; Midnight Whispers :: QAF Fanfiction - Brian and Justin - SSL Encrypted - Mobile
Midnight Whispers
QAF Fanfiction - Brian and Justin - SSL Encrypted - Mobile
>
Reviewer: Lupin111 (Signed) · Date: January 04, 2017 02:21 AM · On: Chapter 2: A New Important Standard for Banners

I need some help with the new banner size; when I make my banner in the new size (300 pixels high x 192 pixels wide), the resolution is fairly low.

See this example:

<img src="stories/767/images/two_loves_banner.jpg">

 

 

How can I work around this? Can the banner be to a larger ratio of 300:192?



Author's Response:

A larger ratio would lower the resolution, not increase it.

Email the banner as an attachment to me, at bob@midnightwhispers.net

I'll see what I can do for you.

Reviewer: NoChaser (Signed) · Date: September 02, 2016 01:10 AM · On: Chapter 2: A New Important Standard for Banners

I love the idea of vertical banners. Heading off to re-do my banners now! Challenges! :)



Author's Response:

Thanks Roni for commenting. I've been a raging fan of your writing and banner creations which are masterpieces and would love to see more of your work. And I fondly recall your "There's No Place Like Home" you did for me after a very difficult time for Whispers. That was so thoughtful of you. Once again, thank you for that.

The new website will be good for both horizontal and profile -vertical - book cover like images for our stories. We're going to have a popout window of the banner images that enlarges them for easy seeing and reading. On a PC you will click on the banner to bring up and take down the enlarged image. For mobile devices, one only has to tap the banner on their screen. I'm also suggesting saving your horizontal banners, and placing them in the Story Notes (provided we have one). Structure design is still in the backend of development at this time. Front end design comes later and conflicts with the script have to be avoided and could affect the final user interface we have. In that case the horizontal banners can go at the top of the first chapter. You'll have total control how your stories and images appear on the site.

I'm sending you an email with a request. If you love a challenge, this one might be very interesting and a lot of fun. I have no doubt regarding your skills with image editing.

(I recall hearing about AOL and email issues. Please contact me in the Contact Us button, and provide a good email address for you)

bob

 

Reviewer: jm c (Signed) · Date: August 27, 2016 02:11 PM · On: Chapter 2: A New Important Standard for Banners

Are you changing the website .let me know 



Author's Response:

Everything we have on Whispers now, we will have on the new website, and much more. The look, features, quality, function, mobile capabilities, software: Everything else will be new and outstanding for writers and readers alike. It's going to be incredible, beautiful, and exciting.

Reviewer: Website Wizard (Anonymous) · Date: August 27, 2016 06:51 AM · On: Chapter 2: A New Important Standard for Banners

I'm a front end developer with 10 years experience plus degreed, and have a very good idea what you're doing here. I won't go into details online but I'll say this is cutting edge website creation at its best. How you got around migrating all your data is the mystery. That had to be a huge challenge for you. Totally new SQL/PHP scripts needed. Even my back end developers at work said this was some real complex narley stuff. Good luck getting it to work on time. We would have loved to get this job but it would have cost you at least 20K with an ETA of 6 months.



Author's Response:

Thank you for not revealing trade secrets, Wizard. This is a huge job dealing with over 1GB of data to migrate. These guys are pros doing custom websites and transferring data over for big companies in real time.

There is software that will write code as you need for jobs and templates. I'm sure you have some of them at work. Still, yes this is a big job.

We got a better bid, thank God. We're not a website for profit.

And thanks for commenting professionally.

Do return and see the finished product.

Mid November hopefully

bob

 

Reviewer: tiger062 (Signed) · Date: August 27, 2016 02:36 AM · On: Chapter 2: A New Important Standard for Banners

I've been practicing banner making using photoshop and have been getting some pretty reasonable results. I like the idea of a book cover size - it will look great on my 7" tablet - so time to give that a go. I'm almost ready to be brave and offer up my services to writers who can't make banners - hmm scary....so in a small way I know what authors feel like - will people like it, will they think it's stupid - am I being an idiot......Well if authors can be brave so can I. Off to give book size a go.....

Author's Response:

You go girl!

Monica, that's the spirit. Once this takes hold it's going to be better images all around for everyone. If you look at all the most popular fiction sites online with banners or covers, they are all vertical.

And the more book cover images you do for people the better at it you'll become. Theme simplicity is required, and clear easy to read large fonts a must. Just imagine the cover of a book and how will it look on a kindle.

I'm waiting to hear from my development team about the pop out window of a larger image, by placing the mouse cursor over the image, or touching it on a mobile device. I don't want existing banners to suffer.

Thank you for commenting and getting on board.

bob

UPDATE: We will have popout windows enlarging the banners as described

Reviewer: Galesgal (Signed) · Date: August 26, 2016 12:16 PM · On: Chapter 2: A New Important Standard for Banners

oh that is awesome.   So they look like book covers.   That makes tons of sense.



Author's Response:

I am so grateful for a positive review about this, thank you very much! Change is always hard for people. In fact why are we changing the website at all? Let me use this review to answer that question.

When I became an admin for Whispers back in 2009 we had a huge following and reading audience online. The king was bjfic.net but they went under during a hosting transfer mistake, and that made Whispers the new top dog of QAF fan fiction. We were averaging 42,000+ unique global visitors each day. Today, we're doing good if we get 3,000 or 4,000 visitors. The harsh reality is: The Queer as Folk fan fiction world is slowly dying. With an anniversary of 13 years ago for the show, we've had a very good run. Usually when this happens, fan fiction websites just become ghost towns suddenly. Presently we have less than 14% of the reading audience we had back in 2009.

Changing today is a do or die situation for Midnight Whispers. For years this problem has been on my mind and I've been thinking what must we do to survive the coming changes and loss of readers? We must change.

What will happen to Whispers?

Gloria Gaynor knows the answer.

 

"I will survive."

 

Reviewer: TheGirlNoOneKnows5 (Signed) · Date: August 26, 2016 10:31 AM · On: Chapter 2: A New Important Standard for Banners

What if we have already pre-made banners for future stories in the rectangular shape?



Author's Response:

I expected this to be an issue with our new website. However, with so many people going mobile vertical banners is the only thing that makes good design sense.

I'm going to try and get pop up windows that make banners/images larger when you hover a mouse over them, or touch a screen on a mobile device.

With vertical banners like a book cover, we can get six novels on a single row of a wide computer screen. We maximize the screen real estate that way, too.

See how effective this is at: https://www.wattpad.com/

That's the most popular, best designed fiction website online to date.

And since we're going to have kindle reading ability, vertical banners will be a must. We plan for authors to decide if readers can download their stories to a kindle reader, however they can do it now with apps available.

For example: http://www.fanfictiondownloader.net/webversion_kindle.php

We're at least 10 weeks from going live with the new website. I'm letting everyone know about this issue way before they see it. And hope to give our authors time to prepare for it.

Our other changes will not be painful, in fact, just the opposite.

Thank you very much for your question.

 

 

Reviewer: Marny (Signed) · Date: August 26, 2016 09:54 AM · On: Chapter 2: A New Important Standard for Banners

It's a lot smaller than my previous works (500x200) * sigh *. Hope I can used to it. Practice .. practice .. practice.

Guess I'm one of the few who read on the computer/laptop, only on vacation I use my mobile phone.

 

* hugs *



Author's Response:

Greetings Marny,

I'm getting the worse news out of the way now. I promise all the other changes will be thrilling and fun.

To get an idea of how good this banner outlay looks on a mobile phone, go see: https://www.wattpad.com/

If you're not a member, scroll down to see some novel's banners.

There is a method for our madness. I respect our authors to get this news out there as soon as possible, and maybe, just maybe, I can add a pop out window to enlarge the banners with a mouse hovering, or a touch.

I have to ask my design team if we can do it within budget. We could go like LJ with small banners, just avators like fanfiction.net, or no banners & images like AO3. Instead, we wish to give a superior visual experience for our readers to enjoy. And we can't get around the fact that most people will be using mobile devices in the future, so website design has to conform to their needs.

Banner changes are a tough pill to swallow, but you have my word that it's going to be worth it, and our other new features will be incredible and easy to use.

Future Fun level: Amazing!

Reviewer: Terri (Anonymous) · Date: August 26, 2016 08:27 AM · On: Chapter 2: A New Important Standard for Banners

I thought you might change the look and some things but I'm starting to believe this is a major overhaul of the entire website. Me and my friends who read here are really looking forward to what will happen. Will I have to join the site to enjoy the new stuff you will have here?



Author's Response:

Let me just say, the only thing original we'll keep is our database of members, authors, bio pages, stories, images, reviews, and custom pages. Everything else will be totally new and completely compatable with all mobile devices and browsers. A nonmember can come and read without joining, however to truly enjoy the new experiences we're going to provide, will require being a member. New features opens up our new website to security concerns and membership will be required to access those features. Thank you for the question. Once the new website is live, you're going to want to join Whispers, Terri. It's going to be amazing.

 

You must login (register) to review.