; Midnight Whispers :: QAF Fanfiction - Brian and Justin - SSL Encrypted - Mobile
Midnight Whispers
QAF Fanfiction - Brian and Justin - SSL Encrypted - Mobile
>
Reviewer: addict_writer (Signed) · Date: February 12, 2017 01:36 PM · On: Chapter 14: Major Developments with the new Website

WordPress is the best invention ever!

I really can't wait to see the new website and start using it to its full capacity!



Author's Response:

Please excuse my tardy response. Someway this one got by me. Yes, WordPress is amazing and there seems to be no limit what can be accomplished with it in time. However, turning a blog software into an archive for a zillion stories and members is no small accomplishment. However, we are well on our way to getting there. Thank you very much for your comment.

 

bob

Reviewer: Teinisydan (Signed) · Date: February 11, 2017 05:59 PM · On: Chapter 14: Major Developments with the new Website

The site just kicked me out and I apparently commented as Anonymous. I wrote the question about when will the site be ready below :D.

 



Author's Response:

Sorry about that. This software, efiction, can at times be a bit touchy for members and admins. This is just one of the many reasons we're going to a WordPress based site, and joining the 21st Century online.

Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous) · Date: February 11, 2017 05:57 PM · On: Chapter 14: Major Developments with the new Website

Thanks for the update. I've been thinking for the past couple of days if I should ask about the progress because I was just so curious. Do we know how long will it be until the new site is finished and ready to go? Can we get an estimate of months maybe? 



Author's Response:

I wish I could give you a good answer to that question. The fact is we don't know. The project proved to be far more complex then expected. We're already about 2 months behind schedule, and it was not avoidable. We have the best development team money can hire. It's just a big job dealing with all new, and very creative concepts in website design. WordPress is excellent for fan fiction/social media, but it was not designed for such a website. We're literally creating one from scratch.

Once we have a website that works with WordPress plugins, the designing and changing in the future will be very easy. But at this stage everything is done in code, and that takes time to write, and make it work perfectly.

If I had to make an educated guess, we might get to the point of going public during March to June. That is based on the current level of difficulty we're experiencing now building it, and the massive amount of code that has to be changed in the WordPress core structure with each new bug that comes up or feature we add.

However, the website is taking form, and we can see that success WILL HAPPEN!

I'm pretty sure the wait will be well worth it.

Thank you for your comment.

bob

Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous) · Date: January 27, 2017 08:45 PM · On: Chapter 1: Imagine the Best Fan Fiction Website Possible

Hi, I'm not really a writer, just an loyal reader! I was just wondering why a lot of the banners for the author yvonnereid has suddenly disappeared. I don't want to sound like a pain or anything but the banners was on of the things I enjoyed the most! I have tried to send emails before but for some reason I never get a reply. If you could just let me know what's going on that would be great because I am considering joing this website and I would like to have all the information possible-including why banners sometimes disappear. Thank you!



Author's Response:

Hello 'Anonymous',

It seems almost all of the images for Yvonnereid are stored with the outside URL of PhotoBucket, and the account has expired. Whispers provides free images' storage for about 50 pictures/banners/images per member. However, some members still decide to use an outside storage medium. That is going to possibly cause lost images when we switch to the new website which will only migrate the images stored in our Whispers' image folders.

If you have banners and images on an outside image storage site, we urge you to save that image to your computer, and load it into your image folder here at Whispers. Then replace your banner with the stored version in the MW image file for your account.

I believe one of our admin staff will try to contact yvonnereid and see if something can be done to fix this. Thank you for commenting.

~bob, tech support

For members to store images:

Go to Account Info > Manage Images > Upload New Images. Best to be in jpeg format.

 

Reviewer: Michelle Kinney (Signed) · Date: January 19, 2017 01:35 PM · On: Chapter 13: Important Image Details, and first Look at New Website Demo

Hi, Thank You so much for letting us. I'm already loving the way the site is going to be. 



Author's Response:

You're most welcome, Michelle. These images give an idea how things will be. We're planning to improve on them. Thank you for commenting.

~bob

Reviewer: addict_writer (Signed) · Date: January 15, 2017 12:27 PM · On: Chapter 13: Important Image Details, and first Look at New Website Demo

This was really helpful! Now I'm even more excited about the new website! I can't wait for it to go live! :)



Author's Response:

You're preaching to the choir. We can practically taste the success; it's so close to being done. I can't put a date on it, since we might hit another wall that delays us, again. Thank you very much for commenting.

Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous) · Date: January 14, 2017 11:10 PM · On: Chapter 13: Important Image Details, and first Look at New Website Demo

A big thank you for everything you are doing to preserve a safe space for all of the fiction. Looking forward to the new WordPress format. WordPress really is easy to use and I say that as a person who is not particularly tech savvy. Thanks, too, for keeping us informed along the way. Glad to have the instruction from the videos, etc., too.

Author's Response:

Thank you for commenting. This has truly been a labor of love and we're getting very excited as our hopes and dreams become reality as each new feature gets added to the demo. The complexity of our new website may take longer; however, the end result will be nothing short of amazing. I'm hoping to do demonstration videos later - once I have a fully functioning website to work with; we have a video software that lets me create videos from live screen shots on the computer, thus I can show members how to access and take advantage of the many features of the new site, then post them on YouTube. Well, that's the plan if I have time. We appreciate your support.

~bob, tech support

Reviewer: Lupin111 (Signed) · Date: January 04, 2017 02:21 AM · On: Chapter 2: A New Important Standard for Banners

I need some help with the new banner size; when I make my banner in the new size (300 pixels high x 192 pixels wide), the resolution is fairly low.

See this example:

<img src="stories/767/images/two_loves_banner.jpg">

 

 

How can I work around this? Can the banner be to a larger ratio of 300:192?



Author's Response:

A larger ratio would lower the resolution, not increase it.

Email the banner as an attachment to me, at bob@midnightwhispers.net

I'll see what I can do for you.

Reviewer: Dioramanya (Anonymous) · Date: November 30, 2016 02:50 PM · On: Chapter 11: New Release Date for SSW Media

When I want to read some QAF fiction, here is my first stop. I like the warm atmosphere. I don't know what is it but I enjoy it. The screen is a light blue that doesn’t hurt my eyes. The words police isn’t crazy. There aren’t gay male porn ads all over the page because I’m in QAF fandom.

I have nothing against changes and it feels more like improvement. It's really good. I'm excited.

What about tags? I love tags. They make my life so much easier but sometimes it's too crazy. Will you give a panel of tags to authors to use or will they be able to create their own? I hate when I find stupid tag like "love banana" "because I said so" or whatever (archive of our own) :(

It would be easier to have a guide of all the tags for everyone to understand what they mean because:

Brian Kinney & Justin Taylor: it means to me “friendship

Brian Kinney / Justin Taylor: it means to me “love relationship

Brian Kinney x Justin Taylor: it means to me “love relationship

It may not be the same for others.

Being able to select what I want to read is great but it would be awesome to be able to select what I DON'T WANT to read. For example: “BDSM” is ok but “Rape” isn’t.

 

Another question: Would it still be alright to leave comments without being members?



Author's Response:

Thank you for commenting, Dioramanya.

The appearance of a website is very important; it should be attractive but not complex and busy. Easy on the eyes and certainly, easy to read is a must at the minimum. Our design for the new site takes all this into consideration.

We'll continue to use simple easy to understand tags, and they are customized for each fandom they are a part of, too. And authors can request new ones which we will seriously consider adding should they serve the theme of clear simplicity for our readers.

We do plan to allow anonymous reviews; however, if we are attacked by either a human or robot - troll or spam event, we withhold the ability to turn off for a period of time, anonymous reviews until we get the bad event under control.

You should join us now. You only have to give a pen name, and good email address which is held totally private and never shared with anyone. It's our only way to verify you are you, when contacting us. There's going to be a great number of features and benefits for our members in the new website, and joining now will gain the designation of a "Founding Member". Once the new site goes live, no one else will gain that honor again.

~Bob, Tech Support

 

 

Reviewer: starfire64 (Signed) · Date: November 01, 2016 06:19 PM · On: Chapter 8: The new website is StarShip Whispers

Hello No 8her : ) Thank you, we are very happy you like the website :  ) as one of the admins on here I’m just adding to what Bob said below. The new site will be for anyone above the age restriction who wants to join, it’s won’t matter what your sexual orientation is. As Bob said, not everyone on here is gay; many of us are straight, married women, including myself, but please be assured, the only thing you WON’T find on the current site or on the new one are haters, we have zero tolerance for that sort of thing. I have two friends on here who are gay men and they are both very dear to me : )

Janet - admin



Author's Response:

Mom's talking; time to listen. Thanks, Janet.

Reviewer: No 8her (Anonymous) · Date: November 01, 2016 04:30 PM · On: Chapter 8: The new website is StarShip Whispers

A friend tweeted me about ssw.media. After seeing the video and doing a google search I found this website. Is the new website going to be for gays? Need to know just because. Besides that, the website looks real good. The info doesn't say for gays but I want to be sure. Is everybody gay here?



Author's Response:

Thanks for your comment No H8er. Actually the overwhelming majority of the members here are women, straight, married, mothers and grandmothers who get a kick writing about the gay characters of the famous hit cable TV series on Showtime: Queer as Folk. The show's characters are very complex and tons of fun to read and write about.

Because of the software we're using, we couldn't make a decent mobile website from the main website. This software is so old it was before the boom in mobile Internet viewing. Add to that the fact that 70% of Internet private users today are doing it with mobile devices, we had to change to stay up with the times. When we researched how to fix this, we realized how easy it would be to create a website for everyone and not just writers and readers. This website is called fan fiction, where fans of a favorite show or movie will write about the characters and create their own stories. Most fan fiction stories are totally straight, too.

There's lots of fan fiction sites online about almost every show or movie made. Harry Potter, Twilight, Criminal Minds, and Game of Thrones are very popular fan fiction stories, and there are many more. So were going to have all kinds of fan fiction stories on the new website someday. However, it's very possible that original and nonfiction writings could dominate the new website in time. But it won't matter, because each main set of stories will have its own private media section for stories, art, photos, fan stories, and more. A great deal of planning has gone into the future growth of SSW.

Imagine a city the size of London, that's actually a collection of thousands of individual villages. That is what our new website will possibly become.

Anybody 13 years old and older can be a member of the new StarShip Whispers website. There's going to be teen and adult stories (novels) too. Teens will be restricted from the adult stories until they come of age.

The new website will be for everyone. From casual people to professionals and everyone in between. It's a fiction site like Wattpad, a social media, blog and fan fiction site like Live Journal, a social media site like Facebook and MySpace, and a hosting site providing free websites for our members - Websites they can make custom changes to as desired.

So the new website is for everyone and certainly not just gays. However, a few might slip in under the radar, and you probably won't even notice them :-)

Regards,

bob, Whispers Tech Support

 

 

Reviewer: jm c (Signed) · Date: October 23, 2016 08:43 PM · On: Chapter 1: Imagine the Best Fan Fiction Website Possible

Thank you for answering my question 



Author's Response:

You're welcome.

Reviewer: jm c (Signed) · Date: October 23, 2016 04:51 PM · On: Chapter 1: Imagine the Best Fan Fiction Website Possible

What the name of the new website 



Author's Response:

Presently the name is midnight whispers.

Could that change later, yes.

Would we be announcing something that big in just a review, no.

Soon we'll address this issue in the announcement.

Very clever to expect a name change for such a different website.

Reviewer: jm c (Signed) · Date: October 23, 2016 04:48 PM · On: Chapter 7: Well, the cat's out of the bag!

Will I be able to keep my user name and passward



Author's Note

Yes, everyone keeps the same user name or pen name, and the same password. If you wish to change your user name, just send us a notice from the same email address so we can prove it's from you.

Reviewer: PA Boi (Signed) · Date: October 19, 2016 03:02 PM · On: Chapter 7: Well, the cat's out of the bag!

As a non geek, I'm not sure I understand everything you talk about but I am very excited about the new website and all the improvments and additions that will be available to all of us.  Thanks for the forward thinking.  Bill



Author's Response:

Heah Bill! Good to hear from you. That's the beauty of using the WordPress core. You don't have to be a geek, or know any code, to use it. The user interface is very easy to learn and use. And I promise if something looks difficult to you, that's only because it's new. Once you get into it the usual comment is: "WOW, that's so easy!" It only looks hard until you learn how to do it. I remembered how intimidated I was the first time I looked at Windows 1.0 and wondered if I'd ever learn what to do with it. Then soon it was clear to me how easy that software was to use for a great many things.

If that Windows example showed my age, I'll go one further. I first learned how to use a computer using DOS at work in the early 80s, and using the command line. Now, that was a challenge.

Thanks for commenting.

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: October 19, 2016 02:31 PM · On: Chapter 7: Well, the cat's out of the bag!

Lucky me, I never got any e-mails.  LOL.



Author's Response:

Hello Yum, well a lot of people did. We really didn't want all those details revealed yet, but when life gives you lemons, you make lemonaide. Thanks for commenting, my friend.

Reviewer: Alois (Signed) · Date: October 07, 2016 04:59 PM · On: Chapter 6: Special Message for our QAF Readers & Writers

Wow. I said it before, this is so exciting! As YumYumPM said, if you need any help with anything, I'm here too. And LOL, I'm familiar with tickets on a sofware project, so I'm laughing just imagining how long it is now. Also, you probably have included it already, but I was thinking about having a list of person willing to beta or make banners which would be easily available with direct contact and maybe a description of the project the writer wants to subject, or the person is willing to do. You already have one, but maybe this one could be more interactive and well... I need to think more. Not sure I'm clear here, ha!

Anyway, as always, a huge thanks for all your work. And really, if you need any help, don't hesitate to contact me, too.



Author's Response:

Hello Alois,

So good to hear from you. I have to hand it to our software engineers. They needed degrees in Psychology to put up with me these past few months including their technical skills. I kid you not, the ticket is massive, but they don't let on one bit.

Regarding beta work. I'm pretty sure I got the feature to work up a new chapter in Google Docs, and instantly download it into an author's profile/story. You and the author can work on a new chapter at the same time. Such a .docx file can also be loaded from a private computer, or a Dropbox account. Therefore, no more copy and paste with formatting issues to follow. It will even import images and store them in an author's image folder, too.

Kimberly will soon be intouch with you regarding more ideas.

bob

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: October 07, 2016 04:42 PM · On: Chapter 6: Special Message for our QAF Readers & Writers

Anything I can do to help just let me know.



Author's Response:

Heah! Be careful what you wish for; we may be in need of editors when the new website happens to help with the number of people who may need help with how to use it, and help with their stories, etc.

We'll also need folks who can do basic coding that can assist members with establishing their profiles. Thanks for offering, Yum. Will stay in touch.

bob

Reviewer: PA Boi (Signed) · Date: October 07, 2016 02:37 PM · On: Chapter 6: Special Message for our QAF Readers & Writers

Everything sounds very exciting.  Looking forward to all the new changes and improvements.  Thanks for all the hard work!!!!  Bill



Author's Response:

Hello Bill!

Good to hear from you buddy. I've lost count the number of all nighters I've pulled working on this project. The project ticket is nearly the length of a Dickens' novel. I've stopped counting features for the new website at 20. We have a super team of software engineers putting this together while doing several projects at once - like an assembly line. They've moved past the planning and design stage, and are in the creation and customization stages. Then they will move a copy of our extensive database of information to the new software, and handle any bugs that need to be zapped. Once they're happy with it, we get to see it, beta test it, and add images and final touches to it, before we go live to the public.

We too, are extremely excited for the new Whispers website soon to be. It's going to surprise a great number of people.

~bob

P.S.  I got a draft card in my pocket with your name on it ;-)

Reviewer: addicted-to-romione-bedward (Signed) · Date: October 07, 2016 11:52 AM · On: Chapter 6: Special Message for our QAF Readers & Writers

sounds amazing! Can't wait to see it.



Author's Response:

We can't wait to see it, too. The Creation and Migration Team has it now, and hopefully we'll soon get it for the final touches before going live, and performing beta testing, of course.

Some customized features might delay the website past the Nov. 11th projected date; however, if that happens I'll create a special update chapter to let everyone know.

~bob

 

 

Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous) · Date: October 02, 2016 04:32 PM · On: Chapter 5: New Website Details

So you are saying that if I don't join I have to say I'm of age in the new web site each time I want to read a QAF story for adults? But if I join I won't have to do that? If I join you will have my birthday and email address. Can you trace my idenity with that? I'm excited about the new website but afraid to join anything to protect who I am online.



Author's Response:

Thank you for your response. These are good questions. All of us needs to be concerned how much information we share online.

First let me say, usually most people don't give their real names. They use a pen name or a user name, or a moniker.

Secondly, the only people who can see your email address on Whispers are admins. We never share our email list with another party. We would provide an email address to law enforcement if requested. That's the only exception. We have to have a current email address to insure when you contact us for any reason; we can verify it's really you writing to us. For example, if someone writes to us saying close your account, we would make sure the message is coming from your registered email address before closing your membership. And later on, we might provide a special email service in the Whispers Social Network that is never data mined or sold to advertisers. Unlike Facebook and MySpace, we will never compromise the privacy of our members for profit. Setting up a private email service for our members will be a huge and complex job, and we'll look into it after getting the new website online and working well.

There's a loophole here you can take advantage of right now. If you join before the new website goes online, you don't have to give us your birth date and will be grandfathered in so to speak. And those who give us their birth dates on the new website at registration, can opt out of receiving public notices of a Happy Birthday message; therefore, the public can never see when you were born.

I'm going to look into labeling all existing members when we go live with the new website: "Founding Member". This will honor the people who were with us in the beginning of the new Whispers experience.

It's impossible to trace who you are with just your email address and birth date. Someone can find your IP address with an email but it only tells the address of your Internet service provider. Mine shows an area over 60 miles from me. And a birth date without a proper name is useless.

UPDATE: Your review got us to thinking that we really don't need birth dates. We may just say anyone 13 y/o or older can join, and ask if they are 17 y/o or older at registration. Those under 17 will be restricted until they tell us they have reached 17 y/o. We need legal advice on this matter before making a final decision.

I hope to have answered your concerns. Should you have further questions, feel free to contact me with the Contact Us button in the top menu below each header/banner at the top of each Whispers page.

~bob, admin, tech support

 

 

 

 

 

Reviewer: jm c (Signed) · Date: October 01, 2016 08:26 AM · On: Chapter 5: New Website Details

Will this link stay when you open the new site will I be able keep my user name and password on the new site and can you send me a link thank you I look forward to the new site and I also like this site was well jm c aka Jill



Author's Response:

When the new website goes live you'll be directed straight to it from this URL address. Your user name and password will be the same. We expect existing bio pages will also remain intact. All members, stories, reviews, and images will be saved and migrated to the new software. We obtained the assistance of a professional development team to replace the engine (software so to speak); however, all the data will be preserved.

This software has served us well. The time has come for a major upgrade to gain better security, many more features, and a terrific new look, and functionality. Our new mobile experience should be far superior to the best we can do with this software.

We've gone all in to make the new Whispers the very best at the beginning it can be. Thank you for your comment, jm c.

~bob

Reviewer: jm c (Signed) · Date: October 01, 2016 08:26 AM · On: Chapter 5: New Website Details

Will this link stay when you open the new site will I be able keep my user name and password on the new site and can you send me a link thank you I look forward to the new site and I also like this site was well jm c aka Jill



Author's Response:

Answered above.

Reviewer: rainbow (Anonymous) · Date: September 09, 2016 02:31 AM · On: Chapter 4: The Latest News on 9.3.16

I hope that the improvements that are about to arrive to MW fix the problems that I have when I access to the site through my mobile phone (Samsung pocket neo). They are:

1) I cannot post a review because the security code doesn't work. I always get the "Try again" message.

2) Bookmarking of chapters or stories. I do it for reading them later, but when I choose the bookmark I go back to the homepage.

3) If I am reading a story and I have to go to twitter (for eg) for a few minutes, when I want to come back to the chapter, I go back to the page that shows all the chapters and not the one I was reading. 

Anyway, progress is good.

What a pity that the category "Abandoned" was removed; for me it's not the same as incomplete (which are likely to be completed in the near future). In my opinion, perhaps authors should finished posting a story before posting the next one; in that way the stories would be updated quickly and would not fall in the category of "Abandoned". 

I hope I made myself clear; English is not my first language. Thanks



Author's Response:

Hello rainbow,

I'm told by our development team that the new website will be 100% functional on all mobile devices and with all browsers. When our present software was created it wasn't built with mobile function in the design. Thus, we have many issues with phones, especially. I have an IPhone 6, and have trouble with that one, too. We're expecting a huge improvement with the new website. Thank you for a very good review. And your English was excellent.

bob

UPDATE: Parts of your comment I failed to answer.

We expect all functions to be working with the new website. We're going to have a special feature that will take you to the page you were last reading on each story your following.

The incomplete (abandoned?) category wasn't popular with authors. And anyone can just see the last date a story was updated and get an idea if it will be completed. However, I've seen authors come back after 2 years and continue a novel.

Reviewer: starfire64 (Signed) · Date: September 07, 2016 11:14 PM · On: Chapter 4: The Latest News on 9.3.16

Luisa, please contact one of the administrators, either myself (starfire64), predec2, or Bob on our profile pages. You will find a contact button right next to our names.  For legal reasons we are not able to publish the link but you may contact one of us.

Janet - starfire64

You must login (register) to review.