; Midnight Whispers :: QAF Fanfiction - Brian and Justin - SSL Encrypted
Midnight Whispers
QAF Fanfiction - Brian and Justin - SSL Encrypted
>
Reviewer: TrueIllusion (Signed) · Date: March 18, 2019 10:14 PM · On: Chapter 8- First Trial

Ooooh...Brian starts to feel all the things he's been masking with the alcohol. Looking forward to exploring the man beneath that armor in this verse with this Justin...



Author's Response:

Brian is really acknowledging that he actually does feel rather than sweeping feeling under the rug.  I think he may start to have apologies and regrets.

Reviewer: Predec2 (Signed) · Date: March 18, 2019 01:32 AM · On: Chapter 8- First Trial

Hi, Sandy!  Still enjoying this story very much. I like the slow buildup of friendship between Brian and Justin, and how Justin used Brian's love for his son to prevent him from drinking.  I can actually see this happening in Brian's life, since he was always so dependent upon alcohol in his social situations.  Great plot!  Looking forward to reading the rest. Thank you for posting this here. :)  ~Kim



Author's Response:

Kim:

 

Thanks for the feedback.  It is a little different than my normal stuff- mix between canon and fanfic.  I always wondered why Brian did not have more issues with his drinking.  He really could be considered an alcoholic- you don't have to be drunk all the time to have that diagnosis.  I wanted to explore that and hope that I am doing it justice.

Reviewer: bksbracelet (Signed) · Date: March 17, 2019 11:26 AM · On: Chapter 8- First Trial

Aw so glad Brian reached out to Justin and he latched on to the one thing to help Brian see a goal

Author's Response:

Brian is beginning to realize that this sobriety thing is not as easy as it appeared.  He needs support and that is the one thing that Brian really balks at.  He will do anything for others in his life, but for himself, it is really difficult.

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: March 17, 2019 08:41 AM · On: Chapter 8- First Trial

It's good that Justin has found some good words to repel Brian's alcoholic desire and we also understand how Michael could be bad for him. Brian still has a long way but he seems to be on the right track.

Author's Response:

Justin was really happy that Brian called and he was able to successfully get Brian not to take that drink.  Michael is a very selfish man who only thinks about how every action impacts him.  Brian's road to sobriety will not be quick.  He has been drinking for a long time and it will take a long time for him to change his ways.

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: March 17, 2019 03:23 AM · On: Chapter 8- First Trial

I really wish I could boot Mikey down the stairs.  It was good that Justin managed to say just the right things.  Enjoying this.



Author's Response:

Yum Yum:

I really appreciate your continued support of my writing.  Taking the time to comment on each new chapter is really wonderful.  Like you, I'm not a big Mikey fan.  Mikey needs to learn that no means no.

Reviewer: Happy Gamma (Signed) · Date: March 17, 2019 02:40 AM · On: Chapter 8- First Trial

Great update.  Step by step, Brian is getting there.  Wonderful writing.



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and commenting.  I'm pleased that you enjoy my writing and have taken time out to let me know.  I'm trying to keep up on this story and 2 weeks seems realistic at this point.  I made sure I had a few chapters ready before I started posting.  Brian is like a turtle in this one, slow and steady wins the race.

Reviewer: TrueIllusion (Signed) · Date: March 10, 2019 12:13 PM · On: Chapter 7- Mikey's Lament

Good for Brian on having the presence of mind to call his sponsor!



Author's Response:

Brian really wants to conquer sobriety and I think this will not be his first call to Justin asking for help.  Of course, asking for help is difficult for Brian so it will be interesting to see how he handles that issue.

Reviewer: ThatAj (Signed) · Date: March 10, 2019 08:17 AM · On: Chapter 7- Mikey's Lament

Just caught up on this! Really enjoying this twist and the slow build up of Brian and Justin actually getting to know one another. 

I can imagine Debbie showing up to babysit Gus so Brian can go to Babylon and smacking him upside the head. He made the right call here, not just for his sobriety!

I wonder what will happen to Brian’s friendships with Mikey and Lindsay as he gets sober. They both enable in different ways. 



Author's Response:

I'm so happy to hear that you are reading the story.  I'm sure that Alcoholism and drug use are close to many readers and it may trigger some uncomfortable issues.  Like you, I like the slow build and day to day examination of their lives.  Debbie's relationship with Brian runs hot and cold and I haven't decided how she will react to this new information.

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: March 07, 2019 03:16 AM · On: Chapter 7- Mikey's Lament

Michael is a turd.  He wouldn't help even if he knew.  Hopefully Justin can.



Author's Response:

Agreed.  Michael is really not in tune with Brian.

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: March 07, 2019 03:01 AM · On: Chapter 6- The Beginning

Coffee seems to be a diffinant theme.  At least they've learned anger is a trigger.

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: March 04, 2019 08:51 AM · On: Chapter 7- Mikey's Lament

I really like this story. Brian begins to see that many other people have the same reasons for drinking and are doing the right thing to stop. Of course Michael does not help but Brian is right not to tell him the truth at least for now. Let's see what Justin will find to move Brian forward. If you make updates every 2 weeks it's fine, I started to worry about LOL

Author's Response:

Thank you for your continued support of my story.  It is a little different from my traditional work, but I'm glad you are reading and enjoying it.  Brian has a lot to learn about his life and his sobriety.  It may be a long journey. Of course, that may mean a long story-  (lol)

Reviewer: Happy Gamma (Signed) · Date: March 04, 2019 02:22 AM · On: Chapter 7- Mikey's Lament

Great writing.  Oh, that Mikey, just makes me want to give him kick off a cliff.  You write his nasty personality so well.  



Author's Response:

I'm not a Mikey fan, but anyone who reads any of my work knows that.  I could really see him doing just what I wrote.  Thanks for reading and commenting.

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: February 18, 2019 09:05 AM · On: Chapter 6- The Beginning

We learn a bit more about Justin and Brian, too, with all that anger in him. Tonight Justin put him back on the right path. I hope they will continue to talk to each other. It's good that Brian can tell someone about his frustrations that are the basis of his alcoholism.

Author's Response:

Brian is beginning the long journey and thankfully Justin is willing to help him.

Reviewer: Happy Gamma (Signed) · Date: February 18, 2019 12:56 AM · On: Chapter 6- The Beginning

Great update.  Brian is opening up little by little.  Glad that he realizes he has a problem.  Knew a woman once who drank like a fish, all day every day, she denied it and even when she stumbled and slurred her words her husband acted like all was fine. Found out she paid her 16 year old niece to secretly drive her to the stores that sold alcohol.  The girl kept quiet since she was getting at least a hundred a week for driving. It was so sad, but she didn't want help.

Reviewer: Happy Gamma (Signed) · Date: February 18, 2019 12:56 AM · On: Chapter 6- The Beginning

Great update.  Brian is opening up little by little.  Glad that he realizes he has a problem.  Knew a woman once who drank like a fish, all day every day, she denied it and even when she stumbled and slurred her words her husband acted like all was fine. Found out she paid her 16 year old niece to secretly drive her to the stores that sold alcohol.  The girl kept quiet since she was getting at least a hundred a week for driving. It was so sad, but she didn't want help.



Author's Response:

Brian is admitting he has a problem, but he has a long way to go before he can feel comfortable going to his usual haunts.

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: February 16, 2019 03:44 AM · On: Chapter 5- A New Monday Dawns

Brian is smartening up.  He's doing this for Gus.  He has Ted and Blake to help him and now he's got Justin.  Sex will have to wait.



Author's Response:

Brian is a good dad and he's got to get his life in order.

Reviewer: TrueIllusion (Signed) · Date: February 13, 2019 01:17 AM · On: Chapter 5- A New Monday Dawns

I think he’s going to have a hard time getting Justin in the bed...ha. But I’m glad he’s starting to open up.



Author's Response:

I think Brian will have a hard time getting Justin in bed-  Justin doesn't want to hurt Brian's sobriety.

Reviewer: mrs_koki (Signed) · Date: February 11, 2019 06:47 PM · On: Chapter 5- A New Monday Dawns

I hope two things happen for Brian.

1) He stays sober and his family don't give him a hard time like Mikey and co are wont to do. At least he has Ted and Blake if they do.

 

2) Him and Justin can get to a place where being together won't affect either one's sobriety.

 

Yeah, that's how AA meetings and the program works. Some people who are recovering alcoholics have physical symptoms of their body recovering from drinking so much for so long. My Uncle on my dad's side didn't really have any, if my father's to be trusted on that score, but everyone's different.



Author's Response:

Eventually, he will have to tell the family about his sobriety and it should be interesting to see how they react.  I hope that Justin and Brian will eventually be able to work things through.  Thanks for writing.

Reviewer: Happy Gamma (Signed) · Date: February 10, 2019 05:40 PM · On: Chapter 5- A New Monday Dawns

Great writing.  Glad to see that Brian is making progress.  



Author's Response:

Thank you.  Brian is making progress and that is a good thing.

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: February 10, 2019 09:22 AM · On: Chapter 5- A New Monday Dawns

I think Justin is really the right person for Brian. Surely because he does not know Brian fucking Kinney and his past.

Author's Response:

It should be very interesting how the two of them will work together in the future.

Reviewer: Predec2 (Signed) · Date: February 03, 2019 12:09 AM · On: Chapter 4- Distractions

Hi, Sandy - I really liked this chapter, especially how Ted came to Brian's rescue, and how Brian took advantage of his son being at Debbie's to spend time with him and take his mind away from the alcohol.  Really enjoying this story!  Thank you for the update! ~Kim



Author's Response:

Kim:

So glad that you are enjoying the story.  It's definitely a little different than my normal spin.  It is AU but with canon thrown in a lot of time.

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: February 02, 2019 02:33 PM · On: Chapter 4- Distractions

Ted is becoming the best friend Michael thinks he is.  This will be a journey, but Justin just might be the answer to a lot of things.



Author's Response:

I'm hoping Brian can be patient enough to let Justin help him.

Reviewer: TrueIllusion (Signed) · Date: February 02, 2019 03:13 AM · On: Chapter 4- Distractions

Aww, some Ted and Brian time. Love that.



Author's Response:

Ted really steps up to the plate for his friend.

Reviewer: Lorma (Signed) · Date: February 01, 2019 09:19 PM · On: Chapter 4- Distractions

Ted is such a good friend to Brian.



Author's Response:

Not that Ted is repaying Brian for his friendship, but it is what Brian would do for a friend.  The tables are just turned.

Reviewer: sophiesmom (Signed) · Date: February 01, 2019 01:28 PM · On: Chapter 3 The Hook Up

Brian can't base his wanting to be sober solely on which meeting he may run into Justin. Maybe Justin should just come out and tell him no.

You must login (register) to review.