; Midnight Whispers :: Queer as Folk, QAF Fanfiction - Soon a Writing & Social Media Community: SSW.Media, with custom profile websites
Midnight Whispers
Queer as Folk, QAF Fanfiction - Soon a Writing & Social Media Community: SSW.Media, with custom profile websites
>
Reviewer: jm c (Signed) · Date: October 23, 2016 08:43 PM · On: Chapter 1: Imagine the Best Fan Fiction Website Possible

Thank you for answering my question 



Author's Response:

You're welcome.

Reviewer: jm c (Signed) · Date: October 23, 2016 04:51 PM · On: Chapter 1: Imagine the Best Fan Fiction Website Possible

What the name of the new website 



Author's Response:

Presently the name is midnight whispers.

Could that change later, yes.

Would we be announcing something that big in just a review, no.

Soon we'll address this issue in the announcement.

Very clever to expect a name change for such a different website.

Reviewer: luisa (Anonymous) · Date: September 07, 2016 10:43 PM · On: Chapter 1: Imagine the Best Fan Fiction Website Possible

You know, i kept asking a question here, but when i came back to see if you answered it, is not here anymore.

Guess not all readers are welcome, and to think i have been reading here for years now.

thanks anyway



Author's Response:

Contact Us with the button at the top menu. We'll send it to you privately. We can't say it online.

~bob, senior admin

Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous) · Date: August 27, 2016 04:17 PM · On: Chapter 1: Imagine the Best Fan Fiction Website Possible

This site has all my favorite QAF stories. Will I still be able to read them and will there still be more after it changes?



Author's Response:

All our QAF and other stories will still be here, and you will be able to filter out anything else if you wish to only view QAF, for example. We expect the quality of the new Whispers to attract both authors and readers; therefore, we expect new stories will be posted here since this should become the best place to find readers. Thank you for asking.

That said, we're going forward to become an all fiction website. We'll be creating new categories as authors request them. And a major category will be made for original fiction with many subcategories.

Like AO3 for example, we're going to have all kinds of stories but finding and reading QAF will be very easy to do.

 

Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous) · Date: August 27, 2016 11:28 AM · On: Chapter 1: Imagine the Best Fan Fiction Website Possible

Me and some friends have a fanfiction website and are interested in making it better. Who is doing your work, and what is it costing you? Will it still be efiction? Our site is efiction too.



Author's Response:

Anonymous review comments are always so interesting.

We will not reveal who is doing the work or what our budget is for this project. However, it could buy a nice used car.

I can say it will not be efiction anymore. The new website is a 100% custom design. The internal structure will be one of a kind.

There is no freeware software available, that can do what the New Whispers website will accomplish for our members and authors.

It will be a very rare website masterpiece. And other web designers might be studying and copying it for years.

it's going to be that good. That's all I can tell you.

We have a saying in Texas: "It ain't bragging if it's the truth."

 

 

 

 

Reviewer: PA Boi (Signed) · Date: August 25, 2016 02:55 AM · On: Chapter 1: Imagine the Best Fan Fiction Website Possible

looking forward to the new stuff!!!  Bill



Author's Response:

We're very excited and looking forward to it as well, Bill. Thank you for commenting. I'm going to do my very best to make you, and all of our authors and members very happy.

If I had to use only one word to describe our new website that word would be revolutionary.

Reviewer: emac66 (Signed) · Date: August 24, 2016 06:24 PM · On: Chapter 1: Imagine the Best Fan Fiction Website Possible

Very curious now1 And of course...........terribly excited!! Good luck!



Author's Response:

Elaine thank you for commenting and your best wishes. I'm very certain this will go smoothly and be the best thing Whispers has ever provided for our members.

Reviewer: starfire64 (Signed) · Date: August 24, 2016 04:22 PM · On: Chapter 1: Imagine the Best Fan Fiction Website Possible

To boldly go where no fanfiction website has gone before!

I'm so excited about this ;  )



Author's Response:

I have to duck tape my mouth to not reveal any more details.

Now we have got to shut up about this!

Thanks for the comment, Janet.

(Sending you an email with attachment right now.)

Reviewer: BooBoo (Signed) · Date: August 24, 2016 02:22 PM · On: Chapter 1: Imagine the Best Fan Fiction Website Possible

This has peeked my interest. My mind is racing with all kinds of ideas what the idea website could become. How hard will it be to use the new site? Will we have any downtime when you start it? I like to use my Iphone. Will it still work for me? Are you going to have crashing and downtime with the changes? Will we have to learn how to use the new website?



Author's Response:

Good questions! How do I answer you without saying too much?

The user interface will be as easy for you with the new format, as it is today. We call that the front end experience. New features will be a breeze to learn how to use.

At the most we might have a DNS delay of 8-24 hours when we make the transfer to the new website format. That is not uncommon for major maintenance of a website. We'll do that on a weekday to limit the number of people affected. The project is expected to be completed by November 11th. We can test it off line and if it's not ready, we can delay going live until it is ready.

The Iphone, Android, Blackberry and Windows mobile devices will see a superior experience to what we have today. Our existing mobile website will be disabled. All devices will access the website using just the midnightwhispers.net URL address. Tablets will also have an excellent ability with the new website. We'll be prepared for all devices and browsers.

We've hired professional developers to create this new website. Therefore, we expect zero unexpected downtime, or crashing, and the site will be beta tested completely before going online. We might have the odd tweak to improve performance and appearance when we go live. There should be no problems accessing the new website - like we experienced in previous events changing the website that was caused by a host company tech support person, leaving bad code in our files. It took me some time to find it, and remove it. We're not facing such a situation today. And we have some incredibly bright people helping us.

The vast majority of the new website will be very user friendly and no basic coding experience will be required. That said, to gain the maximum benefit of our new website, a knowledge of HTML, CSS, and Java Script will permit some people to design masterpieces of their bio pages and other things regarding their areas of the website. The ability to write custom code design will be available for the people who wish to use it, but it will not be necessary.

If interested, basic coding is very easy to learn. I'd suggest the outstanding program online provide by: https://www.codecademy.com/

Study HTML, CSS, and Java Script. It will only take a few hours, and their rates are very reasonable. About $19.99 a month (the last time I checked) with superior training. Many lessons are free to check it out. A person can learn it all in just 2-4 weeks if you apply yourself.

However, you will not have to know code to enjoy the new Whispers website.

People who do code are artists, and need a canvas to work with.

We're going to provide all the canvases they would need.

Hopefully I've assured you, but I've given you almost nothing regarding the changes you will soon see on our new custom website.

Prepare to be impressed.

 

 

Reviewer: UK Dreamer (Anonymous) · Date: August 24, 2016 08:52 AM · On: Chapter 1: Imagine the Best Fan Fiction Website Possible

What a tease wanker you are being. How is the new website going to be different? I am really looking forward to an improved website and dying to know what you have in mind.



Author's Response:

The details are Top Secret. Besides, we don't wish to spoil the surprise for everyone in advance. Remember the joy you had on Christmas morning opening your presents. We can't deny you that thrill.

No more hints, Dreamer. Christmas will soon be here for you.

 

 

Submit a Review