; Midnight Whispers :: QAF Fanfiction - Brian and Justin - SSL Encrypted
Midnight Whispers
QAF Fanfiction - Brian and Justin - SSL Encrypted
>
Reviewer: TrueIllusion (Signed) · Date: May 19, 2019 08:14 PM · On: Chapter 12- The Road Less Taken

I'm glad he's choosing not to drink! (Although I'm wondering when he's going to get rid of the contents of the liquor cabinet? ;) ) And he made it through the awkward moment at the dinner party of refusing the wine -- go Brian! Now you've also got me wondering if there is something in Debbie's past that led her to say something that Brian recognized from AA, or if it was just a coincidence?

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: May 19, 2019 07:42 AM · On: Chapter 12- The Road Less Taken

It's good that Brian's becoming sober even though he still has a long way to go, lets him know who his friends really are and what they see in him. He's going to realize that his best friends still see him as the one who drinks and party but does not leave him a chance to change. Very good chapter, I really like the introspection of Brian. He also understood that he really needed the support of Ted Blake and Emmett. Maybe Debbie? He must be sure of that so as not to spoil everything.

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: May 18, 2019 08:24 PM · On: Chapter 12- The Road Less Taken

Justin has given Brian  a lot to think about.  Most of Brian's friends will be okay with helping him except maybe his two 'best' friends.  Hey, even Melanie might turn out to be understanding.

Reviewer: Lorma (Signed) · Date: May 18, 2019 05:29 PM · On: Chapter 12- The Road Less Taken

Good boy!

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: April 27, 2019 03:24 AM · On: Chapter 11- Conversations

Brian and Justin are becoming closer which is good.  With Ted and Emmett to back him Brian just might make it to recovery.



Author's Response:

I think Brian is really starting to think about how difficult his journey will be.  It will be interesting to see how their friendship develops.

Reviewer: Happy Gamma (Signed) · Date: April 26, 2019 10:51 PM · On: Chapter 11- Conversations

Great chapter.  Happy that Brian is at least listening to Justin about Mikey.  Time for Brian to see the real Mikey.  Terrific writing.



Author's Response:

So pleased that you are still enjoying the story.  Since Justin is a neutral observer, Brian can listen without feeling guilty or questioning his motives

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: April 26, 2019 08:02 AM · On: Chapter 11- Conversations

It's a good discussion between Brian and Justin. Justin makes him see what is perverse in Michael's behavior that uses Brian's past to prevent him from growing or advancing without him. Is it true that Justin is not a psychologist !! Great chapter

Author's Response:

Justin is a neutral observer.  Since he doesn't know Michael or Lindsay or any of Brian's friends or family, he can make observations and push Brian to question his friendships in a much easier place than he could on the show.

Reviewer: coleamber (Signed) · Date: April 22, 2019 06:30 PM · On: Chapter 10- No More Secrets

great story,cant wait for update



Author's Response:

Thank you. I have always wanted to explore Brian's drinking and finally felt the time was right.

Reviewer: coleamber (Signed) · Date: April 22, 2019 05:54 PM · On: Chapter 7- Mikey's Lament

Darn Lindsey cant stand that women.  Michael is just plain stupid

Reviewer: coleamber (Signed) · Date: April 22, 2019 05:41 PM · On: Chapter 6- The Beginning

yes the first few months is tough

Reviewer: Predec2 (Signed) · Date: April 21, 2019 12:32 PM · On: Chapter 10- No More Secrets

Hi, Sandy!  Trying desperately to get caught up on my reading.  RL - UGH.  But I want you to know how much I'm enjoying this. I don't know anything about alcoholism, but I think you're doing a great job of describing how Brian would handle it. I love how you have him and Emmett as confidantes. I think that is totally realistic, as is the slow progression you are describing, not only with Brian's journey regarding abstinence, but also his growing bond with Justin.  I much prefer a good plotline over simple PWP anyday, as well as a little hurt/comfort and angst mixed in, and you are doing a great job of including all of that.

Looking forward to reading the rest of your story. Thank you for posting this on here. :)  ~Kim



Author's Response:

Kim:

 

  So glad you are enjoying the story.  As you know from reading my other works, I like the slow buildup and am not really into writing PWP.   Alcoholism is a complicated disease and one that needs to be unraveled.  Justin is helping Brian unravel his sobreity.

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: April 17, 2019 03:26 PM · On: Chapter 10- No More Secrets

I think that telling Emmett is a good start.  Unlike Michael, Emmett takes what Brian says seriously.  Would telling Deb and getting her to understand help with stopping Michael from being a shit?  Justin posed the questions in a good way.



Author's Response:

Michael has always been more into what he wants than what might be good for his friend.

Reviewer: TrueIllusion (Signed) · Date: April 15, 2019 10:20 PM · On: Chapter 10- No More Secrets

Yes, he just needs to be able to separate the two activities. Maybe Ted can be a good support in helping him learn how to do that?



Author's Response:

Brian has a lot to work through and I know he is learning, but right now he is still pretty confused regarding his life and what he really wants.

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: April 15, 2019 07:55 AM · On: Chapter 10- No More Secrets

I love Emmett he is smart he can choose his words and questions without rushing. I think he'll be a great help against Michael and his complaints! The discussion with Justin allows Brian to ask the right questions and he understands that it is necessary to keep Justin as godfather before putting him in his bed! I do not know much about addictions in general, but it's certainly effective to have someone who makes you think about why to analyze the past but stay in the present. Great update.

Author's Response:

Thank you.   Emmett is a good friend and I think he was underutilized in the series.  He was always protective of his friends.

Reviewer: addict_writer (Signed) · Date: April 14, 2019 07:12 PM · On: Chapter 10- No More Secrets

Read this in one go. 

The idea is so interesting. I thought of doing something similar but never got enough intel to do it properly.

I'm curious about Brian and Justin's journey and for how long they can keep their hands off each other.



Author's Response:

Thank you for your comments.  I hope that you are feeling this is a realistic story.  Brian and Justin will eventually come together but not sure how that journey will develop.

Reviewer: Happy Gamma (Signed) · Date: April 14, 2019 05:18 PM · On: Chapter 10- No More Secrets

Fantastic writing.  Terrific chapter.  Don't know much about alcoholics either, but everything written seemed to make sense in how any problems should be looked at.



Author's Response:

Thank you . I'm glad that you are enjoying the story and like my writing.  I know a lot about alcohoics but do not work in that field.  ( work in human service and have worked with people who have addictions).  thanks for your continued support of my writing.

Reviewer: britintaykin (Signed) · Date: April 14, 2019 04:52 PM · On: Chapter 10- No More Secrets

How many more chapters of this story are there

Author's Response:

Britinaykin:

 

I am actively writing the story and have no idea how many chapters there will be.  I can't even begin to guess.  There is still a lot to explore with Brian and his addiction and coming to understand why he drinks as well as how his life might change.  I understand if you are waiting to read the story until it is finished.  I am keeping to a bi-weekly posting schedule and might be able to post weekly once the school year is over, but I can't promise that.  

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: April 06, 2019 03:56 PM · On: Chapter 9- Two Weeks Sober

Confiding in Emmett is probably a good idea.  I'm sure he could come up with interesting if not unusual things that Brian can do.  Recipes for  non alcoholic drinks.  And once he meets Justin, he'll be team Brian in the match making department.



Author's Response:

Those are great ideas.  One day the gang will probably meet Justin, but that will be far in the future.

Reviewer: TrueIllusion (Signed) · Date: April 04, 2019 01:47 PM · On: Chapter 9- Two Weeks Sober

Oooh, can’t wait to find out the rest of their conversation and Emmett’s reaction! 



Author's Response:

It should be interesting now that Brian is starting to tell his secret.

Reviewer: chimoblu (Signed) · Date: April 01, 2019 07:59 PM · On: Chapter 9- Two Weeks Sober

I'm loving Brian's voice in this story. One of the things that I missed in the show was some real "everyday" Brian, so I totally loved the brief moment in the park when he teaches Gus how to play soccer.

I hated the chapter's ending point because I love every Brian/Emmett interaction and I can't wait to read more of it, but I guess I'll try to survive :-)



Author's Response:

I'm glad that the story runs true in this story.  I really think that Brian has always had a problem with drugs but the series never addressed it.  I have always thought that the little everyday things in life are what given the story a personal touch.

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: April 01, 2019 08:48 AM · On: Chapter 9- Two Weeks Sober

Brian had the good idea to talk to Emmett, he will be there for him and help him. We'll see how it goes. His path to sobriety makes him better understand the reality about his friendship with Michael (whom he can not trust) and Lindsay who apparently loves his wallet more than him. I can not wait to see Emmett's role. Thanks for the update.

Author's Response:

Emmett is a great friend and will support Brian.  Not a fan or Lindsay or Michael and totally agree with your assessment.  

Reviewer: Happy Gamma (Signed) · Date: April 01, 2019 03:12 AM · On: Chapter 9- Two Weeks Sober

Great update.  Glad he told Em and will have someone else on his side.  Linds is  annoying as usual.  Could just see him playing soccer with Gus.  Terrific writing.



Author's Response:

Thank you.  I thought it was ready to have Brian tell someone else.   Linds is not my favorite person.  So glad you are enjoying my writing.

Reviewer: TrueIllusion (Signed) · Date: March 18, 2019 10:14 PM · On: Chapter 8- First Trial

Ooooh...Brian starts to feel all the things he's been masking with the alcohol. Looking forward to exploring the man beneath that armor in this verse with this Justin...



Author's Response:

Brian is really acknowledging that he actually does feel rather than sweeping feeling under the rug.  I think he may start to have apologies and regrets.

Reviewer: Predec2 (Signed) · Date: March 18, 2019 01:32 AM · On: Chapter 8- First Trial

Hi, Sandy!  Still enjoying this story very much. I like the slow buildup of friendship between Brian and Justin, and how Justin used Brian's love for his son to prevent him from drinking.  I can actually see this happening in Brian's life, since he was always so dependent upon alcohol in his social situations.  Great plot!  Looking forward to reading the rest. Thank you for posting this here. :)  ~Kim



Author's Response:

Kim:

 

Thanks for the feedback.  It is a little different than my normal stuff- mix between canon and fanfic.  I always wondered why Brian did not have more issues with his drinking.  He really could be considered an alcoholic- you don't have to be drunk all the time to have that diagnosis.  I wanted to explore that and hope that I am doing it justice.

Reviewer: bksbracelet (Signed) · Date: March 17, 2019 11:26 AM · On: Chapter 8- First Trial

Aw so glad Brian reached out to Justin and he latched on to the one thing to help Brian see a goal

Author's Response:

Brian is beginning to realize that this sobriety thing is not as easy as it appeared.  He needs support and that is the one thing that Brian really balks at.  He will do anything for others in his life, but for himself, it is really difficult.

You must login (register) to review.