these feelings of grief. Thankfully Emmett is stepping up for Brian

Reviewer: Toto_too514 (Signed) · Date: November 29, 2020 02:18 AM · On: Chapter 6

I got myself all caught up in one night... 

I am shattered. So heart-wrenchingly, beautfiully written. But now that I am caught up, I am also aching for the next chapter.

Justin needs to go to Brian. Maybe he will make the connection between the over-heard phone call Brian made to Eric, and Brian's inevitable and misplaced guilt about the accident.



Author's Response:

I'm so glad you are enjoying it. Currently working on chapter 7! Have close to 5k words right now. 

I agree, someone needs to make that connection. It would be ideal for Brian to confide in someone so that they can understand what he's feeling but right now, Justin is the only person who may have an idea of what's going on in Brian's brain regarding the guilt, especially since he's feeling it himself. But Justin as crippled with pain as Brian is. He can think somewhat logically when it comes to the guilt.

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: Toto_too514 (Signed) · Date: November 29, 2020 01:43 AM · On: Chapter 5

Tears are flowing profusely...

 



Author's Response:

<3

Reviewer: Toto_too514 (Signed) · Date: November 29, 2020 01:16 AM · On: Chapter 4

OMG! I forgot about Nathan too! What an awful way for him to find out.

Please don't let Brian feel too guilty for too long. I know it's his nature... but someone needs to talk to him the way he taked to Rick.



Author's Response:

It was such a hard way for him to find out! He and Eric had been getting closer :( 

Brian has a lot to work through but I can promise he will have a lot of help, support, and encouragement to tend to his grief and mental health once more of what he's feeling comes to light. He definitely needs what he provided for Rick. 

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: Toto_too514 (Signed) · Date: November 29, 2020 12:18 AM · On: Chapter 3

I fully expected Brian to be blaming himself for whatever event HAD to happen to move Brian and Justin together after Intersect. And as hard as it is to deal with, in a way, I am glad the event was a random act of violence, and not one that just happened to Eric & Lily, like a car wreck. I don't think Brian could ever recover from that...



Author's Response:

Yeah, I feel like if Lily or Eric had gotten hurt/killed in an accident and only them, it would have hit Brian in that sense. Although, a planned attack is horrifying in other ways. But at least Brian can also blame the perpetrators in this case. 

Thank you for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: Toto_too514 (Signed) · Date: November 29, 2020 12:04 AM · On: Chapter 2

Ok, wow... that was so intense. I'm not really sure where my own emotions are right now. The lump in my throat is huge.

So I'm going to ask something completely trivial... what breed of dog is Stella?



Author's Response:

I'm glad/sorry this chapter struck such a chord with you! I really enjoyed exploring Duncan's grief and his empath insight. 

And I am glad you asked! Stella is a bull mastiff who is around 3 years old, while Archimedes is (as stated in the last chapter of Intersect) is likely a Boxer/German Shepard mix. As the story is planned right now, at least one more dog is entering the fold, if not more. Dogs galore!

Thank you for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: Toto_too514 (Signed) · Date: November 28, 2020 11:31 PM · On: Chapter 1

I KNEW there was a reason for that knot in the pit of my stomach when I finished the last chapter of Intersect. I thought I had myself prepared for this chapter... 

I had even had myself prepared for the guilt Brian might feel for asking Eric to come home early. 

But I did not have myself prepared for this. 

 



Author's Response:

Yeah, the sequel has a lot of horrible stuff happening. There's a lot of love and healing but it's a rough road for a good while. Brian is feeling a lot of guilt and grief right now. Glad you are finally getting to read! Thank you so much for reviewing! 



Author's Response:

Yeah, the sequel has a lot of horrible stuff happening. There's a lot of love and healing but it's a rough road for a good while. Brian is feeling a lot of guilt and grief right now. Glad you are finally getting to read! Thank you so much for reviewing! 



Author's Response:

Yeah, the sequel has a lot of horrible stuff happening. There's a lot of love and healing but it's a rough road for a good while. Brian is feeling a lot of guilt and grief right now. Glad you are finally getting to read! Thank you so much for reviewing! 

Reviewer: Lorma (Signed) · Date: November 28, 2020 03:09 AM · On: Chapter 6

I'm waiting to see what happens when Justin finally sees Brian.  I'm sure it's going to be uncomfortable for him and painful to see Brian grieve.   



Author's Response:

He will see him in chapter 7! It will definitely be hard to see him hurting so badly. Thank you for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: November 27, 2020 10:00 PM · On: Chapter 5

Sometimes it's hard to believe that Lily is only 4.  At least she has Duncan who will do his best to help her through this.



Author's Response:

She is extremely precocious and intelligent. That being said, she struggles with processing her emotions at the intellectual level she is at. Duncan is more mature in that regard (for the most part) and he will definitely help her. <3 

Thank you for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: Lorma (Signed) · Date: November 25, 2020 01:37 AM · On: Chapter 5

Cute.



Author's Response:

:)

Reviewer: chadmom63 (Signed) · Date: November 25, 2020 01:12 AM · On: Chapter 5

Your writing is beautiful. My chest is tight for Lily's sorrow.  And Brian's. And Duncan is amazing.

Sad and gorgeous chapter. 



Author's Response:

I'm so glad you enjoyed it. Lily is going to need a lot of support. Luckily, she has a lot of people who love her and the best friend/boyfriend a girl can ask for. 

 

Thank you for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: November 22, 2020 05:21 PM · On: Chapter 4

Gus will be a big help.  Lily will enjoy having him close by and Brian's mind will have to be devoted to the kids.



Author's Response:

Gus is definitely going to try his best and step up. Lily will appreciate her brother's presence eventually and Brian will hopefully be able to keep himself occupied, but also devote time to himself and his own needs. Thank you for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: November 22, 2020 05:19 PM · On: Chapter 3

It's time that Brian returns to the land of the living.  It won't be easy, but with Emmett and Justin close by he should manage.  He'll be missing Eric.



Author's Response:

Yeah, it will be a rough road ahead for him. He may try to jump into things TOO fast. He definitely will be missing Eric for quite a while. :(

Thank you for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: Lorma (Signed) · Date: November 22, 2020 01:10 AM · On: Chapter 4

Interesting turn of events with Nathan and Justin.  What an outstanding job you are doing of conveying both Brian's pain and mindset in dealing with this tragedy. I love that you are posting each new chapter so quickly.



Author's Response:

I'm glad you are enjoying the story so far and the way Brian is handling things. Thank you for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: sfscarlet (Signed) · Date: November 21, 2020 10:06 PM · On: Chapter 4

This story is sit on the edge of your seat compelling and heart wrenching and wonderful and  and and and.  So glad you are writing proficly and updating so fast.  Enjoying it.  Hurting so much for everyone.  



Author's Response:

I'm so glad you are enjoying it! Thank you for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: Lorma (Signed) · Date: November 21, 2020 01:11 AM · On: Chapter 3

You did a great job describing Brian's pain in his last visit with Eric, saying his goodbyes.  Talk about angst!

Reviewer: Marny (Signed) · Date: November 20, 2020 09:23 PM · On: Chapter 3

Sitting here with tears in my eyes. So sad.

I always end my review with * hugs * but now I need a hug.



Author's Response:

*Hugs*

 

Thank you for reading and reviewing <3

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: November 19, 2020 02:35 PM · On: Chapter 2

Love how Molly is such a help with Duncan.  Poor Gus, he understands but it's a lot to take in.



Author's Response:

Molly is great with Duncan. She will prove to be good with Lily too. Gus is grieving himself and he's never seen his dad like this. It's very distressing for him. :( Thank you for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: Lorma (Signed) · Date: November 19, 2020 03:49 AM · On: Chapter 1

Wow!  This was definitely loaded with angst. Emmett is such a good friend.  Brian is lucky to have his support and that of his friends.  I'm wondering what will happen when Justin finds out.  He is fond of Eric and as a close friend of Brian, he deserves to be told.Great beginning!



Author's Response:

Emmett definitely is a good friend. He and Brian have become very close after Brian moved to Brooklyn and their bonding over fatherhood. Justin is taking it hard. :( Thank you for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: November 19, 2020 02:52 AM · On: Chapter 1

Oh, God.  How sad and the thing is I can see things happening this way.  Love how you chose Emmett to be the barrier of bad news.  What happens when Justin finds out?



Author's Response:

I'm glad you liked the choice here! It seemed fitting. Justin (as you have now read) doesn't take it well. :( Thank you for reading and reviewing!

You must login (register) to review.