; Midnight Whispers :: QAF Fanfiction - Brian and Justin - SSL Encrypted - Mobile
Midnight Whispers
QAF Fanfiction - Brian and Justin - SSL Encrypted - Mobile
>
Reviewer: SunshineSally (Signed) · Date: December 06, 2015 01:20 AM · On: Black and Blue

NOOOOOOOOOOOOO

Reviewer: JAZZEPOET (Signed) · Date: April 22, 2013 05:08 AM · On: Black and Blue

I'm playing catch up in my reviewing of this story and was going to wait until I read the next chapter before doing so, but I just couldn't wait. 

I must admit that it was difficult to get through the last couple of chapters. I think the hardest part for me was Brian basically making up Justin's mind for him and telling him that he needed for him to go back to New York. Justin was practically begging Brian to let him be there for him and Gus. I understad completely how he may have felt that Justin would have been missing out on something but , isn't that for Justin to decide? He put it to Brian best I think when he made the statement that maybe he would regret not staying.

 

Then came the proverbial slap in the face when he got a call on his Birthday to inform him that he needed to get an HIV test, I mean how many times can a person be pushed off the same cliff? If Brian was worried before that this time was truly goodbye, he now has even more reason to believe so. Taking care of Gus and Lindsay is not going to be an easy road especially without the extra support. Brian needs to figure out how he is going to mend his fences so that he won't find himself overwhelmed (that is if he hasn't already)

 

I am absolutely addicted to this story and can't wait for more~JP

Reviewer: sophie'smom (Anonymous) · Date: April 21, 2013 11:12 AM · On: Black and Blue

I don't even know where to begin. It started out living out Brian's fantasy of a loving happy family. Ending with the possibility
of never having that at all.
Beautifully written chapter

of never seeing Justin again. TP
TB must have it out for him until he eises

Reviewer: Bryton4ever71 (Signed) · Date: April 20, 2013 07:12 AM · On: Black and Blue

Wow this is some riviting stuff. I hope you will continue to post and soon. This is very well done. If you're muse took a va-ca, I certainly couldn't tell. Keep up the good work.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for reading and commenting! I am so happy your are enjoying the story :)

Reviewer: valell50 (Signed) · Date: April 17, 2013 12:51 PM · On: Black and Blue

Reading this has been a bit more painful than usual, being from the Boston MA area and a day out from the bombing. Thankfully all my family is ok and so are my friends who were running.

Loving the story and this chapter pulled me in all directions emotionally. Please let Brian and Justin be ok! Val

Author's Response:

Oh man, I'm glad to hear all is well for those you know and love - such a tragic and terrible event. 

Thank you for reading and commenting, even though it was painful. I promise it won't be completely angst-ridden and depressing every chapter!

Hugs

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: April 15, 2013 09:01 PM · On: Black and Blue

This chapter was intense, what with Justin leaving when he wanted to stay and Gus missing him.  Then you throw in a HIV scare ... hope it doesn't get to that.  Good chapter.  Need another soon.



Author's Response:

Thanks for reading and commenting. :)

I'm working on the next chapter now so I hope to have it up before the weekend!

Reviewer: Valetta (Anonymous) · Date: April 15, 2013 06:43 PM · On: Black and Blue

Beautiful chapter, even if pretty angsty, as usual :D I really hope both the boys will be fine!

I have ti say, though, that I never agreed with what the authors made Justin say at the end of season5, that Brian was not really himself and Justin  didn't want to change him. Sorry but Brian has been changing from season 1, from the istant he broke his "one fuck policy" he started changing and he changed through all the seasons, he was only too proud and too scared to admit it.
I always thought the bomb gave Brian the courage to show his true self, and admit that the main reason why he wouldn't commit to one person was that he was too scared for it and also too proud to admit that he depended on another person, not becuse he's some sort of sex addict (yes Brian loves sex... just like any other person in this world!).



Author's Response:

You know I definitely agree with you that Season 5 seemed to see Brian regress in his character growth. I think it was partially intentional, but I also didn't really buy into it, like you. 

Thank you for reading and commenting! I hope to ease up on some of the angst soon...maybe ;)

Reviewer: no sleep (Signed) · Date: April 14, 2013 11:44 PM · On: Black and Blue

This was so painful to read. Brian seemed to always take care of everyone and unfortunately that includes a bit of controlling them. I was upset that he made Justin’s decision for him to return to New York as if he was a small child instructed to get up in the morning and go to school. I thought it was insulting and disrespectful. It is understood that Brian is under a great deal of pressure with Lindsay’s condition and injuries, but she made a valid point to him about her loss of her wife. Brian should have seen that his time together with Justin is important.

Justin’s anger with Brian was justified. Brian had slept with this other man while keeping Justin at length and then called him on his birthday, after having pushed him out the door, to tell him that he has to be testing for HIV. You can only be pushed off the cliff so many times before breaking into pieces. The sad thing was that Brian could even remember if he had worn a condom.

In the meantime, I love this melodrama and am anxiously awaiting an update.

Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and reviewing! I appreciate the comments and thoughts. Justin and Brian have an interesting dynamic which I hope to explore further as the story progresses.

I hope to have an update before the weekend...working on it now in fact! :)

Reviewer: JustBeAQueen (Signed) · Date: April 14, 2013 03:30 PM · On: Black and Blue

Hey, So, I've been crap at reviewing lately, so I'll start by saying you have me addicted to this story. Although I can honestly say that I seriously hope you don't turn this into a positive story. I know it happens in real life (I have a cousin who is positive) so I completely understand if you did, but considering this is fiction, then I chose happy endings without the crap of real life. Although I'll continue reading no matter what you do, because I really do like this story and it apparently has a long way to go before it ends. 

Anyway, I have a couple of suggestions, or questions... comments, I guess. Now I'm trying to remember what they were. I know my first one was if you wanted to work this into the story somehow, if Lindsay needs a little encouragement to not give up and if she actually won't be able to walk, or even if she needs to relearn to walk, then maybe she needs to be reminded of a certain person that can help. I can't remember her name, but the quadrapalegic artist that Lindsay introduces to Justin in 205 to help him get over his own injury might be the right person to meet with Lindsay to remind her that yes life sucks, but you can't give up. I don't remember her name (but if you want to use her and want me to find the name, I'll be happy to, just let me know). 

My other suggestion is probably to have Brian negative. Of course I totally get why Justin was pissed... it wasn't so much that Brian escaped responsibility in tricks and drugs, it was the fact that he chose that, over Justin when Justin already felt that Brian was avoiding him. If Brian could get over his own self-doubt over being a parent and thinking that Justin needs to prove himself to himself (and probably thinking that Justin will find someone better, even though it's an irrational fear) then he would have accepted that Justin was there for him that night and that Brian didn't need to run off and get drunk and trick. I can't see Brian being careless, at all, though. 

I hope that everything works out in the end, and my main suggestion was that artist from 205... then the whole thing with HIV appeared, and I had to comment on that, too. Although knowing Justin and the situation it will probably take more than just one chapter to sort out. I will be following and anxiously waiting the next chapter, as I have been since I found this story. 

Cheers, Laura :) 



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading, and thank you for the lovely comment! I actually just rewatched 2.05 myself - you make some good points about that artist...I wonder where she would be now, four years later...

Thanks for the idea - I'm not sure if it'll fit in anywhere but I appreciate the suggestion.

:)

 

 

Reviewer: himawari29 (Signed) · Date: April 14, 2013 03:07 PM · On: Black and Blue

my heart goes for Justin...

if ever Brian was not so stubborn & tried to 'rule' Justin's life, his own life would be much nicer and happier..



Author's Response:

haha! You make a good point - Brian does seem intent to prohibit his own happiness. 

thank you for reading and commenting! :)

Reviewer: wellreadbunny (Signed) · Date: April 14, 2013 10:13 AM · On: Black and Blue

I am enjoying the story , hoping for alittle joy soon. I would think that Brian and Justin would want to stay together after seeing how easily your loved ones can be taken from . Live every day like it is your last, no regrets.

Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and commenting! I hope to have offer some reprieve from the angst soon. :)

Reviewer: bksbracelet (Signed) · Date: April 14, 2013 05:46 AM · On: Black and Blue

I like that you have ramped up the angst a little bit because I always find it difficult to believe Justin would stay away from Brian just because Brian says so. Brian is a egmatic character he takes what he wants but he denies himself others things. Great story thanks xxChris
P

Author's Response:

Thanks for reading! I tend to agree with you about Justin staying away only because Brian said so...it's a fine line, writing enough angst to make it believable.

I am happy you are enjoying the story. :)

Reviewer: Predec2 (Signed) · Date: April 13, 2013 08:18 PM · On: Black and Blue

Wow, this was an emotional roller coaster of a chapter to say the least.  Not sure if I like the HIV angle it took at the end; I guess I was hoping for more of a hopeful type slant (however naive that might be).  I wondered before that just what it would take for Brian to decide WHEN was the right time for Justin to come home.  Who would determine that?  Him or Justin? And just how would his 'success' be measured?  And now he's really screwed things up royally because of his typical mechanism for avoiding emotional attachment.  Plus he now has the added responsibility of taking care of his son who needs him so badly right now.  Ugh.  It certainly held my interest throughout, though, and I can see this will take a while to get resolved one way or the other.  Very well written, too.  Thanks for the update.  ~Kim



Author's Response:

Thanks for the comment! It was definitely an emotional week for the guys. 

I understand your hesitation with the HIV angle...I seriously questioned including it - but - with as many guys as Brian has been with it seems highly likely, to me, that this sort of thing was inevitable. :(

But don't fret...I mean, things must get worse before they can get better, right? ;)

I appreciate the support!

Reviewer: lauren49ers (Anonymous) · Date: April 13, 2013 05:16 PM · On: Black and Blue

Awesome as always. I hope it's just a false alarm. Itwould be too much with everything else. Brian feels so alone and yet he's always trying to keep Justin away, it's a shame.

Can't wait for the next chapter. Your muse may have taken a vacation but sh's not far away.



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and commenting!

yeah, the muse took several days off, then came back full force! :) Let's hope I can keep it around this time!

Reviewer: Flossee (Signed) · Date: April 13, 2013 03:50 PM · On: Black and Blue

Wow, that was an enormous chapter. I enjoyed the way you ended it as that was the last thing I thought would happen; the men having to get tested for HIV. I like the way you used a real life situation to feed off but I’m really glad everything turned out alright for your friend; it would be impossible to imagine what that would be like if you were in that situation. I love your writing and I can’t wait to see what happens.


Cheers

Author's Response:

yes...imagine my surprise when I surpassed 5000 words and still had almost half my outline to fill in! I have a feeling my chapters will continue to be giant! :)

Thank you so much for reading and commenting! I appreciate it :)

and yes, it was a great relief to know my friend was okay.

You must login (register) to review.