; Midnight Whispers :: QAF Fanfiction - Brian and Justin - SSL Encrypted
Midnight Whispers
QAF Fanfiction - Brian and Justin - SSL Encrypted
>
Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: February 07, 2019 03:26 PM · On: Chapter 17: Sharp Turn

Looks like they're going to get married.



Author's Response:

They're definitely going to get a domestic partnership! Same sex marriage wasn't legal in CA in 2006 so it's the closest they can get. 

Reviewer: cullengirl08 (Signed) · Date: February 07, 2019 12:38 AM · On: Chapter 17: Sharp Turn

Great chapter!!!   Yeah, poor Brian was put through and then put Justin through the ringer.   I know he’s taking all these meds, but Justin really needs to be more upfront with his doctors about his past medical history.   That is really important.



Author's Response:

He does need to be more upfront and also his doctor was rushing through doing a thorough assessment

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: February 06, 2019 09:01 AM · On: Chapter 17: Sharp Turn

It was a difficult chapter. Justin will have to talk about Prom. Both need to talk about it, they can not ignore the trauma that it has been. I hope Justin will be fine.Thank you for the update.

Author's Response:

Thank you for reading! It was a difficult chapter to write. Prom will always be a part of their relationship and of Justin's life. And yes Justin can maybe benefit from being able to know more of what actually happened. 

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: January 17, 2019 07:18 PM · On: Chapter 16: Exposure

Hi Sorry for the mistake about my comment ! I love the chapter Justin is coming forward and understands that Brian will do anything to support him and this therapist looks efficient

Author's Response:

No worries! I just wanted to be sure the author that deserved that comment got it! 

I'm so glad you like the chapter. Yes, this therapist is (finally) very good and, of course, Brian will do anything for Justin, which is one of the things I love most about them together. 

Reviewer: cullengirl08 (Signed) · Date: January 13, 2019 11:34 AM · On: Chapter 16: Exposure

Good chapter!!!   Justin finally figured out that Brian helped him a lot more than he ever realized after his bashing.    Recreating the dance in his living room, taking him to the garage to see if he remembered, standing there watching him walk down the street...   Brian has always been more about actions than words, and those actions were spoken in spades!!



Author's Response:

Brian helping Justin after the bashing is one of my favorite arcs in the series - Brian was so wonderful! And yes he speaks with actions not words. I have so much love for Brian. 

Reviewer: cullengirl08 (Signed) · Date: December 28, 2018 09:28 PM · On: Chapter 15: Finding the Horizon

Wow.   I'm so glad that Brian finally got Justin to go and talk with somebody, who hopefully, can help him.    This new diagnosis has really affected him, and hopefully, Regina will be able to help him manage it and even break through it.



Author's Response:

Yes now that Justin has a correct diagnosis, there will be more progress with treatment. Thanks for reading! 

Reviewer: bksbracelet (Signed) · Date: December 28, 2018 08:13 AM · On: Chapter 15: Finding the Horizon

Argh I need the next chapter 😡 Brian and Justin are on this constant emotional roller coaster of feelings.

Author's Response:

I'm glad you're so caught up in the story! I'm working on the next chapter, I promise!

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: December 26, 2018 09:36 AM · On: Chapter 15: Finding the Horizon

Great chapter. Really hard time for Justin. I hope the therapist can help him get rid of his fears and bad thoughts.

Author's Response:

Thank you! Yes, Justin can now get appropriate treatment. It will be very helpful for him. 

Reviewer: cullengirl08 (Signed) · Date: December 12, 2018 10:55 PM · On: Chapter 14: Closer

I do love a carefree Brian, and he really wasn't in Pittsburgh.  This is new territory for both of them - Brian away from the Pittsburgh family, and away from always being blamed for whatever it is they all feel the need to blame him for, and also for Justin, who hates that Brian gets blamed for everything, and also being in a place that he really feels comfortable.    



Author's Response:

Yes! California is going to be good for them in a lot of ways!

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: December 11, 2018 09:40 AM · On: Chapter 14: Closer

Ready for a new life. Let's see how life will be in LA just them 2

Author's Response:

They are so ready for a new life! 

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: December 06, 2018 02:50 PM · On: Chapter 13: In Just Seven Days

They got a lot done in seven days with a lot of compromising.



Author's Response:

Haha yes now that Brian is learning to compromise! 

Reviewer: cullengirl08 (Signed) · Date: December 06, 2018 01:47 PM · On: Chapter 13: In Just Seven Days

Good chapter.   And I really like that it was up to Justin in a way with the application approval for the studio space.   That will go a long way to help him feel that his contributing for this move and I really hope they get it.    And I liked Brian's comment that he can only seem to get decent office space if a Taylor was involed.   



Author's Response:

Taylors are the magic charm! The idea of needing Justin involved came to me as I was writing, it wasn’t planned at all, so I’m glad it worked out!

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: December 06, 2018 09:52 AM · On: Chapter 13: In Just Seven Days

I hope this is the beginning of another life together and that it will do them good. Let's see the move.

Author's Response:

I’m excited for the move too!

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: November 26, 2018 09:55 AM · On: Chapter 12: Start Spreading the News

This chapter made me laugh! poor Brian is not the day he imagined!

Author's Response:

I’m glad it made you laugh! I had a lot of fun writing it.

Reviewer: cullengirl08 (Signed) · Date: November 25, 2018 11:58 PM · On: Chapter 12: Start Spreading the News

Poor Brian, this was not a good day for him at all!!   LOL   Everybody was on to him and totally switched things up on him, and basically turned the tables on him!!    That totally never happens!!     



Author's Response:

Poor Brian - I had so much fun writing this chapter so I'm afraid for what might be in store for him in the future!

Reviewer: Predec2 (Signed) · Date: November 25, 2018 02:36 PM · On: Chapter 11: This is Not That Kind of Love Story

Hi, Amanda!  What a thoughtful chapter.  I loved this part: “Rain is good. The earth needs rain. Rain is cuddling up all cozy with tea and a good book. Depression is just fucking overcast, just clouds. No sun, no rain. No nothing.”  That fits my concept of depression very well.  It's a lack of joy IMO.  That is the worst part.  You 'exist,' you don't 'live.'

And I recall how Justin abhorred everyone babying him right after the bashing with all the endearments, but I had never really given a lot of thought to how being called "Sunshine" all the time afterward would create pressure on him to live up to his nickname.  Great exploration of that. 

I always admire writers who can create 3D OC's with their stories, too, b/c I think it adds depth to a plot.  Ana and Tori can see things from an outsider's perspective and be objective to what is going on. I think that's important, as well as Brian's continuing support of his partner.

Still loving this story and will always look forward to reading the updates!  Thanks for posting this on here.  And BTW, I'm glad you feel comfortable on the site. We are very fortunate to have you as a writer. Thank you. :)  ~Kim



Author's Response:

Hi Kim, Thank you as always for your wonderful feedback. I'm glad you feel I'm capturing the experience of depression - for as common as it is, there are so many misconceptions of what it's like to be depressed. 

I hadn't even really thought about the nickname Sunshine until I started writing and thought about if it would make sense to keep calling Justin Sunshine when he's depressed. But there was so much that happened in those moments at the jeep in the prom episode that I thought Brian must have a different perspective. I'm glad I was able to explain it while still keeping Brian in character since of course he wouldn't come right out and say what he thinks. Justin has to do a lot of interpreting for the reader. 

I'm glad you're liking Ana and Tori - having someone outside the Pittsburgh family is very helpful.

I'm loving the MW community and I'm so fortunate to have this encouragement in my writing. 

-A

Reviewer: cullengirl08 (Signed) · Date: November 24, 2018 12:24 PM · On: Chapter 11: This is Not That Kind of Love Story

Yup, Brian can deny, deny, deny all he wants, but he does love Justin.   But its true what was said in this chapter.   None their friends see that Brian has changed, and he has, in many ways.   And if Brian and Justin do decide to move, his friends will be the first ones to give him grief about it.     



Author's Response:

Brian’s denial is what makes him such an interesting character! It’s hard to write because I just want to spell everything out but that’s not him. 

Yeah I still need to figure out what to do about the friends and the move. That’s going to be rough.  

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: November 24, 2018 09:17 AM · On: Chapter 11: This is Not That Kind of Love Story

I love more and more Tori and Ana. I hope that even if they go to LA they will stay in the area.

Author's Response:

Thank you! I’m pretty fond of Tori and Ana. I’ll find a way to keep them in the story!

Reviewer: cullengirl08 (Signed) · Date: November 21, 2018 01:00 PM · On: Chapter 10: Of Dreams and Nightmares

Great chapter!!    I really liked how Brian and Justin talked through the whole LA thing and are still keeping it on the table, but doing more research about it.    That was a very smart thing to do.    But I loved how Brian was with both Justin and Molly.    He took a bad situation and calmed down Molly as well as Justin.    



Author's Response:

Thank you! Brian is a very good caretaker, behind closed doors. If only the rest of the family could see it. 

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: November 21, 2018 08:49 AM · On: Chapter 10: Of Dreams and Nightmares

Poor Justin his nightmares are terrible, despite everything he seems to be getting a little better. Let's see if they will continue to prepare LA.

Author's Response:

He is doing a little better. Baby steps are still steps!

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: November 20, 2018 09:46 AM · On: Chapter 9: Advice Unsolicited

OMG why is everyone involved in their business !! It's really irritating I hope they go to LA it will give them air.

Author's Response:

It is irritating! They clearly care for both Justin and Brian but don't know how to show it. 

Reviewer: cullengirl08 (Signed) · Date: November 20, 2018 01:59 AM · On: Chapter 9: Advice Unsolicited

Well, I certainly didn't see that last part coming!!   I wonder what the opportunity in LA is?    And I'm glad that Brian finally told Michael that the gang should just ask Justin about what he needs instead of just throwing ideas at him.   Now, if only Brian got the rest of the family in on in on that as well....   I give Justin a lot of credit - he sure has more patience than I would will all that.



Author's Response:

Haha and here I was trying to write Justin as irritable! I guess compared with Brian...

The family is trying...the have good intentions and they clearly care. I think Justin is able to recognize that caring ore easily than Brian is. 

Reviewer: Predec2 (Signed) · Date: November 18, 2018 01:52 PM · On: Chapter 8: 10 Minutes

Another great chapter, Amanda!  I really enjoy your writing style, and the way that you phrase things. But I also like how you convey feelings and emotion simply by  showing what someone does, like Brian holding Justin and humming while swaying with him (what a wonderful image that creates for me!).  It's very appropriate to write scenes like that in light of how Brian is always so hesitant to verbalize how he feels.

And again, you are keeping each character very accurate from the show in terms of their demeanor and their speaking. Great job on that!

Looking forward to the rest of this, and so grateful that you're posting it here. Thank you. :) ~Kim

 



Author's Response:

Thank you, Kim! Brian is always more physical in how he showe how he feels - he's a doer. It means a lot that you feel I'm keeping the canon characters in-character, it's not eaay! 

Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: cullengirl08 (Signed) · Date: November 17, 2018 09:26 PM · On: Chapter 8: 10 Minutes

Good for Justin.   And he is right.   Everyone in the gang doesn't ask; they just assme, and then never let you live it down.    And I like that Brian and Justin are becoming friends with Tori and Ana.   I think they are good for them. 



Author's Response:

I’m glad you’re liking Tori and Ana :) and yeah all that unsolicited advice is definitely a theme. 

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: November 17, 2018 03:09 PM · On: Chapter 8: 10 Minutes

Love how meeting Tori and Ana went.  That Ana is so much like Brian must have made Justin want to giggle.  I'm surprised that Justin didn't lash out at the gang for thinking that Justin was devistated about Brian going off.  I would have.  I suppose I shouldn't have been surprised that Ben noticed or that he felt the need to offer advise.  Depression hits everyone differently.  Great and enjoyable chapter.



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading! Sadly, I think Justin is somewhat used to everyone having an opinion of his relationship with Brian. And yeah many people with all sorts of illnesses get unsolicited advice - I'm glad that came through. 

You must login (register) to review.