Midnight Whispers
QAF Brian and Justin Fanfiction
Reviews For The Simplest Gift
Reviewer: coleamber (Signed) · Date: November 10, 2018 05:30 PM · On: The Simplest Gift

good one



Author's Response:

Glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for reading and for your wonderful review :-)

Reviewer: Dido_MagnaCarta (Signed) · Date: October 31, 2016 06:11 PM · On: The Simplest Gift

What a beautiful story! I enjoyed reading this today. The only thing I would say as feedback is that I felt quite a few adverbs used here could have been cut. Otherwise, the characterization was solid and poignant, and the dialogue for Daphne was particularly impressive. Great work. 



Author's Response:

I'm so glad you liked this fic ;-) I think it might be one of my favourites in retrospect, as well. I can tell you're a beta *g* I'll have to keep an eye out for those excess adverbs next time - I'm a very descriptive writer and sometime go overboard without meaning to. Thanks again for reading and for your wonderful review. It is much appreciated :-)

Reviewer: vic32 (Signed) · Date: July 01, 2016 08:51 AM · On: The Simplest Gift

Wow, that' was brilliant seriously brilliant. You captured what's its like to have panic attacks perfectly. I get them at times and they are horrible. I love how Brian looked after him and I would love to see more of maybe Christmas morning 😉

Author's Response:

Thanks ;-) I'm so thrilled that you enjoyed this story! I also get panic attacks, and I know how helpless they can make one feel. It's great that Justin had someone like Brian who wouldn't coddle him so much that he would never learn to cope with his anxiety, but who would be there to comfort him when he needed it. I've often thought of writing a follow-up to this story. Maybe I still will one day. Thanks for the motivation, and again for your lovely review!

Reviewer: BritinForever (Signed) · Date: April 15, 2016 12:41 AM · On: The Simplest Gift

This was amazing!  Thanks for sharing.



Author's Response:

I'm thrilled you enjoyed this! Thanks so much for reading and for your lovely review!

Reviewer: addicted-to-romione-bedward (Signed) · Date: December 27, 2015 10:03 PM · On: The Simplest Gift

So touching and beautiful. Thank you for sharing this story.

Reviewer: Larka (Signed) · Date: December 11, 2015 06:18 PM · On: The Simplest Gift

This was so emotionally touching.  I was laughing so hard at the beginning with Brian and the tree.  I was thinking it would be a story where Brian Scrooge would be redeemed after blustering and complaining. It turned out to be very different and very satisfying- truly "feel good" story.

Reviewer: soirsagrey (Signed) · Date: December 07, 2015 05:55 PM · On: The Simplest Gift

Love this. A wonderful Christmas story, sweet but not saccharine sweet.

Lovingly written with  depth of feeling.

This is the way season 2 should have been. More attention to Justins healing proces and the development of the relationship between Brian and Justin. Brian is brilliant in this story.

I wish you and all your loved ones Happy Holidays and health, love and happiness for the new year.

XOXO

Soirsa

Reviewer: Hotesse (Signed) · Date: December 06, 2015 07:42 PM · On: The Simplest Gift

Hi Emily,

Great to read one of your stories again! Loved the ending and the connection to Casablanca.

Hope things are good on your end :)

Edda

Reviewer: Cristina (Signed) · Date: December 03, 2015 12:35 PM · On: The Simplest Gift

Beautiful! Gale being so loving. That it's the way that should had been in much more scenes. :)))))



Author's Response:

Thanks Cristina :-) I'm so thrilled that you enjoyed this story. I think Brian had a lot of affection for Justin, and was always looking for ways to show it that wouldn't be too un-Kinney-like. I really liked the beginining of season two, because we get to see a little more of Brian's affection than we would have otherwise. Thanks so much for reading and for your lovely review!

Reviewer: nickknack (Signed) · Date: December 01, 2015 05:57 AM · On: The Simplest Gift

Beautiful wee story showing just how much Brian cares for Justin and that he truly values him being in his life.



Author's Response:

I'm so glad you enjoyed it! Thanks so much for reading and for your lovely comment. I appreciate it so much :-)

Reviewer: PA Boi (Signed) · Date: November 30, 2015 01:25 AM · On: The Simplest Gift

Great story.  Brian was really there when Justin needed him.



Author's Response:

I'm sp thrilled you enjoyed it :-) Thanks so much for reading, and for your wonderful review. I really appreciate it!

Reviewer: Blossomlegs (Signed) · Date: November 30, 2015 01:19 AM · On: The Simplest Gift

Fantastic! Love the kind, understanding and gentle Brian.

Thanks for sharing!



Author's Response:

I'm really glad you enjoyed it ;-) I'm kind of a sucker for comforting!Brian *g* Thanks so much for reading and for your lovely review!

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: November 29, 2015 06:14 PM · On: The Simplest Gift

Love how you think.  Happy Holidays.



Author's Response:

Glad you enjoyed it ;-) Thanks so much for reading and for your lovely comment. Happy Holidays to you, too!

Reviewer: Astrid (Anonymous) · Date: November 29, 2015 01:44 PM · On: The Simplest Gift

A very sweet story. You described both boys' struggling perfectly.



Author's Response:

Thanks Astrid :-) I'm very glad that you enjoyed this story, and that you found it sweet and touching. Thank you so much for reading and for your wonderful review!

Reviewer: eureka1 (Signed) · Date: November 29, 2015 09:49 AM · On: The Simplest Gift

So touching and loving...and Brian had the right words to go with his actions. <3

The "Grinch on viagra"--what a great LOL moment.

Happy Holidays to you, too!



Author's Response:

Thanks :-D I'm thrilled that you enjoyed this story, and that it gave you a giggle in places *g* Thanks so much for reading, and ofr your wonder review! Happy Holidays to you, too :-)

Reviewer: bksbracelet (Signed) · Date: November 29, 2015 07:34 AM · On: The Simplest Gift

That was so lovely and such a true outcome of the ongoing damage a bat to head can leave

Author's Response:

Thanks :-) I was so thrilled to find this stoiry had been featured *g* I'm glad you thought the trajectory of Justin's recovery was believable. Thanks so much for reading and for your lovely review!

Reviewer: SunshineSally (Signed) · Date: November 06, 2015 02:40 AM · On: The Simplest Gift

LOVED THIS



Author's Response:

I'm glad you enjoyed it :-) Thanks fo much for reading!

Reviewer: miaumiau (Anonymous) · Date: November 26, 2013 09:04 AM · On: The Simplest Gift

Love it, great gap- filler ;)



Author's Response:

I'm thrilled that you enjoyed it! Thank you so much for reading and for your wonderful review. I appreciate it so much :-)

Reviewer: Saskya (Signed) · Date: October 20, 2013 09:45 PM · On: The Simplest Gift

very nice :)



Author's Response:

Thanks :-) I'm so glad you enjoyed this. Thank you so much for reading and for your lovely review!

Reviewer: no sleep (Signed) · Date: October 05, 2012 09:30 AM · On: The Simplest Gift

The last line is my favorite.Was that from a Bogart picture?

Brian was so concerned about Justin that he forgot his manners to escort Daphne to the cab with the packages. It was that and so much of his tender care of Justin that made it he best gift he could have given.

Beautifully written!



Author's Response:

Bonus marks for you for recognizing the reference in the last line ;-)

I actually never thought about Brian's neglecting to show Daphne out, but that's a good point. I would say that he was worried about leaving Justin alone, even for the few moments it would take him to get down to the street and back. Under normal circumstances, he probably would have offered to drive her home, but again he was too worried about Justin. I've always had a soft spot for the Justin-Brian dynamic at the beginning of season two. I feel like we get to see a side of Brian he normally keeps so well hidden. One thing is certain after watching those episodes - Brian really, really cares for Justin. 

Thanks so much for reading and for your lovely review. It really makes me smile :-)

Reviewer: Cheburashka2 (Signed) · Date: December 04, 2011 05:16 AM · On: The Simplest Gift

Loved it!



Author's Response:

I'm so glad you enjoyed it! Thanks so much for reading and for your wonderful reveiw!

Reviewer: cattabella (Anonymous) · Date: January 11, 2010 11:57 AM · On: The Simplest Gift

as with all your fics, this is a delight. thank you for keeping the fandom alive with GOOD writing. :)



Author's Response:

Thanks Cattabella. *Hugs* I'm really glad you enjoyed this story -) Thank YOU for keeping the fandom alive with your wonderful comments. It's so important to know there are people out there who care ;-)

Reviewer: m _elle (Anonymous) · Date: January 02, 2010 07:33 PM · On: The Simplest Gift

Lovely!  A story depicting a gentle Brian I always suspected showed itself a lot of the time off screen, and only to Justin and Gus.  Made me fall in love with BJ all over again! 

I love your stories.  Any more board games gone wild coming up?  :o)

Happy New Year,   Michelle



Author's Response:

Thanks Michele! Happy New Year to you, too! I'm very glad you enjoyed this story. I agree wholeheartedly with you about Brian being more affectionate to Justin and Gus 'off screen'. I always kind of felt we never got to see enough of that side of Brain. He is innately sensitive, once you get past that tough interior. I guess that why I love season 2 Brian so much ;-) As for board games gone wild, there will be more to come. I got some board games for Christmas that have led to some inspiration ;-) Thanks again for reading and for your wonderful review. I really appreciate it! 



Author's Response:

Thanks Michele! Happy New Year to you, too! I'm very glad you enjoyed this story. I agree wholeheartedly with you about Brian being more affectionate to Justin and Gus 'off screen'. I always kind of felt we never got to see enough of that side of Brain. He is innately sensitive, once you get past that tough interior. I guess that why I love season 2 Brian so much ;-) As for board games gone wild, there will be more to come. I got some board games for Christmas that have led to some inspiration ;-) Thanks again for reading and for your wonderful review. I really appreciate it! 

Reviewer: Jackie (Anonymous) · Date: December 24, 2009 03:23 PM · On: The Simplest Gift

Fantastic. I loved seeing the softer side of Brian and Justin working through his anger episode. Great job. And I hope you have a great Holiday!



Author's Response:

Thanks Jackie! I always love the softer side of Brian. that's probably why I'm so fond of season 2 ;-) Thanks so much for reading - I'm so happy that you enjoyed this. Thanks also for your wonderful review! Happy Holidays and a very Happy New Year!



Author's Response:

Thanks Jackie! I always love the softer side of Brian. that's probably why I'm so fond of season 2 ;-) Thanks so much for reading - I'm so happy that you enjoyed this. Thanks also for your wonderful review! Happy Holidays and a very Happy New Year!

Reviewer: alys (Anonymous) · Date: December 23, 2009 10:29 PM · On: The Simplest Gift

beautiful. brian knows justin.



Author's Response:

He sure does :-) Thanks so much for reading - I'm really glad you enjoyed this story! Thanks also for your wonderful review. I hope you have a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Reviewer: Curious George (Anonymous) · Date: December 23, 2009 05:32 PM · On: The Simplest Gift

Oh, my!  A beautiful, and beautifully complete, story.  Thanks a million, and have a happy and safe holiday season!



Author's Response:

Thanks! I'm so glad you enjoyed this story, especially it's completeness ;-) My New Year's resolution is to get updates up faster - it's been a bit challenging this year because of RL, but that's the goal for 2010 :-) Thanks again for reading and for your wonderful comment. I hope you have very happy holidays and a very Happy New Year!

Reviewer: bksbracelet (Anonymous) · Date: December 23, 2009 05:23 PM · On: The Simplest Gift

The Simplest Gift.

I loved this fic so much thank you cheers Chris



Author's Response:

Thanks Chris :-) I'm so glad you enjoyed this story! Thanks so much for reading and for your much-loved review. I hope you have a very happy holiday and a wonderful New Year!!

Reviewer: Buffytess (Anonymous) · Date: December 23, 2009 04:51 PM · On: The Simplest Gift

i just want to say i LOVED this fic .And to say happy holidays to you too

 

HUGS BUFFYTESS



Author's Response:

I'm very happy that you enjoyed it :-) Thanks you so much for reading and for your wonderful comment. Merry Christmas and a very Happy New Year! *Hugs*



Author's Response:

I'm very happy that you enjoyed it :-) Thanks you so much for reading and for your wonderful comment. Merry Christmas and a very Happy New Year! *Hugs*

Reviewer: Moonshadow Woman (Signed) · Date: December 23, 2009 10:26 AM · On: The Simplest Gift

Loved it - brought back lots of memories of what I wish season 2 had been all about.



Author's Response:

I'm so glad you enjoyed it. I loved the beginning of season 2, and I also wish there was more of Justin's recovery. It was a great time of healing and learning for both of them. Thanks so much for reading and for your wonderful review. Merry Christmas and a very Happy New Year!

You must login (register) to review.