Midnight Whispers
QAF Brian and Justin Fanfiction
Reviewer: soirsagrey (Signed) · Date: August 27, 2016 08:20 PM · On: Chapter 1

Hiya,

I'm fairly new to being a beta. I've done one story over on Kinnetic Dreams and am currently betaing on a WIP on KD as well. 

But should anyone need a beta I would be willing to give it a try. 

I do have to admitt I'm leaning more towards the Oueens English but am fairly well know in the American English as well.

XOXO

Soirsa



Author's Response:

Thank you for the offer, Meriam!  I really appreciate that.  I'm a beta right now for three authors, so there is definitely a need for more. It would be great to add you to the list! Thanks for being willing to do that. I will add a link and edit the list.;) 

Also, I noticed on your bio page that you have a lot of other fan fic interests.  I think with this new roll out coming in November, we will be able to bring other fandoms over here, so I'm keeping my fingers crossed that you'll find some other genre stories to read on here soon. And you are writing now, too? If so, that's great! We would love for you to post it on here as well if you like. :)

Thanks again for offering to help us!  We are grateful for your support. ~Kim

Reviewer: Gibgirl (Signed) · Date: September 07, 2015 03:47 PM · On: Chapter 1

I'd be happy to beta for anyone who requires one

Reviewer: StarShine-Green (Signed) · Date: May 25, 2015 12:53 AM · On: Updating Banner and Beta List

Hey kim! I would love to be on the list for making Banners ;)

Mika



Author's Response:

Hi, my friend! I will add you to the list.  It's great to have another banner maker! *Hugs* ~Kim

Reviewer: Cheryl (Anonymous) · Date: March 09, 2015 04:26 PM · On: Chapter 1

I'd like to volunteer as a beta. 

I was a secretary for the US Government for 35 years so I have a good command of the English language and grammar.  This fandom has been part of my life since 2004 but a fan of QaF since 2002.  There are 17 of my stories stories posted here on MidnightWhispers.

I can do a chapter at a time or the whole story if the author has it finished, with quick turnaround.  I've beta'd for a few other folks here on this site. 

Cheryl Hickman

Glen Burnie, MD, USA



Author's Response:

Hi, Cheryl! That would be great; thank you.;)  Can you give me your user name on the site so I can link it in the post?  Is it just "Cheryl?" or something else?  Please leave another comment on this post, or send me an email directly. We can always use more betas; thank you for offering to help.  ~Kim

Reviewer: serendu (Signed) · Date: March 05, 2015 09:05 PM · On: Updating Banner and Beta List

I am putting myself forward as a beta 

 



Author's Response:

Thank you for offering to assist, Andrea! I will edit the list to include you so if a writer needs to contact you, they will be able to use the 'contact me' feature on your bio page and they can email you directly through the site. Thanks again for your kindness.  ~Kim

Reviewer: britonmanor (Anonymous) · Date: March 05, 2015 08:26 PM · On: Updating Banner and Beta List

Kim...  I forgot to leave an updated email address.  it's:

[email protected]

 

Thanks,

Cathy

Reviewer: britinmanor (Anonymous) · Date: March 05, 2015 06:46 PM · On: Updating Banner and Beta List

Kim, I'd like my name to be added as a beta.  Thanks much,  Cathy



Author's Response:

Thank you for offering to help, Cathy. I do not believe you are currently registered as a member. In order for a writer to contact you directly, I would need for you to re-register on the site under a user name, so they will be able to take advantage of the 'contact me' feature on your bio page.  You can include the email address you provided me for that purpose. Thanks again for offering to help; it is greatly appreciated. ~Kim

Reviewer: enika_benika (Signed) · Date: August 30, 2014 01:03 AM · On: Chapter 1

Sorry, that was me. Forgot to login.



Author's Response:

OMG, so cute! Love Justin especially as an elf! Thank you again for volunteering.:)  *Hugs* ~Kim

Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous) · Date: August 30, 2014 01:01 AM · On: Chapter 1

You can see some of my works in my bio. 😊

Reviewer: enika_benika (Signed) · Date: August 29, 2014 10:46 PM · On: Chapter 1

Hi, Kim!

I am pretty good with Photoshop and can always help with banners and any other collages. If you need any help, just let me know. :)

Nadia.



Author's Response:

Thank you, Nadia! That is very kind of you to offer to do that! I will add you to the list attached to this announcement, and keep you in mind.:)  We can also use more banner makers, especially.  Thank you again for your willingness to help.  ~Kim

Reviewer: Lorie (Signed) · Date: August 18, 2014 12:13 AM · On: Chapter 1

If you still need betas I would like to help. I never thought of doing it before, but I realized that when I save stories I go through and correct them.

Author's Response:

Hi, Lorie! Well, you sound like a natural born beta to me, then - LOL! Thanks for offering! Bob and I really appreciate that. I will add your name to the list in Chapter 2 of this post, and if you could make sure your current email information is indicated on your account, that way if someone clicks on the "contact" option, they won't see your actual email address, but it will be routed to you properly if they want to request your assistance.  I'll also keep your name in mind if someone contacts us directly for a beta. Thanks again for the offer, Lorie.;)  ~Kim

Reviewer: Bryton4ever71 (Signed) · Date: August 10, 2014 04:49 AM · On: Chapter 1

Hey that sounds cool. I can do all that. I'm even pretty good at summaries. I probly would do it the old fashioned way too as I don't even know what cloud computing is. Sign me up though.

PS. I took a vacation after the Hoody but have started my next story. First chappy coming soon

 



Author's Response:

Hi, Jon! That's great!  Thanks for offering to help, my friend, it is greatly appreciated.;) I will put you down on the list.  Glad to hear that you'll be writing a new story, too. And now you know who to turn to for banners, thanks to the three here who offered their services in this post.;)  I'll be adding a second chapter soon to summarize the list of those who will beta, make banners, or both, so it is easier to see.  Thanks again for volunteering!  ~Kim

Reviewer: Bryton4ever71 (Signed) · Date: August 09, 2014 06:52 PM · On: Chapter 1

Hi Kim,

This is a great idea.I have seriously considered becoming a beta in the past and think I would like to give it a go. The only problem is, I don't really know what a "beta writer" is. Like...what are the specific duties? Job decription and all that. Let me know and then I'll let you know that you can sign me up. I don't know how MUCH I could take on, mind you but I'll try my best and I have a good command of grammar...I think....and it always makes me cringe a little when I see wrong tenses being used or constant grammatical errors (perhaps by ESL writers?). So I'd love to help.

As for banner making...sorry, I do not have the artistic aptitude. :( Call me the Frog Prince on that level and I can't help you there. I do my best painting in black and white   ;)

Jon



Author's Response:

Hi, Jon!  You asked about duties as a beta. Well, I can only speak from my own experiences, but mainly what you would be doing is reading over the chapter that the writer would be sending to you, and making any needed changes to either the grammar, punctuation, spelling, or sentence structure.  Some betas do it through online cloud computing, but I just do it the old-fashioned way. When they send it to me, I make changes/additons in red and bold so they stand out, and then send the revised version back to them for final review.  Sometimes I will change a word to something else it if is being used repetitively, also, or will rearrange a sentence to make it flow better, or even break it if I feel it is too long.

Sometimes, too, I will be asked to help construct a summary for the story if the writer asks for it.  It really will come down to what you and the other person are comfortable with. And some partners may click or may not.  Thankfully, I have such a good-sized list now that I'm sure it will not be a problem finding a good fit for someone. 

I will probably add another chapter in the next day or so to this post, listing those who have offered their services as a beta, banner maker, or both, so writers who are in need of those services can use the 'contact author' option to email them directly through the site.  Hopefully that answers your questions. I do not see the need for anyone to be a beta to more than one story at a time right now, since I have a lot of wonderful people who have volunteered. But assistance from a long-time writer such as yourself would be very helpful. So let me know if you are interested. Thanks for thinking about it! ~Kim

Reviewer: clride (Signed) · Date: August 09, 2014 12:51 PM · On: Chapter 1

Kim,

 

Thanks so much for the lovely shout out, it was truly appreciated.  Please add me to the list to make banners.  I will be glad to help anyone I can.

Hugs,

Christie



Author's Response:

You're welcome, Christie! And it was the least I could do, after all the banners you have been making lately.  Banners always draw the reader into the story more, so it's wonderful that you have been making that a reality for so many lately.  I will definitely put you on the list.  Thank you again for all the help.  ~Kim

Reviewer: TheGirlNoOneKnows5 (Signed) · Date: August 09, 2014 12:23 PM · On: Chapter 1

Hi Kim,

I would also like to let you know I am an amateur banner maker. I have made a few recently, so I may be able to help some people out with that. xoxo



Author's Response:

Thanks, Cait! That's great; we can always use more banner makers. Thank you so much; I will make a note of that.;)  ~Kim

Reviewer: JAZZEPOET (Signed) · Date: August 08, 2014 01:34 PM · On: Chapter 1

Hey Kim! When my military life slows down a bit, I would be more than happy to lend an eye ;) At the moment it's impossible for me though, and I also want to finish at least one of my WIP'S before I commit myself. So please keep me in mind for the future.

Author's Response:

Hi, Tamara! You're very kind to offer to help in light of everything going on with your life. Thank you for that. I am delighted with all the response, so hopefully I will have a large pool to draw from and won't have to inundate one volunteer with a lot of work. Thanks again for offering to help, my friend.  ~Kim

Reviewer: TheGirlNoOneKnows5 (Signed) · Date: August 08, 2014 11:07 AM · On: Chapter 1

I wouldn't mind being a beta. I may be guilty of a few typos in the past, however, I am generally great with grammar, spelling and punctuation. Plus, it would give me something to do between my own writing. xoxo



Author's Response:

Hi, there! Thank you for offering to help; it is greatly appreciated. And thanks for posting on Whispers.;)  I will add you to the list.  Thanks again. ~Kim

Reviewer: IcedCupcake (Signed) · Date: August 08, 2014 07:54 AM · On: Chapter 1

I don't know if you still need people because it seems like there are a lot willing...But I'd be happy to beta for someone if they wanted.  I've never done it before, but I have a LOT of free time and wouldn't mind something to do with it.  As for banners, well, I don't know if I'm very good at it.  So I probably shouldn't volunteer for that. <3



Author's Response:

Hi, Jessie!  I can always use as many as are willing, so thank you for offering.;)  I think it IS satisfying to help out another author with their story and provide guidance. When you to five, though, on top of your own stories, that is more in the 'hair-pulling' category, though - ha! Thank you for being willing to help; I will add you to the list. And looking forward to the next story; looks like you're off to a roaring start from the amount of reviews you've already received! Congrats!  ~Kim

Reviewer: Prisca512 (Signed) · Date: August 08, 2014 04:13 AM · On: Chapter 1

Hi!

Can I be added to the list of potential betas also?  I've never served as a Beta but would love to help out.  I've got two unfinished stories out there if anyone needs to see my writing style/grammar skills.  One on fanfiction-dot-net in the NCIS catagory and two stores on AOL in the Suits(TV) catagory(the 1st a one shot, the 2nd a WIP that is a followup to the one shot).

I don't have a preference as to what kind of work to beta.

If anyone offers a workshop on banner making, I'd love to learn how to do that as well!

I appreciate your dedication to the site(and love your own stories :-)   )

If I can help in any way, please let me know!

Prisca(Melinda)



Author's Response:

Hi, Melinda!  Of course I will add you. I am grateful for the offer.  I've been so humbled today by the wonderful response, so I would like to thank everyone for that.  I think only through continual encouragement and support will the site continue to thrive. Thank you for your kind words about my stories, too.;)  Oh, and I feel your pain about having to spell out website addresses. I have the same issue whenever I PM someone over on fanfiction.net. But as you can see, we can actually write it the way it's meant to be written over here.;)  But I have used that (dot) more times than I can count over there to send people over here - ha!

I will put you down on the contact list for betas.  And thanks for the suggestion on a workshop for banner makers. I use PowerPoint for mine (not as fancy, but it works), while I know others rave about GIMP, which is a free online software.  Maybe I can hook up with one of our banner makers on here and they can give you some pointers.;) 

Thanks again for your offer to help, Melinda.  It is much appreciated.  ~Kim

Reviewer: reiselust161 (Signed) · Date: August 07, 2014 11:53 PM · On: Chapter 1

raises hand for betaing. So if there is any need, just let me know ;)



Author's Response:

Gratefully accepting, too! Thanks, Elke, for your offer. I will put you on the contact list. *hugs*  ~Kim

Reviewer: Hannah (Signed) · Date: August 07, 2014 10:40 PM · On: Chapter 1

I wouldn't mind beta-ing, I have never done it before but would be happy to help someone out if they were in need of one.



Author's Response:

Thank you for offering, Hannah! That's very kind of you.;)  I appreciate your willingness to do that, and I will put you down on the contact list.  Thanks again! ~Kim

Reviewer: wellreadbunny (Signed) · Date: August 07, 2014 09:33 PM · On: Chapter 1

I would be happy to work reading and making suggestions .

Author's Response:

Thanks, Cheryll! I really appreciate that.;)  I will put you down on the contact list.;) Thanks for offering to help!  ~Kim

Reviewer: zsadistwhore (Signed) · Date: August 07, 2014 09:26 PM · On: Chapter 1

I unfortunately do not channel Justin in the artistic department, but I am very willing to beta. I automatically beta when I read anyway, so I might as well do it properly.



Author's Response:

Great! That's wonderful, Nikki!  I really appreciate that. With the response to my request, I don't think I will have to load anyone down too heavily with more than one story at a time, either; I can spread the requests out as they come in. Thank you for offering to help. I will put you down on the contact list.:)  ~Kim

Reviewer: Loahisi (Signed) · Date: August 07, 2014 08:49 PM · On: Chapter 1

Hi Kim,

Since the two authors I was beta-ing for are not writing at the moment, you can add me as a "beta-people". I know I'm not english but I learned it in school and the people I was working with didn't complain, so I'm willing to help. 



Author's Response:

Hi, Loahisi!  Thank you for your offer.  It is much appreciated.  We are getting a good list of volunteers to beta and make banners now, so I am very pleased by that. Thank you for your willingness to be included. I will add you to the list.;) ~Kim

Reviewer: Marny (Signed) · Date: August 07, 2014 07:49 PM · On: Chapter 1

Put my name on the list as a banner maker * giggles * I'm from the department Justin Taylor.

You're welcome Kimberley & Bob. I love it when I can help someone.

 

* hugs *

 



Author's Response:

Thank you, Marian. Your banners are beautiful. Anyone would be envious of them.;)  (I know I am!). Thank you for your offer. I will definitely keep that in mind!  *Hug*  ~Kim

Reviewer: charming1 (Anonymous) · Date: August 07, 2014 07:21 PM · On: Chapter 1

I don't mind going chapter-by-chapter when I work as a beta... I'd just prefer to read multi-chapter stories after they are completed.



Author's Response:

Gotcha. Thanks for the clarification.;) 

Reviewer: charming1 (Anonymous) · Date: August 07, 2014 07:16 PM · On: Chapter 1

Count me in for beta :)



Author's Response:

Thank you, Nancy! That's great! I think you told me once that you would prefer completed stories before they are sent to you to edit?  If that still applies, I will make a note of that. Thanks for offering!  That's a big help. ~Kim

Reviewer: Lindz (Signed) · Date: August 07, 2014 07:07 PM · On: Chapter 1

Add me to the beta list- I'd definitely be willing to help others out!  Thanks so much for the shout out!!

:) Lindz



Author's Response:

Thank you, Lindz! I know you have done that for at least one other story already, for which both Bob and I are very grateful.  I will put you down on the list for future reference.  This is what I love about this site; people step up when they are needed. :)  Thanks again. ~Kim

Reviewer: AlexiaBlade (Signed) · Date: August 07, 2014 05:47 PM · On: Chapter 1

I wouldn't mind betaing either. I'm an english major so grammer and all that aren't a problem for me. I do write some of my own fanfics and would love to help edit for others. I unfortunately do not know anything about bannering so I'm afriad I wouldn't be much help there. 



Author's Response:

Thank you for offering to help, Crytstal! Bob and I really appreciate that. I will definitely put your name on the list, and if one is needed I will have them contact you.  Also, a belated welcome to the site, and a personal thank you from me for the 'favorite author' and 'favorite story'designations. Thank you.  ~Kim

Reviewer: Flossee (Signed) · Date: August 07, 2014 02:36 PM · On: Chapter 1

Hi Kim :)

I will help however I can.  Unfortunately I may have let Alois down due to unforeseen health problems.  Thank you for helping her.  I am pretty sure all my surgical procedures have concluded so I am hoping I can give more of my time.  Maybe I can volunteer to beta for additional people and as you say if I'm not up to it I can decline.  I will even have a go at banner making if anyone wants.  I would like to warn people though I'm probably not the one you should use as your first choice for help, because I'm sure the other beta's are, well, better. LOL  Also I noticed we don't have anyone updating twitter.  I have only ever retweeted, but I could learn and I could do that for the site if you like.  Just let me know what you need and put me on the list to help.

Loving MW.

Cheers

Flossee :)



Author's Response:

Hi, Flossee!  I appreciate your offer, and all the encouragement you give to the other writers, both in your review comments and by being a beta. It does help the foreign-born writers, especailly, to help make their stories easier to read and understand, although I give anyone whose native language is not English a lot of credit for posting; that takes courage.

I do have a new writer who is in need of a beta presently; I have done the first chapter, but I am currently editing for five authors, including this one, and it's just too much for me to handle, especially with my job resuming in a couple of weeks. So if you could step in for me, and don't mind me forwarding your email address to her, I will do that. That would be a big help.  She may need a banner as well; I'm waiting to hear back from someone else first, but it helps to know you would be willing to do that.  Let me wait until I hear back from the other person, and in the meantime I'll forward your name onto her in the next day or so, unless you instruct otherwise.

As for Alois, I'm sure she totally understands your situation, so I would not feel bad about that at all. Thanks again for offering to help.  It is much appreciated.  ~Kim

You must login (register) to review.