Midnight Whispers
QAF Brian and Justin Fanfiction
Reviews For All That Glitters
Reviewer: SunshineSally (Signed) · Date: November 11, 2015 08:45 AM · On: All the Glitters

Why do I love the idea of Brian owning a kitten that idolises him and hatres Justin sooo much! haha this is brilliant <3



Author's Response:

People have disagreed, but I've always maintained that Brian is a cat lover ;-) He would only have a cat with lots of spunk and character though, and Ophelia fit the bill ;-) Glad you enjoyed the story!

Reviewer: SunshineSally (Signed) · Date: November 11, 2015 08:45 AM · On: All the Glitters

Why do I love the idea of Brian owning a kitten that idolises him and hatres Justin sooo much! haha this is brilliant <3

Reviewer: Dido_MagnaCarta (Signed) · Date: November 10, 2014 12:05 PM · On: All the Glitters

God, that was wonderful! It made me laugh and coo so much! You had some wonderful lines which I was going to note down, but I lost count. I laughed out loud when Brian explained how he had "separated" the eggs and Justin's diplomatic response. I also adored hjow demonstrative Brian is ith his feeelings- BUT completely staying in character. A lot of writers seem to miss the fact that Brian can show his love without turning into a romantic sap. The offer of sex at the end there was so classically him. On the whole, this was such a plausible post 5x13 universe where Justin is able to be with the man he loves and have a successful art career. Lovely ending line which sums everything up, and as usual, beautiful writing. Even the text messages were so well-written! Gus' letter was so sweet and JR's misadventures were hilarious. I LOVE Ophelia the cat- which is saying something as I don't like four-legged creatures! Haha. Wow, great story- I really enjoyed that!



Author's Response:

Hi there! Thanks so much for your wonderful review :-) I'm thrilled that you enjoyed this story. I see post-513 as having endless possibilities (none of them actually involving Brian and Justin going their separate ways...), but the sentimental part of me likes the idyllic life at Britin, with Justin continuing his art in Pittsburgh. I loved the way Brian expresses his love for Justin in the series - as Justin himself discovered, he didn't actually have to say 'I love you' to convey his feelings. For Brian, love was about action, not words. I'm very happy you thought the characters were in character ;-) I'm also really glad you liked Ophelia the cat - I liked her so much I wrote her into another story as well. I have a soft spot for four-legged creatures as well *g* Thanks again for reading and for your thoughtful comment. I appreciate it very much.

Reviewer: Brynneth (Signed) · Date: April 05, 2014 05:59 AM · On: All the Glitters

So funny!  Loved this.



Author's Response:

I'm glad you found this story amusing :-) Thanks so much for reading and for your lovely comment!

Reviewer: MAFITA (Signed) · Date: February 27, 2014 07:48 PM · On: All the Glitters

I loved it!!! So romantic!!! :) Congratulations on a very lovey story! :) Hope to read you soon in another one! Kisses!



Author's Response:

Thanks! I'm really glad that you enjoyed this story, and that you found it romantic ;-) Thanks so much for reading and for your wonderful comment. I appreciate it very much!

Reviewer: snow (Anonymous) · Date: January 21, 2014 10:55 PM · On: All the Glitters

Awww, I really enjoyed this!



Author's Response:

Thanks snow :-) I'm really glad you liked this. Thanks so much for reading and for your wonderful review *hugs*

Reviewer: kimi (Anonymous) · Date: January 20, 2014 12:24 AM · On: All the Glitters

I loved this. This was a riot ! Brian having a possessive female cat, struggling to bake with his kids, his inexplicable squirrel phobia had me rofl ! But what I loved most were the tender moments between the two men...well written, funny and heartwarming..i really enjoyed this..thanks for sharing



Author's Response:

Thanks Kimi! I'm thrilled you enjoyed this story :-) I'm glad you liked the Brian in this story - in my mind, he would always a few little, adorable quirks. Like being in chemistry club *g*  I'm happy you liked the tender moments between Brian and Justin as well. Thanks so much for reading and for your wonderful comment. I appreciate it so much :-)

Reviewer: Anno53 (Anonymous) · Date: January 19, 2014 11:12 PM · On: All the Glitters

Sapph,

It such a treat to be able to read a new story of yours! I love your writing style. You seem to capture moments " so right". I think most grown ups can identify with a day like Bian's with the kids. There's a giant mess, but the kids are as happy as clams :)

Ann



Author's Response:

Thanks Ann :-) I'm thrilled that you enjyed this story, and I'm glad that it seemed 'right' to you. It's amazing how much mess kids can make sometimes, but sometimes you just have to let them enjoy it. I used to bake with my Mum, and I always made a huge mess - but now I love to bake, so I appreciate my mother's patience *g* Thanks so much for reading, and for your lovely review. It means a lot *hugs*

Reviewer: LNG (Signed) · Date: January 19, 2014 06:38 PM · On: All the Glitters

How cute!!!



Author's Response:

I'm so thrilled that you enjoyed it! Thanks so much for reading and for your lovely review :-)

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: January 19, 2014 01:54 AM · On: All the Glitters

I love how you started this, with the IM passages.  They were perfect or should I say purr fect.  Love that Brian, in spite of not being a cook, took the chance to try and make a gingerbread house.  I can't imagine how messy that must have been.  I thought I'd split a gut when I read about JR chasing Ophelia.  Too funny. 



Author's Response:

LOL! I'm thrilled that you enjoyed this story, and I'm glad it gave you a laugh. I have to admit that I always see Brian as being a bit culinarily-challanged - one of his few imperfections *g*. But he can't be awesome at everything ;-) And it means a lot that he tried to do something that was clearly out-of-his-depth for Gus (and by extension JR), and was willing to deal with the consequences. I'm glad that you liked the cat in this one, too - maybe another little hint at Brian's inner domestic side ;-) Thanks so much for reading and for your wonderful comment. It means a lot ;-)

Reviewer: Jane (Anonymous) · Date: January 18, 2014 10:57 PM · On: All the Glitters

What a simply wonderful glimpse into the life of Brian & Justin - not toooo sappy, not toooo angsty - but just right.  Thanks for sharing!



Author's Response:

Thanks Jane! I'm thrilled that you enjoyed this story, and that you thought it hit the 'Goldilocks' balance between sappy and angsty *g* Thanks so much for reading, and for your wonderful review and feedback. It means a lot :-)

Reviewer: ness (Anonymous) · Date: January 18, 2014 08:38 PM · On: All the Glitters

yay!! gorgeous!!

 



Author's Response:

I'm rally glad you enjoyed it! Thanks so much for reading, and for your lovely review. I appreciate it so much :-)

Reviewer: no sleep (Signed) · Date: January 18, 2014 04:27 PM · On: All the Glitters

I knew I was in for a treat when I saw rhymeswithvenus. You are a very clever girl.

I loved that you made a domesticated Brian sound sexy and Ophelia was too cute.

Author's Response:

Hee hee! Whenever I see the phrase 'cleaver girl', I always think of Velociraptors. I guess that's what I get for having 'Jurassic Park' as my favorite movie ;-) I really glad you enjoyed this story. I think it's good for Brian's ego to realize that he's not awesome at everything - although he does still try. One thing he is good at is being a father, and I think that's what Justin was trying to get him to see. I'm so glad you enjoyed this story. Thanks so much for reading and for your wonderful review. *hugs*

Reviewer: Lorie (Signed) · Date: January 18, 2014 11:51 AM · On: All the Glitters

Very sweet. Brian needs to learn to cook. The messaging part at the beginning was hilarious. Separating eggs, OMG, reminds me of the time I was explaining to my husband what to do before putting the turkey in the oven, I told him to rinse out the turkey and he asked what kind of soap to use.

Author's Response:

LOL! Love the idea of washing a turkey out with soap ;-) I guess it just goes to show that culinary lingo isn't necessarily intuitive - especially to someone who has lived on Thai take-outs his entire life *g* I'm thrilled that you enjoyed this story, and that it gave you a laugh. Thanks so much for reading and for your lovely review. I appreciate it so much.

Reviewer: sophie'smom (Anonymous) · Date: January 18, 2014 11:09 AM · On: All the Glitters

The description of the kitchen had me in tears, I laughed so much I had a hard time reading. Thanks for that, I needed it.
Brian, kids, and baking do not mix.
This was wonderfully delightful.

Author's Response:

I'm really glad you enjoyed it, and that it gave you a laugh ;-) Brian, kids and baking really don't mix very well, but it's the thought that counts - as I think Justin appreciated *g* Thanks so much for reading and for your lovely review. It means a lot *hugs*

Reviewer: vlsope2@yahoo.com (Anonymous) · Date: January 18, 2014 07:25 AM · On: All the Glitters

I really liked your story. Just thinking about Brian in the kitchen with two small children "helping" making a gingerbread house is funny, especially the eggs. He is really not a kitchen person, but is a loving daddy.Thanks for insight into a softie Brian.



Author's Response:

I'm thrilled that you enjoyed this story :-) I can see Brian as a total disaster in the kitchen, but I can also see him as a father who's willing to go out of his way for his son. I think Brian legitimately wanted to be a good Dad to Gus at the end of season 5, and I think he regretted not being more present when he had the opportunity to be. I figured a post-513 Brian might try to make up for that whenever he could — even if it did mean a day cooped up in a house with two small children and a whole lot of gingerbread *g*

Thanks so much for reading and for your wonderful review. I really appreciate it!

Reviewer: CFC (Anonymous) · Date: January 18, 2014 06:10 AM · On: All the Glitters

I can see why it won first place. That was great.

Author's Response:

I'm thrilled that you enjoyed it! Thanks so much for reading and for your wonderful review. I appreciate it very much :-)

You must login (register) to review.