; Midnight Whispers :: Queer as Folk, QAF Fanfiction - Soon a Writing & Social Media Community: SSW.Media, with custom profile websites
Midnight Whispers
Queer as Folk, QAF Fanfiction - Soon a Writing & Social Media Community: SSW.Media, with custom profile websites
>
Reviews For Timeless
Reviewer: Galesgal (Signed) · Date: September 09, 2016 08:12 PM · On: Chapter 17

i love cynthia and brian.    i think i wanna make them siblings in a story or have a kid.   There was just sinething there that no one discused.

Reviewer: Galesgal (Signed) · Date: September 09, 2016 07:35 PM · On: Chapter 14

OMG THIS STORY IS BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!   I wanted to comment on every chapter but i think i'll start my commenting now.   just wow.

Reviewer: Galesgal (Signed) · Date: July 02, 2016 04:26 PM · On: Chapter 2

Poor Brian

Reviewer: Galesgal (Signed) · Date: May 02, 2016 06:43 AM · On: Chapter 1

oh no i know something bad is going to happen to him.   i'm excited i prefer bad things happening to brian and not justin.

Reviewer: misseshermionemalfoy (Signed) · Date: October 24, 2015 05:13 AM · On: Chapter 10

oh-my-lord this is horrible I'm gonna have nightmares :(

Reviewer: misseshermionemalfoy (Signed) · Date: October 24, 2015 04:25 AM · On: Chapter 9

I've had a lot of thoughts about this story so far. I mean a lot. At some points I thought you were mixing oil and vinegar by making Brian pine for Justin. At some points I was frustrated that you didn't know Jim Beam is bourbon not whiskey. At at others I was concerned that characters were being used to voice your personal headcanons and thoughts and ideas about relationships. 

Then I read this fucking amazing- beautiful- out of this word monologue and I think all my criticism of your style was pretty much stopped. When Brian talks about clipping Justin's wings and keeping him dirtbound I thought I was sitting next to THE Brian Kinney. It was perfect. 

Reviewer: Kayleigh (Anonymous) · Date: May 31, 2015 11:02 AM · On: Chapter 60

You're a good writer but I wholeheartedly disagree with your characterization of Brian. I'm sorry but there's just no way that I could buy his "relationship" with the fed. When did he fuck anyone more than once or kissed a guy on the mouth after he and Justin set the rules. And fall a bit "in love" with the dude? lol it's just too OOC.

Reviewer: nickknack (Signed) · Date: May 09, 2015 04:52 AM · On: Chapter 61

This was as good, if not better, than any novel I have ever read. The devoplment of all our favorite QaF characters was really well done and made for compelling reading.  I am so going to miss my daily fix and can see myself returning again and again to re-indulge. I loved this and will always keep my eyes open hoping for more from you, even if it is not a sequel to this wonderful story. My thanks for helping me through, and making bearable, an enforced period of rehabilitation and recovery.

Reviewer: toniu (Signed) · Date: January 16, 2015 04:13 AM · On: Chapter 61

I read your story when I first started reading QAF fanfiction. I loved it then. So after hitting a lul in good stories I went back to read yours again.

I still like the story. It is movie quality writing. The intrigue and suspense is great. The characterization was also pretty spot on.

The one thing I had a hard time getting through was this thought that Brian pushed Justin to go to New York. Or the assumption that Brian wouldn't try to keep the relationship going. Brian tried to give Justin what he wanted. The whole marriage proposal was probably too much. But he professes his love. Justin decided to go to New York.

Now correct me if I'm wrong, at the beginning of the show didn't Justin say he wanted to be a graphic artist or animation. Why did suddenly this artist become the big deal? Also not all painters come from New York.

As for McClaren I believe he loved Brian. But even his love was flawed. I feel his love was based not on Brian the man, but on Brian the man with all his bravado was still a man that needed taking care of.

To be honest in the end only Justin really knew Brian or had his love. I'm not the biggest Justin fan, though I am a big Brian and Justin fan.

 

 

Reviewer: Fi b (Anonymous) · Date: October 29, 2014 06:31 PM · On: Chapter 61

Thank you for sharing your gift and thank you for the different perspective on Brian and Justin's personalities. I loved McFed and I think he would indeed make an excellent match for Brian. But as inreal life, the heart wants what it wants, in spite of and sometimes even because of apparent flaws. Brian loves Justin, in spite of his immaturity.  That's just the way it is.

Reviewer: Jess (Anonymous) · Date: October 08, 2014 06:16 PM · On: Chapter 1

This is such an amazing story !! The best one I've ever read ! 

You sais something about a spin-off and also about a sequel... you're not planning to go on with this story and these characters right ? It would be so great.

Thank you for this story ! 

:)

Reviewer: Mwierman (Anonymous) · Date: June 18, 2014 03:55 PM · On: Chapter 61

Wonderfully written!  I'm glad you chose to finish this story. This is your creation and your story arch. Can you imagine if every piece of published literature was open to the type of critique that fanfiction is? No author would ever have the courage to publish! Thank you for giving these characters a chance to live again through your words. 

Reviewer: Lindsay22la (Anonymous) · Date: May 04, 2014 02:06 AM · On: Chapter 61

Just saw this mentioned on GIH and literally sighed "Ahhh... Timeless".  I just had to drop by here and tell you again how very much I loved this story.  Your original characters are amazing.  Just amazing.  Loved the storyline.  Aw shucks... I just loved it all!  THANK YOU for this lovely story.

Reviewer: ToniU (Anonymous) · Date: April 15, 2014 02:39 AM · On: Chapter 1

I am enjoying this story. I am new to the  Queer as Folk fanfiction. I'm not even sure you even read the reviews for this story. Still I feel compelled to review. I love Brian Kinney, it angers me that he is always the asshole and Justin is the poor saint. You are the first that has put Brian in a positive role. Except now it just feels too much. How much does poor Brian and Justin have to go through. I begin to feel there is a resolution on the way instead you add another obstacle. Not sure I like Chris McClaren, he's like a vulture trying to gather whatever crumbs Justin leaves.  Still it is a compelling story.

Reviewer: Lucia (Anonymous) · Date: March 01, 2014 07:11 PM · On: Chapter 61

First of all ,I'd like to thank you for this wonderful story. I really dont know how many times ive read it ( i lost count already).It is undoubtedly the best B/J story ive ever read and i have to admit ive spent years reading whatever i happen to stumble across. This is the first time i submit a review  and i decided to do so cause this is all so the first time a story makes me wonder whether Brian and Justin truly belong together. After having read this story and, to my surprise, i feel that McLaren is the one who would be able to make him permanently happy due to the fact that your OMC really gets Brian cause he fell head over heels in love with the ¨imperfect¨Brian with the vulnerable man and Brian opened up for him and for once allow someone to protect him.

Id love to hear about Chris and find out what happened to him.Id be awesome if you could give us a brian/Chris story...

Thanks once more xoxo

Reviewer: A. Legget (Anonymous) · Date: July 31, 2013 12:08 AM · On: Chapter 61

This is wrong, and far from mandatories, I 

 1. Brian fucked the same guy over and over again?

 2. Brian never kissed on lips except for Justin and Mikey, you should al least respect this policy

3. Your adoration for Brian is somehow out from the line, so Brian has more than one lover (other than Justin) and why did you call all of them 'the lovers' of Brian, they didn't hold significant romantic bullshit unlike Brian and Justin do.

 

anyway this is yours, so as a reader, my suggestion is, you should have warned the readers on your description that you like to put Brian/Chris pairing to overshadow B/J. I regret reading this honestly. 

Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous) · Date: April 15, 2013 04:42 AM · On: Chapter 61

Just reread the entire saga. I read it the first time with my B/J eyes and the ending could not have been more perfectly romantic. However, in lieu of some of the comments, which I found somewhat offensively "wrong" at first, I read it again with more objective eyes and found much to my suprises that some of the more untraditional viewpoints on B/J have some merit.

McClaren walking away could be seen as tragic, perhaps Brian's and Chris' fated relationship in another time and place would be a better match.

If you ever decide to write again and pursue that particular thread in the future, I would not be adverse to reading it.

Reviewer: judi (Anonymous) · Date: December 28, 2012 11:41 AM · On: Chapter 29

HI,

Reading again! 
Poor pathetic me!  I can't seem to find something I like as well and would rather reread than read what seems to be dominating the site just now.  ( I'd forgotten how strident you made Debbie in this story.)  Also how early in the story you showed your hand in how it would end! 

Judi

Reviewer: Nidrayoga (Anonymous) · Date: December 18, 2012 06:17 AM · On: Chapter 61

Dear Cyn, THank you thank you so much. I love your writing,love your take on Brian and Justin. I really enjoyed the ride.

 

Wishing you all the best for 2013 , hope that you stay health and happy,

Catherine xxxxx

Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous) · Date: December 02, 2012 11:34 AM · On: Chapter 1

You are definitely an awesome, talented storyteller!!! No taking that away from you in the least...that being said, did we even watch the same series???

I love Brian as much as the next straight girl, but, infallible super-hero, he ain't! I know each & every character on the show let Brian down on more than one occasion; however, as much as he did for each and every one of them, he was also a total bitch to them at times, regardless of his reasons or his home life (which although was alluded to as being bad on the show, I never took it to be as horrific as a lot of writers in this fandom make it out to be) & he deserved some of the repercussions of his actions. I’m sure neither you nor I would put up with a lot of his shit in real life without the omniscient point of view we were afforded as the viewer.  And when did Lindsay become a saint, really? Or Melanie, such an unmitigated cunt? Sorry, but the characterization was just totally over the top & skewed if this was supposed to be canon & not AU.

Like I said, you are a brilliant storyteller & I totally support/respect any writer’s wish to tell their stories in the way they see fit. I certainly don’t have the talent to write shit, but I am an avid reader & I also think we have a right to voice our opinions when the opportunity is given & even requested by the author, thus the purpose of the comment section on MW. I am not out to slam any writer’s efforts & I totally give praise where it’s due! You could definitely write on a professional level…no doubt about it!

I would love to read something else by you in the QAF fandom, but, gotta tell ya...the Brian worship was a little much, even for me (and I certainly wouldn't kick him out of bed *snicker*)

Reviewer: feet526@aol.com (Anonymous) · Date: November 30, 2012 11:16 AM · On: Chapter 61

I am one of the OBCESSED QAF fan fic readers...from the beginning of time!!! I can not begin to thank you enough for this most beautiful story. I watched daily for updates and only hoped it would NEVER end! I cried and sobbed and thank you for sharing your brillant talent. I LOOK FORWARD TO MORE OF YOUR TALENT!!!! Thank you again, so much. L.

Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous) · Date: November 30, 2012 12:34 AM · On: Chapter 61

Finally found the ending - and what an ending, the ending I had thought I wanted but yet it was bittersweet.

"He alone had known better; he . . . and one other.

He closed his eyes for a moment, and allowed himself a scrap of memory - a scrap he seldom examined at all."

Somehow you have taken an orginal character and made me think that perhaps B/J is not destined forever and that maybe that Brian/ Chris would be the ending that would provide Brian with the longterm happiness and security that he desparetely needs and deserves.

"Brian spent another moment studying the artwork; then he looked down and spent an equal amount of time studying the artist.

"I see a deep, bottomless love - a love that should last forever."

"Should?"

Brian shrugged. "That depends, doesn't it?"

Justin is older, wiser and more attuned to Brian's way of thinking, as Brian has always understood Justin's (he might not have explained or communicated that understanding but it was there in his actions) but the rest of the encounter also shows that he is still a 'dreamy-eyed school boy" who wants, believes in, the notion of romantic love than can conquer all and still has that "what is good for Justin is good for Brian" selfish streak. Once the honeymoon period is over, I wonder if these two strong but opposite men can truly be the all for each other. That they'll always hold a place in each other's heart is not the question, but sometimes love is not enough and I think Justin would never believe that.

"The FBI agent had knelt then - barely long enough to drop one last kiss on lips swollen from the passionate force of their encounter - before standing up and walking away" This is something Brian Kinney would do and much to my suprise McClaren walking away is a very bittersweet notion because in spite of myself, the way you have written the story makes me believe a Brian/McClaren pairing just might be Brian's best chance of true happiness and those are words I never thought I'd write.

You've written an excellent book-length work. Full of complex plots as well as characters, and did not take the prevailing QaF fandom view of B/J but made it uniquely your own and the story was so much better for it.

Thank you for the tremendous effort and the persistance to stick with it in the face of health issues and angry fans. This is one fan who is very glad you did. Good Luck with all you future plans.

Reviewer: judi (Anonymous) · Date: November 24, 2012 09:02 AM · On: Chapter 61

Hi,  I have read and reread and reread this story.  I didn't know that you had been ill and at one time was concerned that you were not going to finish it.  I think this is one of the best B/J stories ever written (and I've read a huge amount) and I think your characterization of Brian is the strongest and my favorite representation of what I fantasize him to be like.  I also love the character of Cynthia, who really hasn't been as fully developed elsewhere, with an incredible a backstory.  I personally would have preferred Justin more understandable as Brian's real partner as he came off a bit weak for someone that Brian adored and respected but maybe that's just because your Brian character and some of your original characters were so strong and more fleshed out.  But I totally understood the choices you made at the end and your analysis of the situation was absolutely brilliant.  I feel blessed to have had this experience with you and I really hope you will write more in this fanfic, even if you start from a completely different premise (although I can't imagine a more creative or finely crafted story.

So thank you for your efforts and for the gift you gave us by sticking with this and using your amazing imagination and intelligence to inspire something so original and creative.

 

With love, Judi

Reviewer: ar (Anonymous) · Date: November 22, 2012 10:57 PM · On: Chapter 61

It is a wonderful novel.

I think you must publish it, you are a great writer.

Congratulation and thank you.

Reviewer: Patya (Anonymous) · Date: November 21, 2012 05:36 PM · On: Chapter 61

Sorry, I don´t think Brian has change at all  or grown emotional. This talk you free to go, means to me he can´t really commitment. And why he still sleep with other guys and thisnks it´s fine? The fact the he can sacrifice his life for those he love was never a doubt, but why he can´t trust or commit? Maybe in a sequel...

Submit a Review