; Midnight Whispers :: QAF Fanfiction - Brian and Justin - SSL Encrypted
Midnight Whispers
QAF Fanfiction - Brian and Justin - SSL Encrypted
>
Reviews For Matriarch
Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: May 06, 2019 08:21 AM · On: Chapter 12

What a beautiful story! I will not say how many tissues I used but I'm glad I read it. We also learn a little more about Brian and Debbie's relationship. I hope you will continue this series perhaps with Esme and Sophia to breathe a little !!! Thank you, I love your writing.

Author's Response:

Thank you! <3  I'm glad you gave it a chance and enjoyed it. There's much more to come in this verse!

Reviewer: cullengirl08 (Signed) · Date: May 04, 2019 11:32 AM · On: Chapter 12

Great ending to another great story!!!   And Justin was right, as long as Liberty Avenue is there, so will Debbie.    She is the heart and soul of that place and everybody loved her!!   Her spirit will always be there!!



Author's Response:

Thank you! <3 Debbie will certainly live on! (And there is more to come in this verse, so stay tuned!)

Reviewer: PA Boi (Signed) · Date: May 03, 2019 07:53 PM · On: Chapter 12

Great story, very sad but great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  Bill



Author's Response:

Thank you Bill <3 It makes me happy to see such enthusiasm for my story!

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: May 03, 2019 02:01 PM · On: Chapter 12

An ending worthy of this wonderful story.  Thank you.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: bksbracelet (Signed) · Date: May 02, 2019 08:50 PM · On: Chapter 11

Wow Justin is so strong and good on Michael protecting Brian together

Author's Response:

Yes, go JT and Zephyr. ;) Justin used a lot of self control in dealing with Joan, to not do what he really wanted to...

Reviewer: bksbracelet (Signed) · Date: May 02, 2019 08:50 PM · On: Chapter 11

Wow Justin is so strong and good on Michael protecting Brian together

Reviewer: cullengirl08 (Signed) · Date: May 02, 2019 11:11 AM · On: Chapter 11

It was nice to see Brian inject a little humor in, even it was just for a second, with his "wait until Joan kicks the bucket" statement.   But I really am surprised that Joan actually showed up for the funeral.    I'm just glad that she left before Brian saw her.    He is no shape physcially or emotionally to deal with her right now.



Author's Response:

Yeah, I think that's just Brian, especially where his mother is concerned. ;) So it's really, really good that he didn't know she was there!

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: May 01, 2019 06:08 PM · On: Chapter 11

Well, we know who won't be going to Joanie's funeral when she finally dies.



Author's Response:

Yep, pretty much... if they're even invited.

Reviewer: bktush (Signed) · Date: May 01, 2019 02:55 PM · On: Chapter 11

I've been reading your story and enjoying it very much. It's hard to wrap my head about Brian in a wheel chair and being in constant pain. Not dancing with Justin and his sexual explots a thing of the past, not a way I want to think of "our stud". Joan showing up was a total shock. if she truly wanted to talk to her son she would have approached him sooner she didn't even ask about Brian's health she didn't know thry had married eleven years ago and wasn't sure that the young man talking with him was his son, when it is her funeral who will care enough to mourn her, can't think of anyone, even her priest will be glad not to hear her complain about lost souls she doesn't  realize she lost hers when she allowed the abuse of her child.



Author's Response:

I'm glad you've been enjoying the story! This version of Brian can absolutely dance with Justin -- and does! And he and Justin still have sex -- just differently. If you haven't read Changed and Familiarity yet, those two stories might help give some more background to this particular version of the character. :) He really isn't in constant pain, but if he doesn't take care of himself, he will be. (Thus, what's been happening in this story.) Joan's visit was really more about putting in an appearance than actually talking to Brian, even though she would have liked to have done that as well. And Joan never met Gus in the series. I would presume by this point she's probably heard he has a child, somehow, after 18 years, but she still never met him. I see the Kinney family dynamic as having been an interesting one, in which Joan was complicit in the abuse of her children (or, at least Brian) but she was probably also being abused in some way herself by Jack, be it physically or emotionally. She certainly has her own demons to deal with. While she is not my favorite character, I do feel she is probably complex, and her relationship with Brian is complex as well.

Reviewer: PA Boi (Signed) · Date: May 01, 2019 01:59 PM · On: Chapter 11

What a horrible person Joan is.  Nice to see Justin & Michael united to protect Brian.  I am not usually a Michael fan but your Michael is a nicer version.  Always happy to see an update for your story!!!!!  Bill



Author's Response:

Yes, she is a terrible excuse for a mother. But Justin and Michael kept Brian from having to interact with her -- something he definitely didn't need that day. I'm glad you like my Michael -- I enjoy their friendship in the series, and I want to play that up in my fic and try to give Michael some more balanced writing than he got in the series itself. (I really think that was the biggest problem with the character...inconsistent writing.) Thank you, Bill! <3

Reviewer: PA Boi (Signed) · Date: April 29, 2019 03:39 PM · On: Chapter 10

Happy that Brian opened up to Justin.  Debbie meant so much to both of them.  Bill



Author's Response:

Yes, she did. And people knew she was special to Brian, but not how much or why...

Reviewer: cullengirl08 (Signed) · Date: April 28, 2019 10:00 PM · On: Chapter 10

Time to get the kleenex out...   Well, Brian finally opened up to Justin, and he told him how Debbie saved him - several times.   She treated him like another son and helped him in every way possible, in her own special way!! 



Author's Response:

Yes, she meant so, so much to Brian — more than people realized! 

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: April 28, 2019 04:04 PM · On: Chapter 10

Finding Brian smoking pot in the backyard brings back all the times she joined Brian in doing the same thing.



Author's Response:

Yes, I thought it was really appropriate to have him do that! And it's going to help him with some of the physical stuff he's got going on too, in addition to helping him open up to Justin, finally.

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: April 27, 2019 03:23 AM · On: Chapter 9

Brian is falling apart because Deb was a big part of his youth.  He lost Vic and now Deb which just leaves him with Mikey who is selfenvolved.



Author's Response:

Debbie played a huge part in Brian's life growing up, and there's a piece that no one but he and Deb knew about, that is covered in the next chapter... <3

Reviewer: cullengirl08 (Signed) · Date: April 26, 2019 09:57 PM · On: Chapter 9

Well, at least Brian got sone of his emotions out, with Michael.  But I'm still waiting for him to open up with Justin.    He is really worried about him and how he is handling all of this.   



Author's Response:

Yes, he did -- he needed to grieve with Michael, as much as he needed to open up to Justin. Brian isn't handling any of this well at all...

Reviewer: PA Boi (Signed) · Date: April 25, 2019 02:58 PM · On: Chapter 8

Tough day, hope Brian opens up soon to Justin.  Always happy to see a new chapter.



Author's Response:

Thank you! It makes me happy to see people looking forward to the updates! The guys are in for a rough couple of days, for sure...

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: April 25, 2019 12:24 AM · On: Chapter 8

I'm surprised that Michael let her keep her wig.  She'd up in the sky with Vic.



Author's Response:

She wouldn't be Debbie without the red wig, I think. :)

Reviewer: cullengirl08 (Signed) · Date: April 24, 2019 09:06 PM · On: Chapter 8

Brian really needs to open up to Justin.   He is definitely keeping something from him, and he desperately needs to talk to him about it.    At least Justin was able to get him to take his meds, so that will hopefullly help him feel a little better.



Author's Response:

Yes, he does! And all of it is coming to a head even though he really doesn't want it to... Thanks for reading! <3

Reviewer: Predec2 (Signed) · Date: April 21, 2019 11:42 AM · On: Chapter 7

Hi, Kari!  Just got caught up on this wonderful story. There is just something about your writing style that pulls me in.  You describe the relationship between Brian and Justin so well, and describe beautifully how they are two parts of a whole, both giving and receiving what they need physically and emotionally. I always wondered what the reaction would be to Debbie's death eventually, and I feel you have captured this wonderfully.  You are adept at evoking emotion in your story and your writing style. Just wanted you to know how much I am enjoying this, and all the stories you write. Thank you for posting it on here. :)  ~Kim

P.S.  See you soon!



Author's Response:

Thank you! I think a lot of what you mentioned is why I love writing in this verse so much, with this version of the characters. They’ve grown as people, and I love portraying them that way as they encounter the challenging situations that we all do as we get older. I’m so glad you’re enjoying it! <3

Reviewer: cullengirl08 (Signed) · Date: April 21, 2019 10:55 AM · On: Chapter 7

It looks like Brian and Sophia get along really well and have a very nice relationship.   I think it was good for Brian to spend time with just her, which I'm sure definitely took his mind off things for awhile.   



Author's Response:

They do! She likes him, and he likes her because he thinks she’s fun. :) He needed that mental break, for sure! 

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: April 21, 2019 01:42 AM · On: Chapter 7

Thank goodness for little girls.  The best thing for Brian and Justin.



Author's Response:

Kids have their own way of giving us what we need sometimes!

Reviewer: PA Boi (Signed) · Date: April 20, 2019 10:14 PM · On: Chapter 7

Glad that Brian & Justin had some distractions and are taking better care of themselves.  Always happy to see an update for your story!!!!  Bill



Author's Response:

Aww, thank you so much! I'm really glad you're enjoying it. <3 

Reviewer: cullengirl08 (Signed) · Date: April 18, 2019 08:49 PM · On: Chapter 6

I'm glad that Brian called Jen to come over to be with Justin.   And her motherly advice helped Brian a bit as well.    He realizes that he needs to do what he can to stay healthy.   And I'm sure that little nap will really do some good for Brian, give him a chance to relax a bit before he and Justin head back out.



Author's Response:

Brian really has learned his lesson, even if he's having a hard time making himself do what he needs to do...if he's prompted, he will listen. :)

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: April 18, 2019 02:39 PM · On: Chapter 6

Not much mention of how Mikey's taking things.  I can just imagine.  Why is it that Brian has to come up with the brilliant idea of opening the diner?  



Author's Response:

We will be around Michael more in the coming days...we just aren't seeing a lot of it because we are in Justin's POV, and Justin is very focused on and concerned about Brian. As for the diner, Brian just wanted to do something to honor Deb. <3

Reviewer: PA Boi (Signed) · Date: April 16, 2019 03:41 AM · On: Chapter 5

Poor Justin, taking care of Brian is taking its toll on him.  I hope Mikey doesn't fall apart and cause Brian more pain.  Tough situation for everyone.



Author's Response:

Justin isn't wrong in his perception that Brian is taking this a lot harder than Michael -- he just isn't quite sure why (yet). They have to take care of each other without neglecting themselves...a difficult line to walk.

You must login (register) to review.