Midnight Whispers
QAF Brian and Justin Fanfiction
Reviews For Love-by date
Reviewer: cullengirl08 (Signed) · Date: December 20, 2020 06:08 PM · On: Part II. Brian

This was a great little story.   I'm very happy that Brian finally figured out the truth and started to talk with Justin about everything that has been going on.  Communication is the key.    I'm just glad that Justin forgave Brian and they are now working on making things work in their relationship.  



Author's Response:

Thank you so much!) I'm happy you liked it - I usually like writing stories with more complex premises, but Brian and Justin can have so much angst because of the simplest things, it's fascinating. 

Reviewer: coleamber (Signed) · Date: July 13, 2019 11:40 AM · On: Part II. Brian

Great story



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for all your comments, I'm happy you enjoyed my stories!) 

Reviewer: Juditka (Signed) · Date: April 06, 2018 08:44 PM · On: Part II. Brian

I'm happy that the guys could finally get rid of the misunderstandings. This is a beautiful story, I really liked it. I'm happy to have read it. Congratulations.<br />



Author's Response:

Thank you so much, I'm so happy you enjoyed this story! And I could never give Brian and Justin anything but a happy ending, I love them both so much)) 

Reviewer: Lisajean (Signed) · Date: June 07, 2017 09:54 PM · On: Part I. Justin

Hi Katrin!


This story is written so well.  I have felt so many emotions reading this.  My heart bleeds for Justin :(  You really know how to bring on the angst lol


Okay off to read the next chapter. I am crossing my fingers that all works out.


Lisa



Author's Response:

Hi, Lisa, thank you so much! I'm glad you liked the story - and yes, I live for angst! Will a happy ending, though :)

Reviewer: tonton (Anonymous) · Date: March 29, 2017 11:59 PM · On: Part II. Brian

Very enjoyable.  I love the angst and the make-up.  Very moving.



Author's Response:

Thank you, I'm glad you enjoyed the story - I'm also a big fan of angst and of happy endings :)

Reviewer: Moderator (Signed) · Date: August 07, 2016 09:41 PM · On: Part II. Brian

Seeing how well received this story was compelled me to take a closer look. I'm glad I did. A very beautiful tale. You are indeed eloquent, and deserving of blue ribbon status.

Thank you for posting on Whispers.

 



Author's Response:

Wow. I'm leaving for a few days right now, so I decided to take a quick look at the comments and here's this. That was such a fantastic surprise to see that two of my stories have recieved blue ribbons! Thank you so much, I don't even know what to say. I'm blown away from your words and from response to my last story - and I'm so happy and flattered that you enjoyed both of them. Thank you! 

Reviewer: soirsagrey (Signed) · Date: March 02, 2016 03:12 PM · On: Part I. Justin

Hiya,

Just read your story and I need to say: Stunning, absolutely stunning. Such depth of feeling and fantastic use of a language that isn't your first. You had me in tears halfway through the first part and I kept crying till the end. The despair Justin felt was so intense. And let's not forget Brian, he got himself into deep trouble.

The end of the story was so gorgeous. The two back together and as much in love as they were when they started their relationship.

Thank you for sharing this story with the readers. Off to read more of your stuff. Good luck on your book. If this story is an indication it will be a blast to read.

XOXO

Soirsa



Author's Response:

Hello, Soirsa! Thank you so much for your wonderful, sweet words, you made me blush. I wanted to make the plot a little different at first, but then characters had it their way, as it often happens :) I truly believe that love can last a very long time, and Brian and Justin were the ones who proved it to me with their unique relationship.

If you choose to read my other stories, I hope you'll enjoy them as well :) Thank you again, dear Soirsa, you made my day with your comment! It's always so fantastic to hear readers enjoy your work, especially after publishing an original. Thank you!

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: September 27, 2015 06:07 AM · On: Part II. Brian

Well that worked out really well.  Is this from one of Deb's bunny plots?



Author's Response:

No, I actually got an idea after reading 'Stitches' by yoursweater :) It's a great story, but unfortunately, it's an abandoned WIP. I was devastated when I realized it, that story ended at such a cliffhanger! I wanted to explore the idea, even though in the end things didn't go the way I had planned.

Thanks again, I'm so glad you enjoyed this!

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: September 27, 2015 05:50 AM · On: Part I. Justin

Wow,  such intensity.  I know that marriages get like this, but is Justin actually seeing what he thinks he's seeing in their relationship?



Author's Response:

Hi!:) Thank you for your comment - I remember that you already read this story and commented on it once, so it's especially flattering to see that you liked it both times :)

Reviewer: Aliada (Signed) · Date: November 09, 2014 11:34 PM · On: Part II. Brian

You know, I just couldn't believe my eyes when I saw this story submission from you! I was dreaming about it so long! It was such an amazing surprise :)

I truly liked your writing style, plot, wonderful description of feelings and incredible dynamics you managed to express so brightly and alive. I just couldn't tear my eyes off this story! That were really unforgettable moments.

Actually, the situation you described in the beginning seems to be ordinary – unfortunately – but not in the Brian and Justin's case. To tell the truth, I felt so sad while seeing Justin's desperation. It was so real, so touching – I had a really hard time trying to convince myself that it must be an explanation for Brian's behavior. He was so cold and rude that I've nearly lost any hope for their happy future together. It was such a huge tension here! I literally could feel how the cliffhanger was coming. Really – it wasn't difficult to understand that Justin wouldn't tolerate this weird – offensive – attitude of Brian any longer. And – I just can't help but admiring Justin because of that. Even if Brian really made this decision - that seems to be impossible at all - Justin wouldn't hate him and – more than that – he would continue loving him. I believe that the only true feelings can be so deep – whether the chosen 'directions' are equal or different. 

And I didn't expect this to be AU at all. It was such a pleasant surprise :)  The way Brian and Justin met, fell in love and built their relationship is amazing. I loved every line of it! Brian's desire to protect Justin from troubles, to keep him safe and this rude manner at the same time... I enjoyed it so much! It was really painful to see that Justin got hurt, but when Brian saved him, when Justin showed him all the devotion and love he felt, I couldn't really decide what to do – cry or laugh! And all these funny moments you described are so beautiful! I can hardly say how much I enjoyed it. 

Brian and Justin's conversation is a really right thing to do. They needed it so much. They both are so in-character here! I liked the way Brian apologized – it was so touching and truthful. And when Justin said that he needed some time alone... Honestly, I didn't have any doubts concerning his decision, but despite that I just couldn't help worrying because of all this tension between them. 

And one more thing I would like to notice. I truly loved Justin's thoughts about Brian – especially the part where you describe Brian like a good boss :) I don't know why it impressed me so much, but I couldn't help re-reading this several times. Really – it's such a pleasure to see that Justin knows Brian so well. 

The epilogue made me completely happy – although I wouldn't mind reading this story endlessly :) It is such a relief to see them together, knowing that they've finally found the right way to go. 

Thank you once again for this work of art! I'm going to re-read it a few more times, though I doubt then I'll ever get enough of it - anyway :) 



Author's Response:

Hi, Vlada! Your amazing, incredible review has absolutely made my day – I’m still shocked, because I don’t remember ever receiving such a long and detailed comment, not even in our HP fandom. Your ability to highlight all sides that you liked, describe the emotions you felt is astonishing – I’ve read this review for three times already and every time I blushed!:)

 

Thank you for your beautiful words, I’m so relieved and happy you liked this story. You know your opinion means a lot to me. Especially thank you for liking Justin – since he’s my most favorite character, I always hope to portray him right. Brian is more difficult to write, though – and to tell the truth, at first I didn’t even know I was going to include Adam arc in here. I thought initially just to show a couple who once loved each other incredibly, but who, after so many years, have lost some of the magic in their relationship. But Brian and Justin decided to go their way – and I’m grateful for that, I like this version much more than the previous one.

 

Oh, I love how you just notice absolutely everything!:) Everything I wanted to write most, like protective Brian in his usual push me/pull me manner. I love school/college AUs, so I couldn’t help writing my own short version. I’m so happy you liked it!

 

I also wasn’t planning to write the epilogue, but it felt necessary. As always I’m glad I did :) I’m constantly surprised at how characters dictate me what to do instead of the other way around.

 

Since your English is so good, maybe you’d also consider writing a B/J story?:) I’d be on cloud ninth with happiness, I love your style and the way you observe people’s characters and motivation.

 

Thank you again – I doubt any words would be sufficient to express how I felt reading your thoughtful, amazing comment. So just – thank you :)

 

Hugs

 

Katrin       

 

  

Reviewer: driada (Signed) · Date: November 05, 2014 04:07 AM · On: Part II. Brian

WOW ... just WOW! Just read the whole story in one go and cried and laughed and cried again while reading it. I even read some parts out loud for several times. I couldn't help myself! I love angsty stories, I totally emerge myself in them, love to relive every emotion portrayed in them with the characters. And this one is so well written I'm speechless. Thank you for such an amazing gift. Can't wait to read more of your creations.

Author's Response:

Hi!:) Thank you so much for your wonderful, emotional comment, you made me blush terribly!:) I'm so happy you liked it. I love angsty stories as well, I rarely read something without angst in it, so it means a lot to me that you liked my story - so much that even read some parts out loud! Wow. Just - wow :)

Thanks!

Katrin

Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous) · Date: October 25, 2014 12:30 PM · On: Part I. Justin

Beautiful well written story



Author's Response:

Thank you!:) I'm very glad you liked it!

Katrin

Reviewer: RiCa20 (Signed) · Date: October 24, 2014 07:27 PM · On: Part II. Brian

Hey Katrin!

When I finished reading it, I had one phrase in mind - "What a Beautiful Story". It's such a nicely woven story, having just the right amount of angst and the just the right amount of romance, just the right amount of description and dialogue. I loved how it didn't end with sappiness or some cheesy twist to make it all better. It's very mature. It was realistic, it was to the point and I just fucking loved it.

My heart dipped straight into hell when I finished reading the first chapter. The heart ache was real. The next chapter was just full of surprises. After reading Brian’s side of the story, I felt myself feeling lighter. Brian trying to hurt Justin back with Adam, ha – I could imagine Brian doing that. The apology, I laughed out loud when I read about Brian googling to find ‘the most creative ways to apologize’. Haha, I suddenly saw myself for a second there (I usually do that for birthdays). Also, I actually was kind of expecting some clichéd grand apology scheme that he might have planned for Justin in order to reverse the diverse.

But what you wrote was a million times better. The climactic scene fit perfectly like strawberries and chocolate sauce and it made me gooey inside.

I love how you write, period.

Consider me a fan for your work.

P.S I will reply soon as I can. (Also caution, Master’s Toy is kind of sick, not as sexy as it might sound. You probably wouldn’t stop if you start though. Can I also quickly point out that I laughed my ass over when I read the first paragraph of your email :D)

*Hugs*

 

Pranavi



Author's Response:

Hi, Pranavi!

Wow, thank you so much for your fantastic review - you made my day!:) I didn't expect you to reas this story, especially so soon - I know how busy you are.

I'm *so* damn happy that you liked it! Your opinion is extremely important to me. 'Mature' and 'realistic' are probably the best compliments I could have hoped to get - it was my goal to make just a simple, ordinary, realistic story. Without some earth-shattering events or unusual twists - althougth you know how in love I am with interesting concepts, like in your brilliant story. But I had an idea and wanted to explore it :) I didn't know half the events when I started writing - it was all coming to me gradually, like pieces of puzzle coming together slowly.

Yes, I, too, can imagine that Brian would react like this in this kind of situation. He is emotionally closed, maybe not so much after living with Justin for so many years, but still. He always hated 'meaningful conversations', so I think he would just lash out, without talking, just feeling.

Actually, it was me who was looking for 'most creative ways to apologize' for Brian :D But I decided all of them were clichéd and cheesy for a couple like them, and the best way would be just to talk - really talk. Being sincere. I'm glad you liked it! And you made me blush with your beautiful words, which is rare, so I thank you aditionally for this :*)

I finished Master's Toy!! But I did have to stop once, because there was a moment that almost made me vomit - and definitely spoiled the food for me for entire day!:) Later I'll tell you *all* about it :)

Hah, I knew you would laugh - I was laughing myself, recalling the expression on his face when his dreams were shattered! What a brat. Now he's lost interest :)

I'm looking forward to your reply! And thank you, again, I really appreciate that you took time to read and review this! 

Hugs,

Katrin

 

 

 

Reviewer: Jean (Anonymous) · Date: October 09, 2014 05:04 PM · On: Part I. Justin

The English is great. Just a tip, we say I want " a" divorce not " to divorce", and we would say "Your're in Art club" not "you go to Art Club".



Author's Response:

Hi - thank you so much for mentioning it! Another reader has already pointed out the 'divorce' mistake, I've just corrected it, but I never thought it's 'to be in Art club' instead of 'go'. I appreciate your mentioning it! It's really sort of eye-opening experience - I would never pay attention to this kind of mistakes.

Thanks!

Katrin   

Reviewer: Fi B (Anonymous) · Date: October 08, 2014 04:23 AM · On: Part II. Brian

Very entertaining story and well written. You're written English is excellent and doesn't need any more editing than your averag fic. Still, the influence of a good beta is worth it's weight in gold so I recommend finding a beta if you can.



Author's Response:

Oh, thank you so much for your words! I'm glad you enjoyed the story, and thank you for mentioning my English. I'll be looking for beta for my fics in future, but since it's nearly impossible to find someone to edit the original book, I wanted to make sure I sound more or less okay :)

Thank you again!

Katrin

Reviewer: zsadistwhore (Signed) · Date: October 08, 2014 12:22 AM · On: Part II. Brian

Okay, so I'd figured out that Brian actually hadn't stopped loving Justin (I say figured out, I read your summary) but I hadn't figured out the reasoning behind Adam and the two years after marriage. It hadn't occured to me that Brian would suspect Justin of cheating (stupid Ted for putting the idea in his head), but it makes total sense. Especially as canon!Brian was convinced most of the time that Justin would leave him for someone "better".

And this, right here, is exactly why communication is so important in relationships. And thankfully your Brian isn't as stubborn as canon!Brian, and a bit more selfish, and knows a good thing when he sees it and does everything he can to keep from losing it.



Author's Response:

Hi again!:) Yes, I wanted to write something AU, but also keep some of the main Brian's - and Justin's - canon characteristics. I wasn't planning on writing about Ted, though, but he just came to me with his statistics and demanded to give him a chance to talk about them :) I thought it'd be a good idea.

Yes, Brian is indeed selfish, and he also loves Justin with all his heart, so of course he couldn't let him go like that. I enjoy angst, so I decided communication topic was a great solution :) Besides, I'm crazy about high school/college AUs, and this plot gave me an opportunity to explore them a bit.

I'm happy you liked the story and let me know about it. Thank you so much for that - and again, for pointing out my mistakes to me!

Katrin 

Reviewer: zsadistwhore (Signed) · Date: October 07, 2014 11:49 PM · On: Part I. Justin

I apparently managed to sign myself out whilst attempting to submit a review, so I'm not sure if the review was actually submitted or not. So here's attempt number 2.

Firstly, your English is so good. A beta reader might be benefical, mainly because you have made some minor mistakes (which are predominantly using the wrong word or missing out a word ("I want to divorce" should either be "I want a divorce" or "I want to divorce you". And in your first paragraph, it should have been "came to the realisation" or "came to realise")) which don't detract from the story at all, but it might be helpful to you to know what the mistakes are and how to correct them. I've actually noticed when a non-native English speaker makes these types of mistakes, it's because they're using their native language word order/phrasing and might not actually realise it's different in English. But I repeat, overall your English is ridiculously good, you're an amazing writer (I'm actually jealous) and it's better than dozens of native English speakers' writing.



Author's Response:

Hi! Thank you so much for your wonderful - and helpful - comment! I absolutely agree about beta reader - for my future fics I'll gladly look for someone, but the problem was, it's almost impossible to find someone who would edit an original book for free, while I couldn't afford to pay - dollar costs a ridiculous amount of money in my country. So I wanted to know if it's okay to publish a raw version, and now I know it is, I can finally relax :)  I was really worrying. 

Huh, the mistakes you've mentioned shocked me! I never thought it's 'a divorce' or 'to divorce someone' - you're right, in my language we say just 'I want to divorce', so I autimatically assumed it was the same in English. Thank you so much for pointing it out!  

Thank you again, I'm very glad you liked the story - and my writing style :) It means so much to me!

Katrin

Reviewer: Predec2 (Signed) · Date: October 07, 2014 11:34 PM · On: Part II. Brian

Hi, Katrin! Finally had a chance to sit down and read the second part.  I'm thrilled to see someone else, BTW, who writes really long chapters, too - ha! This was great. You gave us plenty of ups and downs, and showed how a misunderstanding can have such dramatic repercussions with those involved.  Loved how you did not tie it all up with a pretty bow, so to speak, and make it easy on them, but still eventually reached a happier place in the end. I enjoyed the angst in between. :)

 

I do hope you will write more stories here in the future! And I'd like to personally thank you for all the support you give me and so many other writers on here. *Hugs*  ~Kim



Author's Response:

Hi, Kim! Yeah, I planned originally to write only one chapter, but the story kept getting longer and longer. And I just can't write/read stories without angst!:) That is why I love yours.

I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Thanks for commenting!

Katrin

Reviewer: Flossee (Signed) · Date: October 07, 2014 01:15 PM · On: Part II. Brian

Hey Katrin :)

"But as for the ending being very unique... now you made me worried I chose a rather ordinary plot".  I agree with you now I have read the whole fic; you have chosen something which has been expressed before in numerous fics, yet you have done it very well.  I think I misunderstood that you were only asking about mistakes from your native language to English and not about the story plot. 

As you mentioned you are hoping to write a novel and since we all know these characters well and expect certain behaviours from them I was wonder whether you had a fic that might go under the "Original Fiction" category.  I ask this because you would need to establish new characters and to write a novel an original plot would be needed.  I think this would be a great site to help you gauge how you are going in both these areas as we would have to open ourselves to new characters and storylines.  To explain what I am talking about I refer to the way Jane Austen described Mr. Darcy in Pride and Prejudice; "drew the attention of the room by his fine, tall person, handsome features, noble mien" there is no overdoing the physical attributes of the man, yet there is enough to swoon over. LOL  You would need an ability to describe individuals, but not overly so.  Well you get what I'm saying, and I think the words "original plot" speak for themself. 

Now, to your wonderful fic. :)  I really enjoyed the emotions, misinterpretations of events and the way these men display their love or neglected to display it.   I was extremely happy to hear Adam never meant anything to Brian, as you know my feelings on Brian/others.  Your review answer to me was very profound.  I have never really analysed why I felt that way about these men and yet you voiced it so well.  Brian; "I believe he's the one-man man type, he either loves one and the same person forever, or he doesn't love anyone that way."  Justin; even though you didn't write this I believe he was always open to love and could love another, yet I sort of agree with this statement also, "but, I also think he would never love anyone like he loves Brian."  Thank you for those words.

Good luck with your aspirations and please stay safe.  I hope your country's turmoil ends and your life can return to its normal state soon.

Cheers :)



Author's Response:

Hi, Flossee! Thank you so much for the time you've taken to write your lengthy review, and for your words :) Actually, I have almost finished my original book. I've been writing originals long before I even realized there was such thing as fanfiction, so I know about their refinements :) Jane Austen's example you've mentioned is amazing - I love her style, though I've made a mistake and read her books in translations first. In *bad* translations! It kind of ruined Pride and Prejudice for me, now I'm gathering strength to re-read it in original. As for me - it's rather easy for me to think of unusual plots, characters and their backgrounds, but there are a few things I do have problems with. Like, it's very difficult for me to describe sex-scenes in English :) And kissing. Considering I've read tons of B/J fics (meaning tons of sex descriptions), I still can't find it in me to write about something like that, and to make it hot. Well, I've sort of managed to do it in my book, but it was HELL, and I've writing it for a week, consulting with other books and people's advice! I guess I can only go on trying - maybe practise will change it.     

I'm so happy you liked the ending of the story! I really took a very ordinary plot, and there are a few reasons for that. It really annoys me when people start telling no one can live a lot of years together and still love each other, so I suddenly wanted to write something that would show it *is* possible. Time changes relationship, yes, but it doesn't always destroy it. I know a few couples who've been together forever, and love still shines in their eyes every time they look at each other. They inspire me. And I totally believe Brian and Justin's love will go this way - they made me believe in forever.

Then, I'm also addicted to college/high school stories, so I really wanted to write about it without making a story multi-chaptered :) Giving flashbacks seemed like a good solution. I decided to try and show Brian and Justin's relationship throughout a long period of time, giving a brief description of every five or so years.

I'm glad you liked my story, and thank you so much again for commenting - and for your wishes! I really appreciate it!

Katrin

Reviewer: bksbracelet (Signed) · Date: October 07, 2014 12:44 PM · On: Part II. Brian

Wow great story a perfect mixture of angst and romance thank you

Author's Response:

Oh, thank you for such a review!:) I'm happy you liked the story. Angst and romance are my most favorite combination, so I'm very glad you think I've managed to convey that :)

Katrin

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: October 07, 2014 04:43 AM · On: Part II. Brian

I am so so happy that they ended up back together.  You had me worried.  Wonderful story!



Author's Response:

Thank you!:) So glad you liked it. I could never leave Brian and Justin apart in the end - if some idea comes to me and I think I won't be able to realistically get our boys back together, I just don't write it and try to forget about it. There are a lot of shitty things in life, so I believe someone like Brian and Justin deserve happiness in any universe. They are an amazing example of what real love is.

Thank you!:)

Katrin

Reviewer: JAZZEPOET (Signed) · Date: October 07, 2014 02:25 AM · On: Part II. Brian

What a poetic ending :) I love how even through the worst of times, they managed not to throw it all away...stellar job my friend!

Btw: best of luck with your book ;)

Author's Response:

Thank you so much!:) I'm very glad you enjoyed it - I loved the idea of showing that after many years together a lot of things can change, but not love, if it was real from the start.

And thank you for your wish - I also hope my book will get some attention :) I know it won't be much since it's my first, and many people are wary of new authors, but after a few years I hope I'll manage to achieve something.

Thank you, again!

Katrin

Reviewer: confused_bliss (Signed) · Date: October 07, 2014 01:34 AM · On: Part II. Brian

Oh, Katrin. I am rendered completely speechless with this final part. This is pure brilliance. In fact, the best thing I have read in longer than I can remember. Everything came together with such clarity as Brian's story was revealed. I knew Brian had to have a reason for his behavior. Whether he was right or wrong, and we know which now, jealousy is such a destructive emotion. It nearly cost him what mattered to him the most. Thankfully, it did not! 

This was an amazing read, my friend, from start to finish. I was pulled in immediately. Your write them both so well, keeping them in their canon characters. That is definitely to be applauded! I do hope this is just the beginning from you. Without a doubt - you have a tremendous gift. Thank you once more for this wonderful story. It is a treasure. :) 

*Hugss*



Author's Response:

Hi, Janet! Wow, thank you so much for your wonderful review :) I'm so happy you liked it, I was looking forward to your opinion, especially on the ending. Brian is usually more difficult to write than Justin - maybe because I feel closer to our blond. Yes, jealousy can be a terrifying ruining force - it breeds insecurities, distrust and pain. Brian and Justin are lucky to save their relationship, it would be such a waste to ruin it over one big misunderstanding. Brian did act like an asshole, though - but I guess it's inevitable that partners start to believe they won't ever be left, and start taking their second-halves for granted. Luckily, Brian and Justin managed to carry their love through so many years, and in the end it helped them to get on the right track again. 

Thank you so much for your comment, Janet! I'm so grateful foro your support!

Katrin

Reviewer: shf1210 (Anonymous) · Date: October 06, 2014 11:28 PM · On: Part II. Brian

They talked they fixed love it of cours a flash to that baby or babies would be nice....



Author's Response:

Hi!:) Yeah, I thought about making a flashforward to baby, but then I felt it would be wrong, considering the main focus of the story is Brian and Justin and the relationship between two of them. Having a baby would be a new, interesting experience for two of them, it would bond them even closer, while I wanted to show they could be perfectly happy just on their own, even after so many years together. 

Thank you for your comment, I'm glad you liked the story!

Katrin

Reviewer: JAZZEPOET (Signed) · Date: October 06, 2014 10:22 PM · On: Part I. Justin

Justin hadn’t even taken the time to really hear Brian out. But at the same time, why would Brian treat him so coldly?

Author's Response:

Yes, Justin was definitely wrong in not letting Brian talk - for the second time, by the way. If he'd known the truth behind Adam, all of this could have been avoided. But who knows, maybe it's even for the better :)

Thanks for your comment!:)

Katrin

Reviewer: nicolle_midnight2013 (Signed) · Date: October 06, 2014 09:58 PM · On: Part II. Brian

Hello, Katrin! 

As told you in my previous comment, your story is simply amazing! I'm sorry if I'm being repetitive. 

The lack of communication between the two was affecting your relationship and leading them to make decisions that would repent after losing all that built up over twenty years they were together. 

I was happy to see Brian look for Justin and to be able to talk about their feelings. That was very gratifying. 

I loved how you brought Brian and Justin to talk about what was bothering them, to clarify all the issues who was upsetting their relationship and realized that their relationship and their love is far more important to the two than anything else. 

Your story was wonderful and I hope it is just the first of many others that you will publish. 

A big hug from Brazil, Fatima.



Author's Response:

Hi again, Fatima!:) Thank you for the second great comment. I'm very glad you liked the ending! Yes, it would be ridiculous to lose twenty years of life together just because some things were interpreted wrong - Brian couldn't let Justin go without talking to him first, without explaining everything. Maybe it's good Justin decided to leave him, because who knows how much time they would have wasted otherwise. Brian needed a serious kick to make him take a look at his beahvior, to make him realize he was hurting the person who is the most important to him. Still, they are both at fault: Justin should have listened to Brian - Brian wanted to tell him about Adam when he was proposing. He also tried to tell everything when Justin asked for divorce. So they almost lost everything because of their stubborness - fortunately, no they won't make the same mistake again. 

Thank you again, Fatima!:) I appreciate your comments so much!

Katrin

Reviewer: nicolle_midnight2013 (Signed) · Date: October 06, 2014 09:08 PM · On: Part I. Justin

OMG! That is so awesome! 

I just loved what you wrote. It is so intense, true and deep that I can only fully agree with you on every line. 

The lack of communication and isolation are largely responsible for the end of all relationships, whether a romantic relationship, a friendship and even professional relationships and you was perfect in the transcription of all this lack of communication that relationship deteriorating even so full of love . 

I believe you refuse to talk to people who are in your life and let a lack of time and other issues like the rush of daily life, work and the lack of availability to the other, may lead people to create assumptions and feel bitter towards others and make rash decisions that they will later regret. 

His story is perfect in all these aspects. 

I love Justin unconditionally and hate to see him suffer in the stories. So I hope he's wrong about Brian. I can not see and understand how Brian would give you the feel for Justin because of another person, even in an AU. However, I can understand Justin being involved with someone else. I can not explain it. Maybe something to the personality of the two. I see Justin more available and open to the feelings of that Brian, for this reason I see him having feelings for other people, but Brian will always be your love, your soul mate. As for Brian, I see him being able to give your heart to only one person and that person no matter how many other people do not agree with me, for me it's just Justin. 

Anyone who reads my stories can realize it easily.

I do not know if I'm being clear (I do not speak English and use a translator to write). 

I hope you get a great success with your book. 

A big hug from Brazil. 

Fatima.




Author's Response:

Hi, Fatima! Thank you so much for your amazing review! I completely agree with you, lack of communication tends to destroy relationships in most cases. My parents had the similar experience - they let work take too much of their time, they became basically strangers. Luckily, they managed to save their marriage in the end.

I also love Justin immensely :) More than anyone else in QAF, although Brian does come close. And I absolutely share your view on their relationshp - I also believe Brian could never love anyone else romantically, Justin is 'it' for him. Same goes for Justin, though I do see him sharing bits of himself with another person. Still, never in the way he does with Brian.

I've downloaded your stories on my E-book a week ago, by the way, so I really can't wait to read them :)

Thank you again!:)

Katrin

 

Reviewer: XPO787 (Anonymous) · Date: October 06, 2014 08:42 PM · On: Part II. Brian

Very intense fic. I'm happy that in the end they managed to stay together.



Author's Response:

Thanks!:) I couldn't envision any other ending, Brian and Justin have been through so much together, they've lived through practically everything and it only made them stronger. So even though their relationship suffered from miscommunication, the damage wasn't irreparable. Maybe Justin's still carrying some hard feelings, but I'm sure it will pass with time.

I'm glad you liked the ending!

Katrin

Reviewer: hideandseek (Signed) · Date: October 06, 2014 08:42 PM · On: Part II. Brian

I love your story, brings me tears when seeing them confessing to each other and glad that they got back together. And seriously your English is just perfect! Please write more?? =)



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for such a wonderful comment, and for your words! I'm so happy the story touched you, and that you found the ending emotional enough. I'm sure I'll write something else, though not right away :)

Thanks for your support!

Katrin

Reviewer: ANDROMEDA (Anonymous) · Date: October 06, 2014 08:15 PM · On: Part II. Brian

Loved the second part too, of course.



Author's Response:

Thank you!:) The second part was a little more difficult to write. I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Katrin

Reviewer: ANDROMEDA (Anonymous) · Date: October 06, 2014 08:15 PM · On: Part I. Justin

Hi there!!

It was a lovely surprise to see a story from you. I knew it will be good, since your reviews are always elegantly and so well written,  mine seem typed and written by a blind monkey. I can't believe that english is not your first language. I was unable to see the difference between your story and english speakers one.(Probably because my english is not that good lol).

Loved it. I hope we will see more stories from you.

S.



Author's Response:

Hi, Andromeda! Oh, you're too hard on yourself - I always enjoy reading your reviews to different stories, they are clever and respectful, even when you don't like something, and your English is pretty good :) Thank you so much for your comment! I'm so glad you liked the story. I don't plan to write anything in the next couple of months, but if some idea strikes me, I won't have a choice :)

Thanks again!

Katrin

Reviewer: Alois (Signed) · Date: October 06, 2014 05:45 PM · On: Part II. Brian

Hi Katrin!

Brian can be pretty stupid sometimes ;) Not sure I would have been as conciliant as Justin is but these two can't obviously stay away from each other. I really enjoyed this story, you are really a talented writer! I can't wait to read more of you. And you're writing a book? Interesting...:)

With this story, I also understand why you would have difficulties with the fic I write. I understand completely your point about Brian being a one true love kind of man (even if I know it's a funny thing to say coming from me lol!)

so again, congratulations on this great story! I really hope you will continue to grace us with more of your work in the future! * Big hugs from France *



Author's Response:

Hi, Alois!

Yeah, sometimes it's so easy to come to the wrong conclusions. Brian should have stopped and really think for a moment, but, well... :) I usually love when one character tries to deserve forgiveness of the other for a long time, but here it just didn't seem possible. They've been together for too many years, and basically Brian's worst mistake was his reluctance to share the truth with Justin - and, of course, the way he was taking everything out on him. It's not worth ruining twenty years of relationship over it.

Thank you for your comment, I'm glad you liked the story! As for the book - yes, it's nearly finished, but it's hetero. You can't imagine how difficult it was to write a male/female romance after years of reading and writing mostly about Brian and Justin!:)

I always believed Brian could never love anyone but Justin in this way... at least in canon. I guess I'll just have to think of your story as of AU to really enjoy it, because it would be a crime to miss something written so beautifully just because one of the story lines bothers me :)

Thank you again!

Katrin

Reviewer: Alois (Signed) · Date: October 05, 2014 01:32 PM · On: Part I. Justin

OMG... I really love this. Miscommunication can be the worst for people in love for such a long time. Love is not easy, it's hard work and you convey that perfectly. And at the same time, their love here is so palpable it's amazing. I can't wait to read Brian's part and reasoning. Thank you for this great chapter :)



Author's Response:

Hi, Alois! Thank you for your comment - I feel like I know you a little because I've been obsessing over your story for a couple of months. I've read all comments you recieved, I read a few parts here and there to know you have a beautiful writing style, but I absolutely can't stomach big Brian/Other emotional commitment, so I've been trying to get the courage to actually read it all this time :) I still haven't, but I feel at the end of rope already - I just can't stay away from well-written B/J angst. So you'll probably hear from me soon :)

Again, thank you for your review! I agree, miscommunication is a serious problem, like in this situation. Justin has made his own conclusions and decided to break up with Brian before listening to him. On the other hand, he *had* tried to talk to him, but Brian'd been too busy to take him seriously, to realize Justin's patience was evaporating. Now it's up to him to decide whether he should fight for Justin or not. I hope you'll like the second part!

Thanks!

Katrin

Reviewer: shf1210 (Anonymous) · Date: October 05, 2014 02:41 AM · On: Part I. Justin

I needed a good cry you gave one. What's next I need to know



Author's Response:

Oh, thank you!) I'm very glad the story touched you. The next chapter will be posted tomorrow :)

Katrin

Reviewer: jax (Anonymous) · Date: October 04, 2014 05:41 PM · On: Part I. Justin

Great Story! I think there is more going on with Brian that Justin does not realize. I read that this story only has one chapter left. Maybe you can make this into a longer story??



Author's Response:

Thank you!:) Yes, there is definitely something going on with Brian that Justin still has no idea of. We'll see it in the next part. 

As for the story being longer - believe me, that one remaining chapter is long enough :) We'll see Brian's version of different events, his motives, and then how he'll try to explain everything to Justin to get him back. Maybe there will be also an epilogue, though. I'll probably write it tomorrow.

Thanks again for commneting!

Katrin

Reviewer: Tiggerchihuahuas (Anonymous) · Date: October 04, 2014 04:27 PM · On: Part I. Justin

I absolutely loved this chapter and can't wait for the next one!  You are a very talented writer!!



Author's Response:

Oh, thank you :) I'm happy you liked it! The next chapter will be up in a few days.

Katrin

Reviewer: bksbracelet (Signed) · Date: October 04, 2014 02:07 PM · On: Part I. Justin

Wow that was so intense I can't wait for the final chapter

Author's Response:

Thank you!:) I'm very glad you liked it! The final chapter will probably be posted on Monday :)

Katrin

Reviewer: Carol (Anonymous) · Date: October 04, 2014 12:54 PM · On: Part I. Justin

Feels like there's something else at play here that has yet to reveal itself .. I'm intrigued. Update now please :)



Author's Response:

Yes, some information has not been revealed yet - we'll see it in Brian's part. As for the update - I think I'll post the next chapter on Monday, because today I'm a little busy and I'll be able to edit the last part only tomorrow :)

Thank you for commenting!:)

Katrin

Reviewer: Flossee (Signed) · Date: October 04, 2014 11:00 AM · On: Part I. Justin

Hey Katrin :)

Welcome to MW.  I can see you are an established writer and even if you hadn't mentioned LJ I think it is obvious you are an experienced author. 

Firstly, I love the name of this fic.  I love smart titles and this is definitely one.

Secondly, okay I won't keep numbering them. LOL  I love AU's and when I first started reading this I hadn't noticed the AU category; I was so happy when I realized it was.  Yay.

This is very well written, but if someone offers to beta for you take them up on it, as you learn so much from betas.  Either being one or having one. 

I hate fics where Brian cheats and goes off with someone else as my favourite character is Justin and I hate seeing him hurt.  However, Justin can have other men.  I know that's wrong, but that's how I feel.  LOL  In saying that though I am enjoying this fic and I think it has to do with the way you are writing it.  I adore fics/chapters that start at the end and then work through how it came about.  You are very talented and I am enjoying your work.  Please tell me it is a B/J happy ever after. 

Good luck with your book.  Also, because of your credentials I look forward to something very unique for a conclusion to this fic and I'm sure I won't be disappointed. 

Cheers :)



Author's Response:

Hi, Flossee! Thank you so much for your words - you made me flush :) I do write a lot, but only a few things are published - I usually prefer writing in copybooks, for my own eyes only.

Additional thank you for mentioning the title - I've been racking my brain over it for hours, and then suddenly came up with this idea. I wasn't sure how it sounded to native speakers - it's difficult to gauge things like that, but I hoped it'd be okay :) As for beta - I have one for my Russian stories, and I know there are a lot of wonderful people on MW who would gladly help me, but I wanted to know how many mistakes I make. In my country it's impossible to find a person who would beta my original book in English - they take very big money and there's no guarantee they are skilled enough, and I couldn't afford anyone from native speakers, because dollar costs a lot in Ukraine, now with the war especially.

I love AU's as well! Actually, I love everything - even post-513, though I was very careful around those before. Just like for you, Justin is my favorite character - I love Brian as well, but Justin is that special something, I'm crazy about him. So I can assure you, there is no Brian/Other big romance, although he did have sex with Adam repeatedly. His reasons will be revealed later, in his part of the story. I completely understand why you feel it's okay for Justin to have other men while for Brian it's not, I feel the same :) Of course, in AU everything can happen, but I just can't imagine Brian ever falling for someone else emotionally. Especially in canon. I believe he's the one-man man type in this case, he either loves one and the same person forever, or he doesn't love anyone that way at all. Justin, on the other hand, can get involved with someone else, but I also think he would never love anyone like he loves Brian. The kind of love they have is unique, and for them, I can actually believe in forever.

Most of their difficulties will be resolved in the end - I can't stand unhappy endings, I love Brian and Justin way too much :) But as for the ending being very unique... now you made me worried :) I chose a rather ordinary plot, so I can't say there is something very special about the second part and the conclusion. I can only tell you that Brian's part will prove how much he loves Justin, even though he's being an asshole.

 Thank you again!:)

Katrin   

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: October 04, 2014 06:38 AM · On: Part I. Justin

Your English is very good, but I'm wondering, does Brian not realize how he's treating Justin or is Justin delusional?



Author's Response:

Thank you so much!:) As for your question - I think it's a combination of both. Justin really doesn't know a few very important things, while Brian is so absorbed in his own problems that he stopped noticing how much he hurts Justin. They have to finally talk and to listen to each other!

Katrin 

Reviewer: Predec2 (Signed) · Date: October 03, 2014 11:51 PM · On: Part I. Justin

Hi, Katrin - got a chance to read it now. Loved it! Love the angst, and you have just the right amount of mystery to make me definitely come back for the next part. Now I'm dying to know the story behind Adam and why Brian behaved the way he did toward Justin. I'm hoping that he has a good explanation for his behavior, because he definitely is being very nasty toward the man he professes to love. I have confidence, however, they you will get our boys straightened out before you are throught.;)  As for your English, I think you're doing great! Very, very minor things here and there that don't detract at all. I think you definitely write better than some native English writers I have seen, even.  I do hope you write some more after this.

 

Thanks again for posting, and feel free to PM me with any questions or if I can be of any help. *Hugs*  ~Kim



Author's Response:

Hi again, Kim! I'm so glad you liked it - I was really looking forward to your opinion. I appreciate it so much! Brian does have his reasons, although they are still questionable. The biggest problem they have is miscommunication - so much pain could have been avoided if they had just talked!..

I'd love to write something else - but my problem as a writer is that I just can't write short stories :) I truly admire people who do that - my shortest one is 30 pages. It's annoying, because now, with my book, I don't have time for multi-chaptered fics. Though I think I'll be posting something every once in a while - when longing to write B/J story will get unbearable again :)

Thank you so much for your comment, my friend! Your support means a lot to me. I hope you will also like the second chapter!

Katrin

Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous) · Date: October 03, 2014 10:35 PM · On: Part I. Justin

this is amazing - and your English is perfect!



Author's Response:

Oh, thank you so much for your words - I seriously needed them :) Glad you liked the story!

Katrin

Reviewer: stella (Anonymous) · Date: October 03, 2014 10:30 PM · On: Part I. Justin

Hi  ! I love this chapter. Very strong, intense story… Heartbreaking. I'm sure Brian doesn't cheat on Justin and that the reason of his behaviour is very "dark". I love this character.

But I "hate" you for not publishing the complete story already ;-) Don't let us wait too long before posting the end, please please please…

And congrats for your english. I'm French and I'd be incapable writing such a story in good english.

 



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for your review!:) I'm so happy you liked the first part - I hadn't tried writing in this style before, so I was worried. I promise the second chapter will be posted very soon :) I still have to edit it, and I also was curious to see what readers would think about Brian's behavior and his reasons for it.

I'm studying French now, by the way - and I love it, beautiful language. It's amazing how love for Queer as folk has brought us all together!:)

Thank you again! I hope you'll like the last part as well. And you're right, Brian's cheating may not be as simple as it looks like ;-) 

Katrin

Reviewer: Frayach (Anonymous) · Date: October 03, 2014 10:12 PM · On: Part I. Justin

I had no idea you're a writer!  How exciting!  Very much look forward to reading this story and others :)



Author's Response:

Hi!:) I haven't expected to see your comment, I know you prefer to reside in AO3, so it's a great surprise :) I've been writing for a long time, but only in Russian. I thought about trying to write a B/J story in English, but I didn't have any particular idea - that is, until now :)  I hope you'll like it. Thank you for commenting!

Katrin

Reviewer: sabyya (Signed) · Date: October 03, 2014 10:06 PM · On: Part I. Justin

I'm loving it and sorry to say either Brian is cheating or not his behavior with Justin isn't acceptable. And that shit with Adam ....errr I'm boiling. 



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for the comment! And yes, I agree, Brian's behavior isn't acceptable, although Justin may not know some things. They'll need to discuss everything calmly if they want to save their relationship. Situation with Adam is ambiguous, but Brian does have some serious explaining to do.

Thanks!

Katrin

Reviewer: lily (Anonymous) · Date: October 03, 2014 10:05 PM · On: Part I. Justin

looks interesting, can't wait for an update

Author's Response:

Thank you!:) The second part is already written, but I do need to edit it a bit.

Katrin

Reviewer: confused_bliss (Signed) · Date: October 03, 2014 09:06 PM · On: Part I. Justin

Hello, my dear friend!

First of all, I think your English was great. I found myself absorbing every word! I like how you told this is in segments. I felt you wrote that so vividly that I could see them as their relationship progressed. And, I don't have to tell you that I like how you gave our Brian that gritty, intense edge. I hate when writers over romanticize him. That is just not Brian Kinney, whether he loves Justin or not - which we know he does. It's fine to soften him up as his love for Justin matures him... but, constant fluff from him is just too much for me. Of course, in our own talks, I know that is not a line you ever take, either. Thank you so much for that! :) 

That being said, I am anxious to see where you take this... and what appears to be a dissolving relationship. I think the love is still there, they just need to find a way back to that special magic. I'm so happy to see you getting this posted now. I think this will be a riveting, and emotional story. It already started that way for me.

Looking forward to more. Thank you so much for this intense, and wonderful beginning. *Hugss*



Author's Response:

Hi, Janet! Thank you so much for commenting! I can't tell you how relieved I am that you think my English is okay. Because having our Russian teachers give me A is one thing, but hearing the opinions of native speakers is something else entirely.

I'm glad you liked the first part! Actually, I wanted to make Brian a little more bitter, but he chose to behave like he wanted, without listening to me :) You know I love dark stories, but when this idea appeared, I just couldn't get it out of my head. The love between Brian and Justin is definitely still there, but they do have big problems, and only by talking they can solve them.

Thank you for your wonderful comment!

Katrin

 

Reviewer: Predec2 (Signed) · Date: October 03, 2014 08:50 PM · On: Part I. Justin

Hi, Katrin - What a wonderful surprise to see a new story submission from you!  I can't wait to read this, but I wanted to go ahead and approve your story for posting in the meantime so everyone else can read it.  Thank you for choosing to post your story on MW!  I love it when the boys are jealous, so I'm sure I will really enjoy this.  Let me know if I can be of any help. *Hugs*  ~Kim



Author's Response:

Hi, Kim! This is such a nice surprise - I thought it would take much longer to approve the story! :) I'm a little nervous - this is my first attempt at writing something in English and publishing it, but here at MW I feel like at home. I hope you'll like the story - the idea of plot isn't unusual, but for some reason it wouldn't leave me alone, so I just had to write it :)

Thank you so much! I actually wanted to ask for your advice at something, so I'll PM you soon, if you don't mind :)

Katrin

 

 

You must login (register) to review.