Midnight Whispers
QAF Brian and Justin Fanfiction
Reviews For Valediction
Reviewer: MieMie (Signed) · Date: October 11, 2020 01:00 AM · On: Epilogue

You have broken my heart. Thank you. I'm going to go cry some more. 

Reviewer: Linnu (Signed) · Date: August 24, 2020 10:59 PM · On: Epilogue

thanks for a touching and fresh take on this epic relationship. 

well done and well written

 

Reviewer: nickknack (Signed) · Date: April 09, 2020 09:36 AM · On: Epilogue

Just tried reading this for a 2nd time, it's been a few years. Managed first 2 chapters and then had to skip to the final chapter as my heart was pounding and I was as choked up as the first time I read it. Damn this is such a powerful story and I just know that despite the pain, I will return to it again some day. Truly amazing and beautifully emotional writing. I do so wish you had continued writing and posting stories.

Reviewer: loveloversspit (Signed) · Date: March 28, 2020 04:15 PM · On: Part 1

Sorry just no.

 

Reviewer: Enohvee1875 (Signed) · Date: September 05, 2016 04:50 AM · On: Epilogue

It wasn't easy but I persevered. Even though this was one of the saddest stories I have read, it was beautiful as well. Thank you...



Author's Response:

I'm so glad you persevered and finished. I truly do believe it's a tribute to the love story of Brian & Justin. I thank you for taking the time to comment. It still means the world to me even after all this time.

Reviewer: Enohvee1875 (Signed) · Date: September 05, 2016 01:33 AM · On: Part 3

I don't know if I can continue with this story. I am completely overwhelmed and clutching all my pearls, but I am going to try to see it through to the end. 

Reviewer: Gingabread (Signed) · Date: July 23, 2016 06:40 AM · On: Part 1

Omg. All the feels. I couldn't even finish chapter three. Going to have to read this at a later date. Amazing though. 

Reviewer: steff (Anonymous) · Date: May 24, 2016 11:16 PM · On: Part 1

I cried and cried and cried and cried some more. My face is still wet.

Reviewer: Gloria (Anonymous) · Date: May 01, 2016 04:46 PM · On: Epilogue

Just found this story...what a heartwrenching one is it...I knew it was going to be rough but jeeze...that was really tough. 

Great writing! It's been an emotional weekend for me anyway but this story touched me deeply. Well done...would love to read more from you!

Reviewer: nickknack (Signed) · Date: February 26, 2016 05:07 PM · On: Epilogue

5am and I have just finished sobbing my way from start to finish through this remarkable and heartwrenching story. Truly one of the most amazing and emotional stories I have ever read and I thank you for it even as the tears continue to flow.  I can only hope Justin found peace and love in his lifetime and I truly hope there is some sort of "ever after" where he will be reunited with Brian again.

Reviewer: SandiD (Anonymous) · Date: November 20, 2015 12:54 AM · On: Part 2

I got to chapter three and it wouldn't accept the code, so I couldn't move on.  

 

I sobbed and sobbed and sobbed. 

Reviewer: SandiD (Anonymous) · Date: November 20, 2015 12:34 AM · On: Part 2

Oh, dang it.  I'm needing the kleenex.  And since i"m old and was an avid reader years ago, I think I've read this.  

It feels familiar.  

Reviewer: SandiD (Anonymous) · Date: November 20, 2015 12:28 AM · On: Part 1

So far, so good.  I would have loved it if Brian could have used his words. :)

I'm moving on to the next chapter, and I'm hoping I won't need kleenex for the second chapter.

Reviewer: misseshermionemalfoy (Signed) · Date: October 03, 2015 03:32 AM · On: Part 3

This was really good. It kind of felt like I got kicked in the ribs after I read it though. I kind of had to skim through to keep from crying. 

Reviewer: kellankyle (Signed) · Date: August 31, 2015 11:50 AM · On: Part 1

This story was recommended by a friend and this first chapter is wonderful, but I'm so afraid to read on. What should I do?

Author's Response:

I can't promise it isn't sad, but I can promise that it's all about the B/J love. Does that help?

Reviewer: Sunshine5794 (Signed) · Date: August 26, 2015 11:19 PM · On: Part 1

I just found this story and actually had to stop several times to cry my eyes out. It was beautiful. I would love to see them together after Justin dies so brian can tell him how proud he is of his sunshine!! Thanks for a lovely story 



Author's Response:

It does my heart good to know people are still finding this story. One thing I believe for certain is that Brian was there with Justin all along. Thanks so much for reading and for taking the time to comment. It means so much!

Reviewer: Kristina (Anonymous) · Date: December 26, 2014 02:59 AM · On: Epilogue

OY!!! Why did I have to read this on Christmas? I read it and cried and cried an cried. This is tragicly beautiful. Great job.

Reviewer: Theresa (Anonymous) · Date: December 04, 2014 06:34 PM · On: Epilogue

  This is the best story I have ever read. I cried threw most of it.It was so beautiful,but also so sad.I felt like i was there and it  was happening to me.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for the kind words. It means a lot to know there are still people finding this story and enjoying it (well, enjoying might not be the right word *g*). Losing Brian is just about the saddest thing I can imagine, but I always say that feeling our hearts break every now and then reminds us that we have one. Thanks for taking the time to comment, it is so appreciated it.

Reviewer: annalite16 (Anonymous) · Date: November 23, 2014 09:44 PM · On: Part 1

OH GOD, I hate you for making me cry so much!!!

Truthfully I always thought they would kill of Brian at the end. Miraculously they didnt.thank god for small favours.This was so good, but definitely not something you read alone at night far away from family.

even though a tiny part of me wants to eat you alive(kidding) for doing this to brian, this has been one of the most amazing fanfics I'v come across in a long time...You rock! :)



Author's Response:

Ha! Nothing like thanking someone for telling you they hate you :) It's okay though, I hated myself a little for it, too. Seriously though, thank you so much for the nice words. I'm always happy to know there are still people finding this story.

 

OMG, I can't even imagine what the reaction would've been if they had killed Brian off at the end of QAF. I think CowLip would've had to go into hiding!!! Although, I have to admit, I wouldn't mind seeing the performances it would've brought.

 

Thanks again for reading and taking the time to comment. It is appreciated very much.

Reviewer: NicJ (Signed) · Date: April 03, 2014 10:27 PM · On: Epilogue

oh god, that was...beautiful. so utterly, heartbreakingly beautiful.  i don't know why i read stories like this; i know that i'll end up doing exactly what i am right now--sobbing uncontrollably.  now i have to watch season five and assure myself that this isn't real and that brian's alive and...ugh.

but seriously, this was amazing.  i do have a question though: hunter and amber used a sperm donor, right? i just want to be sure, because aside from crying my eyes out i'm also concerned as to whether or not a ficitonal HIV positive character impregnanted his wife the good ol' fashioned way.

i guess that's it. you did a great job with this :')



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for the kind words. It makes me happy to know people are still finding this story and I really appreciate the comment. Believe me, I understand needing to see our Brian alive and well after reading. Me too!

As for Hunter having kids - I actually did a fair bit of research on this to make sure I wasn't writing something impossible. There is quite a lot out there about 'sperm washing', which allows HIV positive men to father healthy children. It still involves artificial insemination, so the likelihood of twins is high. I know it's only a couple of lines in the story, but I try to be as accurate as I can.

Reviewer: LegendaryBritinKinlor (Signed) · Date: November 28, 2013 05:01 AM · On: Part 1

Oh my God. I'm at work and I just wish reading this. I choked back tears three different times while reading it. I'm going home today and reading it again and having a proper cry. Thank you. It was beautiful and I never thought I'd say that about a death fic.

Well done!!

Reviewer: wingnut1974 (Signed) · Date: April 26, 2013 07:44 AM · On: Epilogue

OMG, this story made me cry.  you did a wonderful job on it



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! I'm sorry for the long overdue response - I don't know how I missed these comments. I'm very glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: Sisa (Signed) · Date: January 26, 2013 01:58 AM · On: Part 1

I just finished this story on second try because after Brian died I had to stop. But I braced myself and read again for second time. I donť remember time when I cried so much but story is great. I especially love the letters that Justin write to Brian. Sad but great story!

Reviewer: NoChaser (Signed) · Date: July 01, 2012 11:09 PM · On: Epilogue

‘Show me a hero and I'll write you a tragedy'.

This is absolutely one of my top ten favorite stories anywhere. It tore my heart out and made me happy to go on the ride.

Well, well written and told.

 



Author's Response:

Dang, I don't know how I missed this comment! I really appreciate everyone who takes the time and always want to acknowledge it. Thank you so much for the kind words. Considering the amazing stories this fandom has produced, I'm so flattered to be considered a favorite. :)

Reviewer: BigPaw (Signed) · Date: June 07, 2012 02:59 AM · On: Epilogue

Congrats on having your story picked for this month. I found it very moving, well written and one that I won't forget.
Lori

Author's Response:

I can't think of a nicer compliment for a story than for it to be remembered after the window closes. Thank you so much, and for taking the time to let me know. I appreciate it so much.

Reviewer: JTSecrets (Signed) · Date: June 04, 2012 12:30 PM · On: Epilogue

This story has been selected by a secret cyber fairy to be our Featured Story for June, 2012. Thank you for sharing it on Whispers.



Author's Response:

Oh wow, thank you, and thank you to the secret cyber fairy. I'm honored and thrilled to know that people are still finding or re-reading Valediction. Endless thanks to CowLip and to Gale & Randy for bringing life to my two favorite people of all time (even if you can't tell by the things I've done to them here ;-). Brian & Justin forever!

Reviewer: lrknow (Anonymous) · Date: May 23, 2012 10:52 PM · On: Epilogue

Beautiful, heart breaking yet soothing and hopeful...maybe I can comment more coherently after I'm done bawling my eyes out...it just killed me..reminds me why I don't usually read death fic,it's so exhausting, but i don't regret it one bit, cause all through it you let their love shine through. Thank you

 



Author's Response:

"Hopeful" I love that word! And I love that you took that from the story, because it's true. It really is all about love, and yeah, heartbreak and pain, too - but hope at the end of it all. I'm very happy that you've no regrets after taking a chance on a death-fic. That is the best compliment I can think of. Thank you for that, and for taking the time to comment. I appreciate it very much.

Reviewer: Corinne_K (Anonymous) · Date: January 26, 2012 07:56 AM · On: Part 1

thank you for your warm response!! I am so moved, really

The "rightness" of Brian´s death, yes, that's exactly what I mean, and I am so happy I´m not the only one who does NOT think this idea is totally crazy. I´ll never believe that this idea never emerged in the scriptwriters' minds, and yes, we can see it in Brian's. And I don't believe it's only my fantasy that they may have opted for a suicide or cancer return for Brian Kinney if Gale Harold had said he was going to quit before the show was over:) they would, I'm sure, have come up with something for any other character's death if they didn't like the simple idea of taking himher away^) but I have always thought it would have been the most natural and smooth thing for Brian, rather than for someone else. If one can use these words to speak about anybody's death:( Because he is so... perfect, so beautiful. A pure soul. Someone to shine through Justin´s life no matter what happens, wherever he goes. How else could that be? (Jesus, look at me, I cried my eyes out when I was reading the most angsty part of your story, I don't like deathfics much because real life is pretty angsty itself, and yet I say it is the "right" thing!).

I hope I am not being too kinky here **smiles through tears**

I have some thoughts to share about the Justin (and folks) part of your  story which I love soooo much too, it  evokes so many feelings, so overwhelming, so much love, no, LOVE for Justin. So I'll come back;) It is just the saddest part of the story goes first, though I never stopped crying all the way through to the epilogue.

The epitaph... it gave me goosebumps. Oh yes... He knew. He knows. They both know. Always have, always will. *sobs*

thank you



Author's Response:

As much as I think it would have been the most riveting episode of television, ever, I think CowLip would have had to go into witness protection if they'd killed off Brian Kinney. LOL! It would have made quite an alternate ending though, wouldn't it? I am such a sucker for these kinds of storylines though. For me, the fantasy angst is actually a relief from the angst of real life. I love sad movies, sad songs, sad.... commercials. *sob* I think maybe it's because having your heart broken (ficticiously) reminds you that you have one, you know? A good cry every now and then is kind of a balm to the soul. I love the idea of Justin loving Brian forever, beyond death, but not dying along with him. It's a tribute to both of them.

I love reading your thoughts on the story and I look forward to any others you care to share with me. Thank you again!

Reviewer: Corinne_K (Anonymous) · Date: January 26, 2012 04:27 AM · On: Part 1

I am speechless. This is amazing, incredible, absolutely brilliant and totally heartbreaking. So sad and so beautiful. I read the first three chapters at work (it wasn't the right thing to do, I know, but I couldn't help it) and went out right after that to get some fresh air AND to cry and to take some time before getting back to reading the rest of it:((

I am not into deathfics in particular, but this one is a gem. Deep inside, I have always had this strange feeling that Brian's death would have been something in line with the plot and a logical step for all the characters. He IS perfection while everybody else is as imperfect as human can be, but does perfection exist? He should have died a legend and remain a legend in his friends' hearts, and never be forgotten. And you made him one.

So, from the point of view of the dramatic art I felt it was the right step; personally, emotionally I have all my sympathies on his side => you pleased my need for both with this most touching and emotionally charged story, and ther's love in every single line of it. You ARE a gifted writer (well I am sure you already know it by now:))

*sniffs* still, can't get the picture of Brian's tombstone out of my mind and it brings back memories somehow... people in my life who I loved and lost (((

I'd say "thank you" but it is too small a word to express my thanks...

HUGS and MORE HUGS and EVEN MORE HUGS

Take care,

K.

(as I said, English is not my native language, forgive me if I sound awkward)



Author's Response:

Oh my, you have made my afternoon (and quite possibly my day, week and month) with your comment. I've said it many times, but it's worth saying again - I appreciate every single person who reads, but I have a special place for those who don't like deathfics, but take a chance anyway and find that the story captures them. It really is a love story, not a death story. Your comment about the 'right-ness' of Brian's death really struck me. I'm not sure I've ever heard this expressed before in this fandom, and I have to say - it's fascinating. He toyed with the idea himself, more than once, didn't he? The scarfing, the plan to go to 'Ibiza' (and I will always believe that was his plan until his encounter with Justin in his office). I think this Brian, who resisted those demons and came out on top, ready to commit to his blond boy and take on the world - this Brian really would have lived forever in their hearts. I am just so proud that you feel I accomplished that with my story. Thank you so, so much.

Do you know the translation of the words Justin chose for Brian's epitaph? Nunc scio sid amor. Now I know what love is. I think they applied equally, to both our boys, and they taught me a whole lot more about it, too.

And your English is just lovely. Perfect, really. Many, many hugs in return.

q_dicted

 

Reviewer: moonshinekinney (Anonymous) · Date: November 14, 2011 04:18 PM · On: Part 1

Oh my, this is wonderful! I honestly wish this would have happened on the show. To be honst, I like it better! ;)

Off to read the enxt one!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much. I hope you still feel the same after you're finished. (((hugs)))

 

Reviewer: ColorLet23 (Signed) · Date: November 04, 2011 08:46 AM · On: Epilogue

I KNOW I HAVE COMMENTTED BEFORE, BUT I AM JUST GOING TO AGAIN. JUST FINISHED RE-READING THIS STORY AND TEARS ARE RUNNING DOWN MY FACE AND EVEN THOUGH I KNEW WHAT WAS COMING, I STILL CONTINUED TO READ ON... WORDS CAN NOT EXPRESS HOW I FEEL AT THE MOMENT. I WISH I KNEW WHERE YOU LIVE SO THAT I CAN COME OVER AND HUG YOU AND TELL YOU WELL DONE IN PERSON. THIS IS ONE OF MY ALL TIME FAV STORIES AND I LOOK FORWARD TO RE-READING IT AGAIN IN THE FUTURE. THANK YOU :o)



Author's Response:

Thank you so much - I consider this a most excellent virtual hug! I love knowing that people actually re-read this story considering how difficult (if not impossible) it is to get people to read a deathfic at all! So thank you for that, and for letting me know.

Reviewer: soul1essharpy (Signed) · Date: October 27, 2011 02:04 AM · On: Epilogue

*Huge exhale* What to say? There really aren't proper words for how this story affected me. Powerful, heart-wrenching, and perfect are a few that come to mind, but somehow don't seem to be strong enough or close enough, but that's what I've come up with, so they will have to do.

I am never really one for death fiction, as a whole, but took a chance on this one and I am glad I did. It made me cry numerous times, but...it also made me laugh and feel happy. I know, odd for a death fic, but true nonetheless. Thank you for sharing this story and I can't wait to get a chance to read more of your work



Author's Response:

Thank you so much. I appreciate every reader more than I can say, but I have a special soft spot for those who have an aversion to death fics but took the chance anyway. Your kind words and amazing compliment mean so much. Thank you for reading!

Reviewer: JTSecrets (Signed) · Date: October 15, 2011 02:26 AM · On: Epilogue

You story has been selected to be a Best Fan Fiction Classic on Whispers.



Author's Response:

Wow! Well thank you so very much to whoever it is that decides such things. I am honored!

Reviewer: The Black Rose (Signed) · Date: April 07, 2011 02:47 AM · On: Epilogue

heartbreakingly beautiful



Author's Response:

Thank you very much. I appreciate the compliment.

Reviewer: Cheryl (Anonymous) · Date: February 18, 2011 12:17 AM · On: Epilogue

This is such a good story.  I've read it at least 4 times now and each time I cry.  I have one suggestion that would help the reader - please explain the latin phrase that is on Brian's headstone.

Keep up the excellent work.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much. It's great to know that you read it more than once (especially since some have told me they can't get through it once :-/ ) I actually went back and forth a while on whether or not to include the translation of the epitaph. I did kind of refer to it later (in Justin's epilogue, when he finds the bracelet and says 'now I know, too). I hope that people care enough about the story to look it up. I thought a long time about what to say that wouldn't make Brian's eyes roll too hard *g*  'Now I know what love is' seemed appropriate... from both men's perspectives.

Again, thank you so much for taking the time to comment and for the compliment. It means the world to me to know people are reading and enjoying!

Reviewer: Linda (Anonymous) · Date: January 18, 2011 05:37 AM · On: Part 1

I thought Titanic was the best and most heart breaking story, but you beat that.  I can't stop crying.  You're writing is incredible. Don't stop!!!!!!



Author's Response:

Wow, thank you so much. What an incredibly nice thing to say. I'm happy to know you enjoyed it and really appreciate you letting me know.

Reviewer: reiselust161 (Signed) · Date: December 16, 2010 07:06 PM · On: Epilogue

I have to tell you that I was very moved by this story, in the third chapter you just had me in tears. How well described and at the same time totally sad what happened to Brian, you did a very good job. I am happy to have discovered the story recently to be able to finish it in a row and not having to wait, I think that just would have killed me waiting for you to continue.

Hope to read more from you soon, this was a sad but nevertheless wonderful story, perfectly written! Thanks for sharing!



Author's Response:

I am very pleased to have a new reader - I know what you mean about reading a WIP and I'm glad you enjoyed it as a complete story. Thank you for taking the time to comment and for the compliment. I appreciate them both very much.

Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous) · Date: December 15, 2010 03:34 AM · On: Part 6

Even though I want to hate you for killing off the ficitional love of my life, I have to say that this was one of the best stories I have read.  Even when I could not see through all the tears I could not tear myself away!  I seriously hope to see more stories from you!



Author's Response:

Ahhh, believe me, I hated myself at times! I just try to think of it as a 60,000 word tribute to the love of our lives. Thank you so much for the compliment and the comment. I really appreciate them both so much.

Reviewer: Hotesse (Signed) · Date: December 13, 2010 12:09 PM · On: Epilogue

Ohhh...
this story just... well let's say it deserved that rubon bleu.
And it made me cry.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much. Sorry about the tears ((hugs)). I am still amazed at the ribbon!

Reviewer: Suse (Anonymous) · Date: December 13, 2010 07:02 AM · On: Epilogue

I am not a major fan of death fics for obvious reasons, but I must say your red ribbon is well deserved. You have crafted a beautiful story and even though right now I can't breath due to the lump in my throat and having a hard time seeing due to the tears in my eyes I'm glad I took the time to see it through. I hope to see more of your work in the future.



Author's Response:

I understand that stories about one of our beloved boys dying are a difficult read, and I really, really appreciate those who take the chance on it, because in the end it is all about the love of and for some very special characters. Thanks so much!

Reviewer: TECH SUPPORT (Signed) · Date: December 13, 2010 06:27 AM · On: Part 5

Per Elsa Rose - raised to blue ribbon status as an outstanding story.

Author's Response:

Oh wow. I don't know what to say except thank you so very much. I am so happy I found this show, these characters and the wonderful world of QaF fan fiction. I'm proud to be a part of it!

Reviewer: Gina Marie (Signed) · Date: December 13, 2010 04:16 AM · On: Epilogue

What a heartwrenching, superbly written story.  So much emotion pouring out from every sentence.  Thank you for sharing.



Author's Response:

Thank you! It was emotional to write, too. I really appreciate the compliment and the comment, it means so very much.

Reviewer: samcdee (Signed) · Date: December 13, 2010 01:01 AM · On: Part 1

Normally I don't read death fic but this one had be intrigued.  

So beautifully written and powerful--rips the heart and tears right out of you.  The epilogue is so bittersweet.  This really does deserve a blue ribbon.

It's a story I will remember and reflect upon...and may even come back to read it again sometime in the future when I'm not feeling so raw.

Very well done.  Looking forward to reading more from you.  



Author's Response:

Thank you very much. I really feel like the story was a tribute to both Brian and Justin and their love more than a story about a death. I really appreciate that you took a chance on it and thrilled that you enjoyed it. Thanks for commenting. And I'm thrilled with the Red Ribbon - it was an unexpected and very cool surprise.

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: December 12, 2010 10:23 AM · On: Epilogue

As much as it pained me to read I can see that Kinnetik couldn't really go on without Brian.  Reading how the years went by...was enough to make me cry.  But one thing is certain.  Brian Kinney will always be young and beautiful.

Thank you for a lovely story.



Author's Response:

Brian Kinney will always be young and beautiful, and he is still alive as long as those who loved him so much remember. Thank you so much for the comments (every chapter!!!) and for taking the time. It means so very much.

Reviewer: TECH SUPPORT (Signed) · Date: December 12, 2010 10:01 AM · On: Epilogue

Although not a story for everyone with limited reader responses - this is very excellent writing - honorably noticed and featured with a Red Ribbon (at this time).

UPDATE: Use of red ribbons stopped; blue ribbon awarded later.

Author's Response:

Wow! This is amazing. I do understand that death fiction is not for everyone, which is why I am so thrilled that people have taken a chance on it, even if they don't always comment. I am thrilled to have the Red Ribbon beside Valediction, my first and only (so far) QaF fiction. Thank you so much!!

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: December 12, 2010 09:59 AM · On: Part 6

You know in some ways this is a far better ending then the series.  In your story there is closure, in the series you're left to wonder.  Makes for great stories, the what happened next.  Craig Taylor is a bastard and needs to be punished, but if your version had been used, we know that would never have happened.  Now on to the epilogue.



Author's Response:

What an amazing compliment! QaF is one of the most amazing shows ever to be on television so I take that as high praise indeed. Thank you so much. (And yes, Craig is a monster, just like Justin said.)

Reviewer: lindc (Anonymous) · Date: December 12, 2010 09:43 AM · On: Epilogue

this is one of the best stories i have read.  i must have cried buckets, but could not stop reading.  what a dynamic and powerful writing project. cudos to you.  a wonderful job!!!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much. I appreciate it very much that you took thetime to let me know you read and enjoyed. Sorry about the tears! (I cried, too)

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: December 12, 2010 09:27 AM · On: Part 5

Love, love, love the way Justin handled Brian's, what do you call someone that wasn't really a Mother?

Telling Gus why his daddy wasn't there had to be one of the hardest things Justin has done.  But telling Michael that it wasn't his fault that Brian died, that it was his...well, I've got to get to the next chapter to find out why?

A masterful piece of writing.



Author's Response:

Thank you very much! The scene with Justin and Gus was one of the most difficult of the whole story for me, I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: December 12, 2010 08:58 AM · On: Part 4

Michael, Michael!!!  Always thinking of himself.  How "he" lost his best friend.  You just want to shake him.  I know that Justin will have no trouble keeping his promise to Brian to keep in touch with Gus, but can understand his not being able to do so for Michael  Thank heavens for Emmett and Daphne, between them will do their best to be there for Justin. You have the voices down so pat that it's almost like watching the series.



Author's Response:

Michael has a good heart, but he's always been pretty self-centered when it comes to 'me me me'. I enjoyed trying to tell things fom Daphne's perspective - she was always a good friend to Justin

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: December 12, 2010 08:25 AM · On: Part 3

This still so sad... Brian finally said the words that Justin never thought he'd hear.  Thank god for Emmett. 



Author's Response:

I'm glad he got to say them in time, too. I love Emmett - he and Brian were very much alike in some ways.

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: December 12, 2010 08:11 AM · On: Part 2

I remember that this chapter was were you verged from cannon.  I know what's gonna happen next.  But you write it so well that I've got to relive it once again.



Author's Response:

Thanks for coming back. It's been a long time between updates so a re-read is a good idea!

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: December 12, 2010 07:50 AM · On: Part 1

I know I've read most of this before.  Rereading it is even better.  This takes cannon above and beyond.  I know the rest is going to be just as wonderful.

>

Reviewer: sophie's mom (Anonymous) · Date: December 12, 2010 06:41 AM · On: Epilogue

an amazing end to an amazing story. i was fine through it all until gus spoke. g-d you have a knack for definitely getting to one's heart.

thank you.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much. I think Gus's point of view was the hardest of all to write. I cried, too. I appreciate the comment very much. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: kinneydu (Signed) · Date: December 12, 2010 03:01 AM · On: Epilogue

God.  What can I say.  I am still sitting here with tears in my eyes, trying manfully (womanfully) not to let them run down my face.  I can't say I "liked" this story (Brian dying, what's to like), but it is powerful, well written story.  It hurts you and grabs you at the same time.  The characterisations are wonderful, and their reactions totally believable.  The epilogue of Justin's thoughts totally destroyed me (in a good way, I guess).  It really was like someone very close to me had died.  Ok, that's it, now the tears are running down my face.  Anyway, you are a great writer.  Keep up the good work.



Author's Response:

I know what you mean, 'liking' or 'enjoying' such a sad tale seems an odd thing to say. I appreciate the kind words very much and it means a lot to me that the characters are true to our boys. Thank you for reading!

Reviewer: RG (Anonymous) · Date: December 12, 2010 02:04 AM · On: Epilogue

Oh God!

This is so heartbreaking.

Cried my eyes out reading the epilogue.

Powerful writing.

 

 



Author's Response:

Thank you, I am sorry for the tears but happy that you took the time to let me know you are reading. I appreciate it very much!

Reviewer: alys (Anonymous) · Date: September 21, 2010 08:49 PM · On: Part 6

beautiful.



Author's Response:

Thank you very much.

Reviewer: Hotesse (Signed) · Date: September 20, 2010 04:22 AM · On: Part 1

So... here I am confessing that I went through the "NO WAY I will not read any further after chapter 3" then I slept on it and found myself not able to stop thinking about it. SO... I read on crying. I hardly ever cry for the stories. Here's the thing: Brian Kinney has saved me so much money in therapy. He is my personal ADD coach, mentor, sleeping aid, XXrated sexual therapist (along with Justin), diet coach and coolness trainer. I seriously believe that after watching the show (several times) and reading selected authors on MW my life has become more constructed in terms of dealing with my emotionally challenging past and shit-happenings. Now him dying on me like that hurt. But wow what a story! I just sent in a request for a blue ribbon for the story. I just wish you had more stories here to read.
In love with it,
Edda.

Author's Response:

I know that some folks might find it hard to believe given that I wrote this story, but I love Brian Kinney every bit as much! I truly believe he is the most interesting character there has ever been on television and together, Brian and Justin are my all-time favorite couple. I, too, have learned a lot from him/them. Believe me when I tell you that writing Brian's 'death' was extremely difficult and I shed a few tears myself. I really appreciate you coming back and finishing and for letting me know you enjoyed it. And thank you SO much for the recommendation - I am beyond flattered.

Hotesse, no suggestion letter ever came in via Contact Us. Please resend and it will be forwarded to Elsa Rose for detemination. --Admin

Reviewer: Jane (Anonymous) · Date: September 18, 2010 12:09 PM · On: Part 3

I tried to read beyond chapter 3 but I can't. I'm sorry I read to the end of 3. Why put your talent into a story like this? I never, ever read death fics but I thought I'd try.

Boy was I wrong



Author's Response:

I am sorry you are so disturbed by the story. I'm not sure how much more of a warning I can offer beyond the *major character death* and the story notes. I chose to write about this 'what if' because I enjoy a good, sad story myself and the epic love of Brian and Justin just lends itself to tragedy. The good news is there are thousands of happier, lighthearted stories out there to remind us that it is after all, only fiction.

Reviewer: debv3 (Signed) · Date: September 17, 2010 04:05 AM · On: Part 4

OMG you're killing me. I almost burst into tears in the middle of Panera Bread reading this!!!  Such a well written story, even if it is horribly sad. Thanks.



Author's Response:

Thank you for the compliment and the comment. Yes, it's a sad story for sure, but I hope that the love makes up for it.

Reviewer: jm c (Signed) · Date: September 16, 2010 10:50 PM · On: Part 1

Will there be a chaper 7 to this story

I would like to know if there will be reading brian will and what wil happen to the loft and what will Justin do about the new house and why brian was at the club and not with Justin at the airport

it is a very sad story



Author's Response:

While there won't be an actual part 7, there will be an epilogue and most of the questions you ask will be answered. As we find out in parts 1-3, Brian is at the club because Mikey returned his call and asked him to meet him there so they could talk. Brian was only stopping for a minute on his way to the airport.

Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: 7wildwaysup (Signed) · Date: September 16, 2010 12:16 AM · On: Part 2

Tears, you're making me cry... I noticed in the summary you said major character death; I use hope you don't really kill him off... I'm not sure I'm ready to read that...

Later Baby ~ Kathleen

Author's Response:

Oh dear. I think maybe you better stop now then - the warning really was a warning. I hope if you do continue, you'll see that it's really all about the love (but yes, it is very, very sad). 

Reviewer: char (Anonymous) · Date: September 15, 2010 07:13 PM · On: Part 6

this story is so well written just had to go all the way through.  it is heart-wrenching for all of us who love brian.  i don't usually read "major character death" stories, but this one was so well written had to finish.  the question is where do you go from here--something a little happier i hope.  you can write so well -we mw readers will be waiting for your next endeavor.



Author's Response:

Thank you for the compliment and the comment. I am not really a writer - this story came about because it was something I wanted to read about and I couldn't find exactly what I had in mind, so I decided to try writing it myself. I'm not sure I have another one in me, but maybe some day! 

Reviewer: Fiona (Anonymous) · Date: September 15, 2010 01:37 PM · On: Part 6

This story is so moving. Thank you for writing it.



Author's Response:

I'm glad you are touched by it. Thank you for taking the time to comment - it is very much appreciated. 

Reviewer: JTSecrets (Signed) · Date: June 04, 2010 05:44 PM · On: Part 5

Will you finish this story?



Author's Response:

Hello! Yes, I will definitely be finishing the story. I am working on part 6 now actually but I admit I am not a fast writer. I hope to have it up in the next week or so. Thanks for reading and I hope you come back for the conclusion.

Reviewer: JTSecrets (Signed) · Date: June 04, 2010 05:27 PM · On: Part 4

Very intense writing here.

Reviewer: JTSecrets (Signed) · Date: June 04, 2010 05:19 PM · On: Part 3

Major character death indeed.

Reviewer: sjmpets3 (Signed) · Date: May 09, 2010 11:02 AM · On: Part 5

wonderful sad heartbreaking chapter.



Author's Response:

I'm glad you enjoyed it. We're getting closer to the end now. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

Reviewer: Jasmine (Anonymous) · Date: April 01, 2010 06:03 AM · On: Part 4

Wow! What a powerful and well written story. I'm still trying to get rid of the lump in my throat, I can't wait for the Epilogue and hope you post it soon. You're a welcome addition to MW pool of talented writers...can't wait to read other stories by you!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! I so appreciate you taking the time to comment and I'm glad you are enjoying the story. I hope to have Chapter 5 and the epilogue ready soon.

Reviewer: JTSecrets (Signed) · Date: March 27, 2010 09:41 AM · On: Part 2

Here's a hit with stars for this chapter. You deserve it.



Author's Response:

Thank you!

Reviewer: JTSecrets (Signed) · Date: March 27, 2010 08:42 AM · On: Part 1

Welcome to MW! I love posting my stories on this website. I look forward to reading your work as soon as my (plot bunny) hamster takes a break and I'm not in a manic mode of writing. I've seen enough to know you're a very good writer.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for the welcome - what a nice thing to do! I will also be reading more once I am finished with Valediction as I find it difficult to read too much while writing. I hope you enjoy (weird word for this kind of story) it and look forward to reading yours as well.

Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous) · Date: March 26, 2010 02:38 AM · On: Part 1

Since I read fanfiction about QAF, it was the first time that I had to cry because I am really in love with the fictional person Brian Kinney. I also think that you are an amazing writer, I wished I would have your writing skills, but as a huge fan of Brian I don't want to read such a story again where Brian dies in this way, it was really too much for me. I could not read any further after Brian died, sorry, because like in Hollywood movies, the readers want to read about a happy end. There is enough shit we have to deal with in the real world. Sorry for my harsh critism. Please try to write some more happy stories, I will read them all !



Author's Response:

First I want to say thank you for the compliment on the writing and for taking the time to comment. I don't take it as a criticism because I understand that this kind of story isn't for everyone and that you don't want to read further. I, too, love Brian Kinney (and Justin, and Emmett, and really, all the people of Liberty Avenue). Brian is my all-time favourite character, bar none. Thankfully there are lots really terrific writers in the fandom who can write the happy, hot stories. I love them too!

Reviewer: Kat (Signed) · Date: March 25, 2010 04:32 PM · On: Part 4

I usually try to steer clear of major character death fics, but my curiosity got the best of me and I had check out this one. I've been sitting here for I don't know how long reading this and at one point not being able to see the words on the screen due to the tears that filled my eyes.

This is just heart breaking on so many levels, its difficult to think of Brian gone and I can't imagine the pain Justin is feeling right now. But he has an inner strength that only Brian really knew and understood. Justin will handle things the way Brian knew he could.



Author's Response:

First, thank you for taking a chance on the story. I know death!fic is not for everyone - but I hope it's as much about teh love as it is about loss. I can't imagine anything more heartbreaking than the world without Brian Kinney in it - and yes, he always saw things in Justin that nobody else (including Justin) did. Thanks for sticking with it!

Reviewer: Suse (Anonymous) · Date: March 25, 2010 10:28 AM · On: Part 4

Okay so the allergies are in full bloom. You gave ample warning so I guess I am just a glutton for punishment. You have captured our guys beautifully.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! Beyond being nervous to write a death!fic as my first foray into QaF fan fiction, the most important thing to me was to be true to Brian and Justin's 'voices'. I am thrilled that you think I have. Thanks for taking the time to comment - it is so encouraging!

Reviewer: BrianLover (Anonymous) · Date: March 25, 2010 09:23 AM · On: Part 2

OMG!

Reviewer: sjmpets3 (Signed) · Date: March 24, 2010 09:26 PM · On: Part 4

so glad you posted this here.



Author's Response:

Thank you! I have enjoyed reading here and thought this might fit in.

Reviewer: Mediana (Anonymous) · Date: March 24, 2010 01:14 PM · On: Part 4

Beautiful and angsty. I couldn't hold back my tears and I can't blame it on my cold. Eagerly waiting for the last part. 



Author's Response:

Maybe it was allergies ;) Thank you so much for reading and taking the time to comment.

Reviewer: Brittani (Anonymous) · Date: March 24, 2010 11:01 AM · On: Part 4

you really do like twisting the nife don't you :)  Well you say it's tbc so I shall sit here ever so patiently (or try to)

 



Author's Response:

Awww, sorry about that ;-) I thought the story was over after chapter three, but it seems Justin had more to say...

Reviewer: Brittani (Anonymous) · Date: March 24, 2010 10:30 AM · On: Part 3

Your an amazing writer =)  your story broke my heart... simply amazing



Author's Response:

Thanks so much. I know not everybody likes the death!fics and I really appreciate you taking a chance on this one.

You must login (register) to review.