; Midnight Whispers :: QAF Fanfiction - Brian and Justin - SSL Encrypted
Midnight Whispers
QAF Fanfiction - Brian and Justin - SSL Encrypted
>
Reviewer: deb (Anonymous) · Date: August 10, 2008 11:05 AM · On: Love in the Shadow of the Pyramids

your story was wonderful.  thanks

Author's Response: Thank you very much Deb.  I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed this story and I appreciate your comments.  Grammy

Reviewer: qbee (Signed) · Date: August 07, 2008 08:06 AM · On: A Dark Shadow Looms

Hi Grammy! *waves*

Yeah - I don't often comment. I tend to be a bit shy about it unless pushed. 

I'm glad to know that you're a researcher when it comes to your fic. That makes me appreciate them even more.

I'm just a tad younger than you but I still remember my father having uniform work pants that buttoned rather than zipped. I'll have to remember to ask my mother when zippers began to be used commonly in men's trousers (she trained as a dressmaker in her youth) but things could have been different in Europe than here in North America.

See, now I'm all interested in all things 'Zipper' and my sister will be laughing and rolling her eyes...again!

Cheers!



Author's Response:

Hi Qbee.  *waves back* 

How wonderful to hear back from you.  You definitely sound like my kind of person.  I even run the trivia game on my home site TQL because I love, love, love learning things about almost anything.  The older I get, the more I want to learn.  I love my readers so much I never want to cheat them with unrealistic or nonsensical bits it my stories.  That's why I appreciate it when a reader gives me a heads up about something that doesn't look right.  In the case of the zipper, my research says one thing, but I've noticed that one can sometimes see conflicting info on the same subject.  Let me know what you find out.  I'm truly curious.  Btw, don't worry about your sis.  My siblings, parents (yep they are still with me, thank heavens) my Daughter, and my Granddaughters all think I'm anal retentive, especially on the computer but they love me anyway.  LOL!  Hugs, Grammy

Reviewer: qbee (Signed) · Date: August 07, 2008 06:46 AM · On: A Most Memorable Night

Hi there! First let me tell you how much I enjoy reading your fics! They always leave me feeling good.

I tend to be more of a lurker but every once in a while I'm moved to give my 2 cents. Hope you don't mind.

My sister calls me a 'Trivia Font' since I have all of this random, useless information stuck in my head. So when I read this... "Unzip me," ...it kind of threw me. (Chapter 8, btw)

When do you envision this story as taking place? You mention King Tut's tomb as being opened in late 1923. Is the story set within 15 years of that date or later? I only ask because the 'zipper' was only introduced to men's wear in 1937 and that was in couture clothing. It's use didn't filter down to regular clothing till still later so that phrase kind of threw me out of the narrative. (Yeah, I'm weird, I know!)

Like I said...totally random, irrelevant information stuck in my brain!

Now, off I go to finish reading...the ‘good bits' are just getting underway!

Cheers!



Author's Response: Hi Qbee.  I can't tell you what a pleasure it is to get a review from someone I haven't heard from before.  I absolutely appreciate it when a reader catches an error and if I had discovered you were right according to the research I did, I would have gladly changed that line.  One thing I can assure you of is that I don't write a word of my stories without checking out things I'm unsure of.  When I write a dated piece I try to be even more careful...but of course I have goofed on occasion, being human and all.  LOL!  I checked on clothing in the twenties and made sure that a zipper would be used in a man's pants during the period of my story.  My source is this....

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zipper

Of course, Brian would only buy the finest clothing from Europe and America because of his wealth and tastes, so it is logical that his expensive pants would have the use of the new fangled zipper.  I am sorry if that bit threw you, however, as I feel the same way when reading a story.  I hope you will enjoy the rest of the story, and please feel free to give me a heads up if you discover something else.  That kind of help is much appreciated by me.  It only helps to make me a better writer.  Hugs, Grammy

Reviewer: Sunny (Anonymous) · Date: August 06, 2008 08:52 PM · On: Love in the Shadow of the Pyramids

Dear Grammy,

sorry, that I couldn´t write a review sooner but we have vacation saison and therefore I have to work for three people. So it took me a while to read the whole story once again.

I was in Egypt once and did many of the touristic things like swimming in The Red Sea by Hurgharda or doing a camel ride in the dessert, too. It came all back to me when I was reading your stories. That was a nice side effect!

But before I forget completely - the REVIEW:   Applause! Applause!

You did a wonderful job. You have a wonderful eye for the details. I could almost feel the heat and the sand on my skin and surely drank a lot while I was reading. You put a lot of time and effort in researching this story and it payed out! It was not only an emotional story but also an informative one. And that´s a great combination. To be entertained and to learn something at the same time - what more could you wish for. That´s why I like historic stories the best - especially the Middle Ages!

So, I´m looking forward to your next story. I just know that it will be wonderful story, too. ( Do you feel the expectations? The pressure? LOL)

But before I leave I have one tiny little question about chapter 11:When Brian was enrolling Justin at University, how did he know that Justin´s last name was Taylor?

Big Hugs, Sunny 

 



Author's Response:

Oh Sunny....THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU.  After all this time you are the first person to catch a blaring faux pas and I am so grateful to you.  As you know, I like my stories to be rooted in reality, thus the research.  I was careful to refer to Justin as Justin 'Kinney' in later chapters but I never caught the Taylor mistake in Chapter 11.  I have hurried to the editing button and corrected that mistake.  I am truly grateful to you.  Once more, thank you.

I actually enjoy researching my stories.  Believe it or not, I even researched the possibility of colonizing the moon when I wrote 'Moonlight Magic'.  That's how obsessed I am with being as accurate as I can.  You should have seen the things I came up with when I researched bathrooms in Egypt in the 1920's.  LOL!  The nicest compliment you gave me was that one chapter actually brought back memories of your own trip to Egypt.  I've never been but I loved researching what was available even in the 1920's.  It almost felt like I was on that trip too.  I can't tell you how much I appreciate your reviews and I hope you will enjoy the new story which will begin before the day is over.  It is set in modern times, but the replacement for my WWII story will be set in the 1800's in the old West.  You've just given me an incentive to check on a Middle Ages story, however, so I'm setting up a file for that for the future.  My readers ofen inspire me.  Thanks for that too.

The only pressure I feel is to do the very best by my wonderful readers.  Ya'll deserve it.  I have the best readers in the world.  Aug. 19th I will celebrate the 1st Anniversary of my very first posting of a story.  Thanks to readers like you it has been one fo the best years of my entire 61 years on this earth.  I owe you guys everything.   Big huge hugs, Grammy

 

 

Reviewer: carbon69 (Signed) · Date: August 05, 2008 04:18 AM · On: Love in the Shadow of the Pyramids

Great story...enjoyed it...glad it ended this way. Thanks. 



Author's Response: So very glad that you liked the ending Carbon69.  For me, it is Brian and Justin forever no matter what.  Thank you for all your comments.  They go a long way in encouraging me to do my best for my wonderful readers.  Hugs, Grammy

Reviewer: Jackie (Anonymous) · Date: August 04, 2008 10:08 PM · On: Love in the Shadow of the Pyramids

I'm a little sad to see this go. But everything worked out so well. A fantastic ending. Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful story.

Author's Response: I am so glad you enjoyed the ending Jackie.  I love the image of Brian and Justin going back to the beginning and wiping out the tragic event that happened there with nothing but love.  It was my pleasure to write this story and thank you for all your encouragement with it.  It is truly appreciated.  Big hugs, Grammy

Reviewer: templeton_ma (Anonymous) · Date: August 04, 2008 07:30 PM · On: Love in the Shadow of the Pyramids

Congratulations on the completion of this wonderful story! And I look forward to your new one!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much Templeton_ma.  I truly hated letting this story go.  I've become quite fond of it, but it was the right time.  I do hope you'll enjoy the new one which will be totally different in nature...outside of the love of course.  Grammy

Reviewer: alys (Anonymous) · Date: August 04, 2008 05:09 PM · On: Love in the Shadow of the Pyramids

Beautiful. Glad Jen handled it well. Thanks for the story.

Author's Response: Thank you Alys, and thank you for all your wonderful comments.  I appreciate every one of them.  My Jennifer will always put her son's wishes and needs ahead of her own.  She could no more stop loving him than stop breathing.  That is a true mother.  Thank you again for reading my story.  Big hugs, Grammy

Reviewer: Thess (Anonymous) · Date: August 04, 2008 05:07 PM · On: Love in the Shadow of the Pyramids

Hi, Gramms. Beautiful ending. How romantic! I know somewhere out there, there's real Brian and Justin!!!! Please don't stop to write more love stories of Brian and Justin. Thanks

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the compliment Thess.  There are countless love stories of our beautiful Brian and Justin and I will do my best to tell a few of them.  I hope you will continue to enjoy them.  I have a new one lined up right now, but this one is set in modern times.  I hope you will join me with it too.  I have no doubt that the world is full of Brian and Justins, being in love and making love as one soul.  Of course, they will never be as beautiful as our boys....except to each other.  Big hugs, Grammy

Reviewer: rose (Anonymous) · Date: August 04, 2008 02:29 PM · On: Love in the Shadow of the Pyramids

too sad this story is finished. I really enjoyed reading it. as always you did a great great great job. :-)) rose

Author's Response: I am very happy that you enjoyed this story Rose.  Your comments have been wonderful and much appreciated.  I felt sad to let the story go but it was time for our lovers to literally ride off into the sunset together.  The desert will heat up over and over again but it won't be from the sun.  LOL!  Thank you so much again for staying with my story.  Big hugs, Grammy

Reviewer: sjmpets3 (Signed) · Date: August 04, 2008 10:42 AM · On: Love in the Shadow of the Pyramids

fantastic ending. no drama, no angst. just a loving mother giving her son room for happiness. for the man in his life to share his undying love. it was wonderful especially since you brought them back to where it all began.

Author's Response: Thank you so much Sherrie.  I hate to let this story go, but it was time.  I actually dreamed about the desert last night.  LOL!  I knew the minute that Helen brought the idea of our lovers in ancient Egypt with Justin as a slave that this was an idea that had great romantic possibilities.  I'm just glad it worked out.  I will always love the image of Brian and Justin making timeless love under the shadow of the timeless monuments.  Did I mention I'm an incurable romantic?  I appreciate all the wonderful comments you've left me for this story.  Thank you again.  Big big hugs, Grammy

Reviewer: Sunny (Anonymous) · Date: July 31, 2008 07:21 PM · On: The Truth Exposed

So, we are coming to the end...

After reading this chapter my first impulse was to say: No, please don´t let  it end but on second thought I must admit that it is the perfect time to end the story. I think the decision Justin has to make is a final one. A decision which defines his and Brians´s future. So the story will come to its closure and that a good thing.

In my opinion the end of a story is the most important part of a story. I`m not a writer myself so I can only guess but I think it´s the most difficult part to write too.  The circle is ready and both ends have to meet. Many authors ( not only FanFics) aren´t able to do it. There are sudden twists and turns in the last chapter. People appear or disappear  without any reasonable explanation.

So, one reason why I enjoy reading your stories is that I know that I can read your stories and relax. You will write a plausible ending!

Of course it helps to cope with the near end of this story to know that there are many others which will follow soon. And I will be here and enjoy them.

Sorry, for writing such a long review - maybe there is a law against it - but You´re too far away to call or visit .

Hugs, Sunny 

 



Author's Response: Sunny, your review is absolutely one of the best I've ever received.  Thank you so very much.  I agree with you totally about the importance of the ending of a story.  I hate it when I become vested in characters and then feel that I've been cheated out of a satisfying conclusion to their story (and that includes secondary characters).  I love this story, but it is definitely time for our lovers to reach the climax of their relationship and for Justin to deal with his past.  I can't speak for other writers, but for me the story itself seems to talk to me and tell me that it has said enough.  So far I've only written one story that I found impossible to let the characters go...thus the Double Trouble sequel.  I hope you will enjoy the conclusion of this story and pick up its replacement which will be set in modern times but still be AU in nature (though not as much).  Thank you again for being such a faithful reader and reviewer.  It means a great deal to me.  Big hugs, Grammy

Reviewer: Thess (Anonymous) · Date: July 30, 2008 08:25 AM · On: The Truth Exposed

Hi, Gramms. Nice chapter. I know you will not let Brian and Justin to be separated! Thanks

Author's Response: Oh my dear...not in a thousand years would I allow our beloved boys to be torn apart for any length of time.  Glad you enjoyed the chapter.  Thanks for commenting Thess.  Stay tuned for the finale to our Egyptian adventure coming up soon.  Grammy

Reviewer: Jess (Anonymous) · Date: July 29, 2008 08:27 PM · On: The Truth Exposed

I just wanted to say the story teller sounds fantastic, I cant wait to read it and also the last chapter of this, Ive loved every story you have written :)

Author's Response: You are such a sweetheart for letting me know that you enjoy my stories Jess.  I am truly grateful.  The Story Teller will be a little angsty since both Brian and Justin are coming from abusive backgrounds, but I can promise you that there will be plenty of romance to help them deal.  The first chapter should be up by the beginning of next week.  Big hugs, Grammy

Reviewer: Jess (Anonymous) · Date: July 29, 2008 06:46 PM · On: The Truth Exposed

well its all out in the open now, it will be sad to see this story end but Im hopeing you will write more stories, any new plots you have planned? :)

Author's Response: You are so right Jess, the secret's out but not resolved.  Stay tuned for the final chapter.  And yes, I have so many other stories ready to go in my file that I just hope I'm still around to get them out of my head and onto the screen.  LOL!  The next full length story will be entitled 'The Story Teller' and will be set in modern times.  It will be AU since Justin will be cast as the writer of gay romance novels who meets the ad man that represents his publishing company.  I hope you will join me for that story.  The one after that will be set in the 1800's in the old West.  Thanks so much for your readership and comments.  It means a great deal to me.  Hugs, Grammy

Reviewer: Jackie (Anonymous) · Date: July 29, 2008 10:39 AM · On: The Truth Exposed

At least mark understands. Great chapter . I can't wait to see what happens next.

Author's Response: Thank you Jackie.  It is always a help when one has someone with a loving heart to support you.  Jennifer definitely married wisely the second time around.  The final chapter is in the works.  Stay tuned.  Grammy

Reviewer: sjmpets3 (Signed) · Date: July 29, 2008 06:40 AM · On: The Truth Exposed

i don't know what to say. outstanding chapter. so full of uncertainty. will hate to see this story end.



Author's Response: I share your feelings about the story ending Sherrie.  I thoroughly enjoyed learning a bit about a Country I knew little about before, plus loving the relationship between this Brian and Justin.  I can promise that there will be no uncertainty about the lover's future in this coming final chapter.  Thank you so much for your comments.  I appreciate them always.  Hugs, Grammy

Reviewer: Sunny (Anonymous) · Date: July 26, 2008 01:58 AM · On: Catching Up to the Past

That was exactly what I needed on a much too cold and rainy summer day: Pure Love. It really warmed my heart! You were able to create emotions one could not only read you could really feel them. I got the feeling if I would only stretch my arm far enough I could touch it. You know what I mean?

Hugs, Sunny

Author's Response: I know exactly what you are saying Sunny.  There are writers that make me feel as if I was a part of their story or a voyeur in the characters lives.  I am deeply honored that you feel I can do that for you too.  Your words have warmed my heart more than I can say.  Thank you so very much.  Big hugs, Grammy

Reviewer: rose (Anonymous) · Date: July 19, 2008 04:20 PM · On: Catching Up to the Past

wow... i love the declarations of love... as always great chapter  :-)) rose

Author's Response: Thank you so much Rose.  Sometimes you just love someone so much you can't hold it all inside.  The fear of being seperated made it necessary for our boys to open up with everything they had.  I'm so glad you enjoyed it.  Hugs, Grammy

Reviewer: Jackie (Anonymous) · Date: July 19, 2008 07:32 AM · On: Catching Up to the Past

It's that Justin was able to see Brian's worry about him leaveing and reassured him. Jennifer finding out about them is going to be a hard thing to find out. Great chapter. I can't wait to see what happens next.



Author's Response: I won't make you wait for long Jackie.  Brian and Justin now know where they stand with each other and they will be able to face anything together.  Stay tuned.  The end is near.  Hugs, Grammy

Reviewer: thess (Anonymous) · Date: July 19, 2008 07:20 AM · On: Catching Up to the Past

Hi, Gramms. Love their declaration of love for each other. Lots of love. Thanks

Author's Response: I kind of thought that folks would enjoy that scene.  It warmed my heart to picture them saying those words to each other and meaning it with all their hearts.  Thanks for your kind words.  Big hugs, Grammy

Reviewer: sjmpets3 (Signed) · Date: July 19, 2008 05:05 AM · On: Catching Up to the Past

jennifer and justin reconnecting is a natural thing. how she'll take the news of justin and brian's lifestyle or justin's wanting to stay where he is is another chapter waiting to be written.

brian and justin reconnecting is a passionate thing. justin will not leave him. not now, and if so then not willingly.



Author's Response:

Jennifer is about to discover the man her son has become, but only time will tell if she is able to deal.  Brian, at least, knows the real Justin and knows that he is the most important thing in Justin's life.  That is going to be important to them both very soon.  Thank you so much for your comments Sherrie.  I appreciate them as always.  Big hugs, Grammy

Reviewer: Jackie (Anonymous) · Date: July 12, 2008 07:54 AM · On: Brian Explains the 'Story'

Poor Brian. Justin wouldn't leave him, but the pressure Jen will more than likely put on asking him to come home without knowing the real story will be hard. Great chapter. I can't wait to see what happens next.

Author's Response: Thank yo so much Jackie.  You hit the nail on the head...just how much will Jennifer know and how will it influence her desire to have her son come home with her?  We are about to find out.  Stay tuned.  Only a few more chapters to go.  Hugs, Grammy

Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous) · Date: July 12, 2008 05:26 AM · On: Brian Explains the 'Story'

Hey Grammy, what can I say exect Congratulation again for another wonderful chapter.

I certainly hope that Jennifer will be understanding and Justin will stay by Brian.

It would not only break my heart to see them part. But guess what I´m a strong believer that everything will work out for the best at the end.

Hugs, Sunny



Author's Response: I'm a strong believer in their love being more powerful than outside forces so I think you can rest assured that all will be well in the end.  Be patient and we'll soon see.  Thank you so much for your kindness, Sunny.  I'm so glad you are enjoying this story.  Hugs, Grammy

Reviewer: rose (Anonymous) · Date: July 11, 2008 10:08 PM · On: Brian Explains the 'Story'

I believe that justin will stay with brian where ever this may be. I believe in their love and I don´t think that jennifer will dislike their relationship. I always love to read your stories. :-)) rose

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the compliment Rose.  As a reader of my stories, you know that I simply can't break our lovers up for good but they always have to deal with outside forces.  We are about to see how well they deal in the next few and final chapters.  I hope you will enjoy them.  Hugs, Grammy

You must login (register) to review.