; Midnight Whispers :: QAF Fanfiction - Brian and Justin - SSL Encrypted
Midnight Whispers
QAF Fanfiction - Brian and Justin - SSL Encrypted
>
Reviews For Not Like You
Reviewer: cullengirl08 (Signed) · Date: November 10, 2019 01:51 PM · On: Chapter 19

Great ending to a great story!!   And I'm so happy that you will be continuing with this Brian and Justin; you have told some great stories about them, and looking forward to what comes next!!  And just like you, I'm all for a little fluff mixed in as well.   Thanks again!!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! <3 I am so in love with this version of Brian and Justin, and I'm so, so thankful that others love them as much as I do and look forward to reading them. I've been working on a couple of things outside the verse, and I have an idea for within it too, so we'll see what comes out! Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: November 03, 2019 09:13 AM · On: Chapter 19

I really like this universe and I am delighted that you are thinking of continuing to write a few more of their ways. Throughout the stories we have seen them change and grow together, talk to each other. Communication is so difficult for Brian but he gets there. Thank you for these wonderful stories and especially take care of yourself.

Author's Response:

I thought I had responded to this, but I'm not sure where my reply went! eek! Sorry! Anyway, it makes me happy that this universe and these characters make you happy, and that you enjoy reading it! You're right that communication is still difficult for Brian, and it probably always will be, even though he's a lot better than he used to be. Thanks for reading <3

Reviewer: sfscarlet (Signed) · Date: November 03, 2019 02:04 AM · On: Chapter 19

Kari:

 

I've loved reading this series.  I'm happy that your writing helped you out of a dark place.  I can't write very fast-  RL is just too busy but any pace is a good pace as long as you are enjoying your writing.  I've loved these stories and am pleased that you will continue to write in this universe.  Brian and Justin are in a great place and I love the mutual respect, talking, and support that they offer each other.  Great job and I'll look forward to your next adventure.



Author's Response:

Thank you <3 I’m so glad you’ve enjoyed reading it! It’s been a lot of fun to “grow them up” a little and let their relationship mature along with them. They’ve had a lot of life experiences that have changed a lot of things for them, but I want to keep them still Brian and Justin at heart...just a more mature, wiser version.

But I love them too much to let them go. ;)

thanks again!

Reviewer: bksbracelet (Signed) · Date: November 02, 2019 09:02 PM · On: Chapter 19

This story arc is so left of field from canon yet it feels centered. It’s a story about love and fear and your ability to weave Brian’s noted history of fear of dealing with feelings in this was perfect. Justin’s need to be everything for Brian is exhausting and their joint communication issues was the perfect storm of real life issues. Loved it and I am thrilled the boys are continuing to fight united together and we can be given more chances to see the boys

Author's Response:

Thank you so much <3 When I first started on "Changed," I knew I was doing something big that was going go fundamentally change who Brian was as a person...thus, the title. ;) But I never dreamed it would turn into this epic thing. It's a high compliment to hear that it still feels centered even though it is such a huge shift from canon. You are absolutely right on how their dynamic works and doesn't work...how wrapped up Justin is in being everything for Brian, while Brian's fears keep him from being as open as he needs to be. Thanks for reading! 

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: November 01, 2019 09:34 AM · On: Chapter 18

Minnie was a very good idea! Sweet chapter. Thank you!

Author's Response:

Thank you <3 So glad you enjoyed it and like the idea of adding a kitty cat to the family!

Reviewer: cullengirl08 (Signed) · Date: October 31, 2019 04:50 PM · On: Chapter 18

That was just the sweetest.   Justin was truly shocked and amazed at the gift of Minnie.    And I think Brian even surprised himself in a way as well.   I'm thinking he'll love end up loving her just as much as Justin.



Author's Response:

Thank you <3 I think you're right...Brian did surprise himself in a way. But that's how committed he is to doing what is right for his partner, even if it means stepping outside of his comfort zone. Staying in his comfort zone put them in a very tough spot earlier on in this story. Brian and "Minnie" (whose name will be changing soon) are a LOT alike...which may or may not be a good thing. LOL

Reviewer: cullengirl08 (Signed) · Date: October 31, 2019 04:31 PM · On: Chapter 17

Brian has definitely grown up and matured over the last several years.   He truly wants to be the best that he can be for Justin.



Author's Response:

He has! But I figure, that's life...he is 48 years old now, and he's had a lifetime of experiences, not the least of which is the sudden loss of a good chunk of what he thought made up the essence of Brian Kinney -- his physicality and sexual prowess. So he had to change, and he's had to figure out what's really important to him, and what makes him happy. Justin makes him happy. <3

Reviewer: Predec2 (Signed) · Date: October 31, 2019 03:03 PM · On: Chapter 18

Hello, my friend!  I have been so remiss in leaving reviews, not only on this story but so many more. Life has been so hectic and stressful lately.  But I finally had some time to gather my thoughts.  Your writing and the emotion that it always evokes is exquisite.  I love the way that you portray these two.  I can see them acting and feeling this way over time as their love and relationship evolve.  That Brian is willing to make adjustments in his life simply to help make the man he loves happy clearly shows how deep their bond goes.

I love this 'verse, Kari. And everything else you write. I hope you keep writing for a very long time. And I hope we get to meet up again one day in the not-so-distant future.  XOXO  ~Kim



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! I'm glad to hear you're still reading and enjoying. :) Evolving them in this way throughout this 'verse has been a little bit of a challenge, because that little voice of self-doubt creeps in every now and then to ask me if I'm taking them out of character...and the conclusion I've reached is that yes, compared to canon, I am, BUT we are 15 years past canon now, and some BIG stuff has happened to both of them in their lives since then in this 'verse. No way could they be the same people, either physically or emotionally. They have to grow, and portraying the way they are growing together has become one of my favorite things to write. Brian has always been willing to do things for Justin that he wouldn't do for anyone else, even in canon, and I see this as a modern-day extension of that. Brian cared deeply about Justin even when he wouldn't admit it. And the experience they've gone through in this story has fundamentally changed them both.

One more chapter to go. :)

I'm hoping to continue writing for a very long time...and I want to meet up again too! Soon!

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: October 31, 2019 02:30 PM · On: Chapter 18

The cat was a success.  And cute.



Author's Response:

Thanks :) I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: October 31, 2019 02:16 PM · On: Chapter 17

Things have changed yet not.  Brian needs to help Justin, he can't help himself.  He is sooo in love.  Rob and Adam are the friends Brian should have had, friends that could have made a big difference after the accident.  Wonderful chapter.



Author's Response:

Rob did play a pretty important role for Brian after his accident, even though they didn't meet until Brian was about a year and a half out from his injury. Rob was there when Brian was ready to listen and explore and ask questions, compared to when he was in rehab and having a bunch of things thrown at him all at once, and was overwhelmed and still struggling to wrap his mind around what having a spinal cord injury meant. So he made a huge difference, even if we didn't see it. :) You're so right that Brian struggles to help himself for more than anything. They have changed a lot, but they will always fundamentally be themselves, and Brian has a lot of baggage when it comes to relating to the people he cares about. He is trying to grow and change, but he will never be rid of what his parents left him with.

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: October 29, 2019 08:18 AM · On: Chapter 17

It's so good to see them return to normal and see them smile. It only remains to know the reaction of Justin to the storage of his studio and I hope that Him Brian Rob and Adam will have a party to celebrate the return to life. Once again beautiful story. Thank you.

Author's Response:

Thank you <3 Just a couple more things to tie up...two chapters left after this. :)

Reviewer: cullengirl08 (Signed) · Date: October 27, 2019 01:12 PM · On: Chapter 16

I think its very sweet of Rob and Adam to want to help Justin by clearing out his studio, so he'll be comfortable getting back in there.   And I think Brian looking into ways of getting a cat for Justin is great, too.   Actually, I think they both may benefit from having it.   



Author's Response:

They might ;) And the idea of a cat just seems fun for future stories... <3

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: October 25, 2019 07:47 AM · On: Chapter 16

Burning words on paper is a great solution. Brian should try. I'm so happy to see Justin's smile again and with him Brian's smile.Beautiful update and story Thank you.

Author's Response:

Thanks...it’s a way of letting go that I personally am a big fan of. :) Brian did sit out there and do it with him until they got cold and went in. <3 So glad you’re still enjoying the story! I can’t wait for you guys to read the rest!

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: October 24, 2019 02:19 PM · On: Chapter 16

It's good to see Justin enjoying life again.  Brian is letting go of some of his old rules and trying new shit.  If he gets the cat, there's so many ways that could go.  The cat could love him or dislike him, the cat's personality could be laid back or racing around.  It would be fun.



Author's Response:

Brian is a changed man in a lot of ways... his disability started the work of forcing him to change and realize some things about his life, but this situation has gotten him much closer to realizing just how easily everything he loves could slip right through his fingers and he'd be left all alone. Stay tuned for more on the cat idea... ;)

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: October 23, 2019 03:05 AM · On: Chapter 15

Things are looking good.  Brian's even letting himself enjoy good food.



Author's Response:

Impressive for Brian, huh? :) He really is turning over a new leaf...

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: October 23, 2019 02:06 AM · On: Chapter 14

Oddly talking seems to have helped.  Being honest didn't hurt either.

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: October 22, 2019 08:09 PM · On: Chapter 13

Brian's changed and he's much better for it.  He needs to tell his husband how happy he is.  It might make a difference.



Author's Response:

He's very, very happy. And by the end, my hope is that they will both know and have demonstrated how important they are to each other. <3

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: October 22, 2019 06:59 PM · On: Chapter 12

Looks like Brian is doing the right things.  After all Rob is only a phone call away.

Reviewer: cullengirl08 (Signed) · Date: October 20, 2019 12:08 PM · On: Chapter 15

Brian is being a great support system for Justin and is really helping him to see the other side of things, like with Rob, Adam and the girls, and even this event that he is working.   Brian helped him see that even if he never paints again, his work is still out there and being seen by people.   He won't be forgotten.   



Author's Response:

Absolutely. Brian has made up his mind not to fall into the same trap he did before.

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: October 20, 2019 08:50 AM · On: Chapter 15

So good ! I can not wait to find out what Justin is going to tell. Everything seems to be getting back into place little by little.. It's a hopeful chapter. Thank you.

Author's Response:

Glad you're enjoying the more positive part of this story as we work our way toward the end! I know it was another cliffhanger, but at least it was a happy one! :)

Reviewer: bksbracelet (Signed) · Date: October 16, 2019 09:00 AM · On: Chapter 14

Oh wow such a wonderful chapter of two people connecting I loved and I also teared up.

Author's Response:

Thank you <3 I always end up making myself tear up in these moments too...especially when Brian gets emotional. I think because it takes so much for him to get there.

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: October 15, 2019 08:27 AM · On: Chapter 14

t's so good to see them talk about what Justin went through and reconnect. Super chapter thank you.

Author's Response:

Thank YOU! <3 I'm so glad you're still enjoying!

Reviewer: cullengirl08 (Signed) · Date: October 14, 2019 09:06 PM · On: Chapter 14

Great chapter!!!  I was so happy to see Brian and Justin talking about what Justin was going through, and then reconnecting with each other again.   That in itself is a sure sign that Justin is doing so much better.   But I'm glad that he and Brian are back on the same page with each other again.   They deserve it!!



Author's Response:

The pieces of the happy ending are starting to fall into place now...though we still aren't quite there yet. :) I'm so glad you enjoyed the chapter!

Reviewer: cullengirl08 (Signed) · Date: October 10, 2019 08:11 PM · On: Chapter 13

I am so happy that Justin is feeling better and improving.   For only a few weeks out, he is doing great, and I'm glad that he and Brian are getting back to spending time together again.   



Author's Response:

Me too! He still has bad days for sure, and he will through the end of this fic (though don’t we all?) but he is doing much better. And he has a lot of people in his corner. Thanks for reading! :)

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: October 10, 2019 07:28 AM · On: Chapter 13

It's so good to see Justin get a little smile and Brian starts breathing again.They are really well surrounded with Rob Adam and Cynthia always listening but without intrusion.Thank you for this chapter which is good for everyone!

Author's Response:

Isn’t it, though? Even as the author, it’s a relief. You’re right that they do have a great support system in place. Thanks so much for reading!

You must login (register) to review.